We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Pearl of the Bay

Travellers' Choice award winner
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Best prices for:1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Professional photos
Pearl of the Bay
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

366 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Pearl of the Bay
See the most recent reviews
Showing 334: English reviews
Perth, Australia
Reviewed 15 July 2013

Basic accommodation and very clean and tidy with all the ammenities you require including free wifi. Has undergone refurbishment with a nice bathroom and shower. Resident cats Gandolf and Merlin were cute, friendly and most welcoming. Barbara the host of the motel was delightful and liked to have a chat.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Steve J
BaliHaiMotelPaihia, Manager at Pearl of the Bay, responded to this review

Dear Steve ~ thank you for taking the time to post a review. I am delighted you had a good visit. Barbara

Surrey, Canada
Reviewed 26 May 2013

We stayed two nights in this lovely small motel perched on the hillside. Lovely view over the valley and inland water from the balcony and just a few minutes from the wharf downtown - Paihia is a small place. Barbara was most helpful, booking our Dolphin Cruise and advising on where to park for free for the day. The room...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Dianne and Mark N
BaliHaiMotelPaihia, Manager at Pearl of the Bay, responded to this review

Hello Dianne & Mark, thank you for taking the time to post a review, I really appreciate it. I am glad you enjoyed your visit. Best regards Barbara

Walsall
Reviewed 12 May 2013

We stayed just one night in March 2013 and wished it could've been longer. Inexpensive, easy to find (the first motel after the signpost to Paihia) the building is of wooden construction with, it has to be said, rather fading paint. But - absolutely spotlessly clean (units seem new - they weren't, just clean as new), superb washroom, comfy beds,...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Nigel N
BaliHaiMotelPaihia, Manager at Pearl of the Bay, responded to this review

Hello, thank you for such a great review, I particurlarly like the play on words. Very clever. Well, I am glad that you enjoyed your stay and that the motel appearance "inside" met with expectations. There are a lot of guests that stay here, and not all write reviews and some review on other sites, but the fact that you...

Newark-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Reviewed 10 May 2013

Spent 3 nights here and it was an excellent experience. The units are well fitted out and spotlessly clean. The views are excellent and nothing was too much trouble for Barbara. The location is excellent for exploring the surrounding area and is close to beaches and restuarants if you want to eat out. I wouldn't hesitate to stay again and...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Lisbo46
BaliHaiMotelPaihia, Manager at Pearl of the Bay, responded to this review

Thank you for such a positive review, I appreciate your feedback. Barbara

Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 7 May 2013

Spent 3 nights at this motel, and had a great time. My room (#1) was clean and spacious with a great view, and the motel was very quiet and peaceful. Barbara was great...I felt like I was a guest at her house rather than a customer. The location is good- there is a beach that is about 2 minutes away,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Anita A
BaliHaiMotelPaihia, Manager at Pearl of the Bay, responded to this review

Dear Anita, thank you for taking the time to write a review for the motel. I am glad that you enjoyed your stay and your local walks. It is important that people feel, that they have been looked after and made welcome, and of course that the facilities meet their needs too. I am glad you were happy with your...

Carnamah, Western Australia, Australia
Reviewed 4 May 2013

We arrived at this hotel late at night and on first look thought it might not be that great. We were so wrong. he welcome we received from Barbara was outstanding and she couldn't have been more helpful. The room was clean, of good size and had all amenities needed. As it is set on the hill you get lovely...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Karen M
BaliHaiMotelPaihia, Manager at Pearl of the Bay, responded to this review

Thank you Karen, I was delighted to read your review. It is always a little nerve wracking when a review is posted. I am always relieved when guests have enjoyed their stay. I appreciate you taking the time to access Trip Advisor and post your thoughts. I hope that you will make the return trip at some point. Best wishes...

Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Reviewed 25 April 2013

Returned from NZ after a final stay at Bali Hai Motel to celebrate my 70th birthday. The resident manager, Barbara, was so helpful and kind and made my birthday rather special. Nothing was too much trouble - organising trips and full of very useful local information. We had a lovely one-bedroom apartment with a balcony overlooking the coastline. A great...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank chris186368
BaliHaiMotelPaihia, Manager at Pearl of the Bay, responded to this review

Dear Chris It is great that you took time to post a review about your experience at the Bali Hai. Thank you! I am glad that all aspects of your trip to New Zealand went well, in particular your stay in Paihia at the motel. I hope when you return, you will give us the option to host you again....

Lytham St Annes
Reviewed 23 April 2013

Arrived early evening to a lovely greeting from Barbara that matched the fantastic scenery of the Bay of Islands. Loved the motel. Great to sit on the veranda and watch the evening sun setting over the mountains - while sipping a glass of NZ wine. Barbara could not have been more helpful and arranged a trip for us as well...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Chris D
BaliHaiMotelPaihia, Manager at Pearl of the Bay, responded to this review

Thank you Chris, I am glad that we were a great start to your holiday. Thank you for remembering us at the end of your travels and posting a review. I never know who is going to review. Some people, leave me notes in the room, some people comment on departure.Therefore, I value when people take the time to publicly...

Berkhamsted, England, United Kingdom
Reviewed 22 April 2013

The first 4 days of our 5 week New Zealand holiday were spent at Bali Hai. We could not have chosen better. Not only is Paihia on the Bay of Islands a lovely part of a wonderful country, our hostess Barbara set a benchmark for kindness and thoughtfulness which was not surpassed and only equalled once for the rest of...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Brian R
BaliHaiMotelPaihia, Manager at Pearl of the Bay, responded to this review

Dear Brian Thank you for such a kind review, and I am glad to know we set the bar high for thoughtfulness and service. I appreciate you taking the time to post a review; I know that you did a lot of travelling after leaving here. It is really great to get good reviews, as at the end of the...

Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 21 April 2013

What a lovely find this place is, and Barbara, our host is a delight. The rooms are excellent, with all one could wish for, the views are lovely from all the rooms. The position makes it so easy to see all the tourist sights, but feel you would like to spend more time here. Would definitely come back to this...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank barbara t
BaliHaiMotelPaihia, Manager at Pearl of the Bay, responded to this review

Dear Barbara & VIc, thank you for taking the time to post a review on your stay at the Bali Hai. I really appreciate your comments. We are small and personal, and it is important that our guests feel welcome. I hope that you can make a return visit - after all your "other" travel plans are completed:) Best wishes...

67 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (50)
Viewed
View from Room (12)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (16)
Viewed
Room/Suite (9)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (12)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (17)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (12)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paihia hotels
1.9 km away
Sea Spray Suites - Heritage Collection
0.7 km away
Anchorage Motel
Anchorage Motel
#4 of 43 in Paihia
403 reviews
1.4 km away
The Waterfront Suites - Heritage Boutique Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 km away
Breakwater Motel
Breakwater Motel
#1 of 43 in Paihia
547 reviews
3.7 km away
Cook's Lookout Motel
Cook's Lookout Motel
#2 of 43 in Paihia
881 reviews
1.5 km away
Bounty Motel
Bounty Motel
#14 of 43 in Paihia
160 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Pearl of the Bay is a small family run business. We are personal in our approach and our size allows us to ensure that we respond to guests as individuals. With only 9 units, you are never crowded, our lay out gives you optional places to sit and take in the atmosphere, be it on our back patio, your front balcony, or somewhere in your room.We look forward to welcoming you to our spot in the Bay of Islands. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Pearl of the Bay

Address: 8-10 Coutts Avenue, Paihia 0200, New Zealand (Formerly Bali Hai Motel)
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Northland Region > Bay of Islands > Paihia
Price Range: RM386 - RM625 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Pearl of the Bay 3.5*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Pearl of the Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pearl Of The Bay Paihia, New Zealand - Bay Of Islands
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Paihia
#12 Family Hotel in Paihia
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Pearl of the Bay staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from Pearl of the Bay staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Quiet, accessibility, good rates”
 of 5 bubbles smbabesmccubben, 23 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Room 6 is very close to a very large DVD collection”
 of 5 bubbles 650Cwilson, 8 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Room 9 is the best with great views.”
 of 5 bubbles Susan5780, 13 Mar 2016 | Read review
“Covered parking underneath unit. Free use of BBQ area out back under cover, free DVD Library.”
 of 5 bubbles Vanstone, 9 Mar 2016 | Read review
“Room 9 may have a view of the sea.”
 of 5 bubbles mdgdc, 1 Mar 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay