We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Saltwater Lodge

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Saltwater Lodge
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

85 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Saltwater Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Showing 76: English reviews
Auckland, New Zealand
Reviewed 9 August 2016

Scored a solo room on 2nd level and it was huge with the hugest bed I ever seen in it! Whole place was super clean and staff were lovely. Neat location too. If you were concerned about noise I think that would be a problem in peak season as the walls between rooms don't seem too thick, but heck it's...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank bronimc
lenka_rohit, Manager at Saltwater Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Bronimc, Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. We greatly appreciate your compliments. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and our facilities. In addition, thank you for choosing us for your stay again in the future. Kind regards Lenka & Rohit

Auckland Region, New Zealand
Reviewed 27 July 2016

The rooms are clean, pleasant on the eye and modern,with bathrooms in every room a must for all accommodation I feel. it is close to the beach and the self serve kitchen lounge area is big and fantastic, all pot pans plates are alway available - we stay here often on business and would recommend this anyone wanting a modern...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kiwicaty
lenka_rohit, Manager at Saltwater Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you so much for this amazing review. It is great to hear that our Lodge is providing everything our guests require and make their stay pleasant and enjoyable. Thank you for visiting us on many occasions and we hope to host you again in the future. Kind regards Lenka & Rohit

Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 7 July 2016 via mobile

Lovely big rooms and ensuite was lovely although once they had been mopped each day, they did not dry so wear shoes when you go in! The rooms were lovely and warm in the evening although you can't turn the heating on during the day. The kitchen area is brilliant - lots of space for cooking and storage and lots...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank GirlOnH0liday
lenka_rohit, Manager at Saltwater Lodge, responded to this review

Dear GirlOnH0liday, thank you for taking your time to write this lovely review. We are happy you had a nice stay and enjoyed our facilities. Heaters are set up to turn off after 10am (check out time) for few hours, to reduce electricity waste. Thank you very much for staying with us and we look forward to welcoming you next...

Reviewed 31 May 2016 via mobile

+ clean rooms (lounge, kitchen, bathrooms, bedrooms) + heater in the rooms + well-equipped kitchen + free herbs/salt/pepper for cooking + free tea, coffee and sugar + unlimited Wi-Fi for free that actually works + own bathroom for each room + cupboards with the opportunity to use a locker if you want to + located in the centre of Paihia...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Reisegiraffe
lenka_rohit, Manager at Saltwater Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for taking time to review about your experience. We appreciate feedback from our guests. We try to provide all guests the best possible experience. We can't wish for more than happy customers who would like to stay here again on their journey around New Zealand. Kind regards Lenka & Rohit

Reviewed 22 May 2016

I was only going to stay a night or two but ended up staying for over a week. Excellent facilities that are always clean and well looked after. The staff are friendly and very helpful. It's nice to have a dryer that dries your clothes the first time around. There's nothing I feel this hostel is lacking and would stay...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank HopelessWanderer1122
lenka_rohit, Manager at Saltwater Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for sharing a lovely comments about your stay with us. We can't wish for more than happy guest who want to stay longer. Our priority is to make every stay an enjoyable experience. We wish you all the best on your journey around New Zealand. Kind regards Lenka & Rohit

Reviewed 6 May 2016 via mobile

I've recently spent the past two months staying at Salwater Lodge and I wouldn't stay at another hostel. Its a spacious, clean and well equipped hostel, with a great social vibe and nice common area. The friendly managers and good lay out means you'll not find it hard to meet people but if you want to relax and have some...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank kerryandrachel
lenka_rohit, Manager at Saltwater Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Kerry, We would like to thank you for your amazing review and the time sharing your experience with travelers. We are thrilled that you had great time staying with us and that you went back to travel with lots of memories from Paihia. We appreciate your very kind words regarding our Lodge. We wish to have travelers like you...

Augsburg, Germany
Reviewed 11 April 2016 via mobile

Stayed here up for 4 nights and everything was perfect! The rooms are very big and clean, there is a big balcony where you can relax with your friends or just enjoying sitting in the sun. At the evening you can go to pubs, which are very close to the hostel or cook something in the kitchen and just have...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank marc_2096
lenka_rohit, Manager at Saltwater Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Marc, we want to thank you for commenting our Lodge so highly. It is our priority to make all of our guests happy and make them feel like home. Therefore we are glad to hear that you had a good time. We wish you safe travels and have a great time in New Zealand.

Reviewed 6 April 2016 via mobile

This is an amazing hostel!! Right from the beginning the customer service was great when I wasn't sure if I was staying 2 nights or 3. I was able to pay for my first 2 nights and then come back to pay for my third when I decided how long to stay in Paihia. The wifi is free, unlimited, and...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Sadiedude
lenka_rohit, Manager at Saltwater Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Sadiedude, We appreciate you took the time to share your feedback about your recent stay at our Lodge. It sounds like you had a fabulous stay with us and we can't thank you enough for all your kind words about your experience. We wish you safe travels around New Zealand. Kindest regards, Lenka & Rohit

Benediktbeuern, Germany
Reviewed 2 April 2016 via mobile

I could use the Saltwater Lodge Wifi free of charge without staying there, when the Wifi where I stayed didn't work properly. Thank you very much, Rohit, it was really very very kind of you! And it worked perfectly. Can only recommend your Lodge as I assume you would try to be of help for others as well. Gertrud

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Gertrud S
lenka_rohit, Manager at Saltwater Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for sharing your nice review. We are happy that we were able to assist you. We are very pleased that based on your experience you would recommend others to stay in our Lodge. Kind Regards Lenka & Rohit

Omaha, Nebraska
Reviewed 30 March 2016

There aren't enough good things to say about this hostel. The staff was very helpful with the wifi and they were incredibly friendly. The rooms were very comfortable and I enjoyed every minute of it. It was a short walk to the beach and the internet worked very well, considering how many people were probably using it. If you're looking...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Nick B
lenka_rohit, Manager at Saltwater Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for choosing us for your stay and your delightful review. We are pleased to know that your stay was enjoyable. We are glad that our guests have pleasant experience and nice memories on Bay of Islands. We wish you safe travels around New Zealand. Kind regards Lenka & Rohit

32 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (16)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (7)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (16)
Viewed
Other (16)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paihia hotels
0.2 km away
Scenic Hotel Bay of Islands
0.7 km away
Kingsgate Hotel Autolodge Paihia
0.1 km away
Anchorage Motel
Anchorage Motel
#4 of 44 in Paihia
421 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 km away
Haka Lodge
Haka Lodge
#3 of 29 in Paihia
174 reviews
0.1 km away
YHA Bay of Islands Paihia
0.1 km away
Peppertree Lodge
Peppertree Lodge
#17 of 29 in Paihia
138 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Self-Serve Laundry

Additional Information about Saltwater Lodge

Address: 14 Kings Road, Paihia 0200, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Northland Region > Bay of Islands > Paihia
Price Range: RM173 - RM458 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Saltwater Lodge 5*
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Expedia, Travelocity and HostelWorld so you can book your Saltwater Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Saltwater Lodge Paihia, New Zealand - Bay Of Islands
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Saltwater Lodge staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Book early”
  • Spacious Double Room
 of 5 bubbles KelefehMan, 18 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Choose the 2nd level, the rooms are larger!”
 of 5 bubbles Kiwicaty, 26 Jul 2016 | Read review
“Room 9 is the furtherest away from the road and bars, and also the communal lounge which can get noisy too.”
 of 5 bubbles Teagle, 10 Aug 2015 | Read review
“Chose a dorm with only four beds, it will be more quiet !”
 of 5 bubbles annb674, 2 Jul 2013 | Read review
“We had a double room with ensuite and it had TV and coffee making facilities and small fridge. Our room was on the second floor and we had a view of distant mountains across the bay. Had a table and chairs outside door on the balcony for sitting if we desired. Second floor is best as it is away from kitchen and this can get noisy at certain times of the day. .”
 of 5 bubbles Alexis935, 31 Mar 2013 | Read review
5 of 5