We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Breakwater Motel

Show Prices
#1 of 44 Hotels in Paihia
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Breakwater Motel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

591 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 581: English reviews
Start your review of Breakwater Motel
 Click to rate
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Positives: Excellent location within a short walk of the pier, restauarants and shops. Clean and recently refurbished suite. Generally quiet. Negatives: Felt like standard motel accommodation. Smallish bedroom. The suite we were given was tucked away at the back and although we didn't think so at the time of booking, it may have been the cheapest (though at NZ$280/night by...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Charthouse25
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Reviewed 1 week ago

This is a beautiful place to stay. There is a separate bathroom and bedroom from the sitting area and a tv in both sitting room and bedroom. There are balconies going off both the bedroom and the sitting room - and they look directly onto the beach across the road. This is the most stunning location you could possibly find....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Christine D
Whitley Bay, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

My husband and I stayed here for seven nights while traveling from the UK. It was definitely one of the best motels we stayed in. We stayed in one of the top floor units with great views of the water. The unit was modern, very clean with a comfortable bed, spacious bathroom and kitchen with everything you need for your...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank JuneWF
Darwin, Australia
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

This is a lovely little motel with great facilities and friendly, helpful staff. The beds were super comfortable and kitchens were well equipped for self catering. The only downside would be that our room was right on the main road and was quite noisy.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank rowankate_
OwnerBW1, Owner at Breakwater Motel, responded to this review

Hi rowankate Many thanks for sharing your experience at our motel and thank you for the feedback. Kind Regards Ken and Lyn

scottsdale
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Let me start before we arrived. I had many questions about the facility which Lyn answered promptly. I had questions about the activities in the area. Lyn answered those promptly and in detail. I was impressed before I arrived. When I arrived I was well received by Ken. He might be a low key man but not rude. I had...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank dontcallmeillcallyou
OwnerBW1, Owner at Breakwater Motel, responded to this review

Hi dontcallmeillscallyou We are most grateful for your glowing review. Both of us, plus our staff, strive to provide every guest with outstanding customer care and kindness to ensure an excellent stay both with us and in the Bay of Islands. Kind Regards Ken and Lyn

Canterbury, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Scrupulously clean, modern, well decorated and no 'tired' furnishings. A very well appointed motel for the town and access to any activities. A great stay. Sadly our apartment didn't have a view, but it was prebooked by the travel agent. In hindsight it would have been nice to pay a little extra and get the amazing views.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Chris V
OwnerBW1, Owner at Breakwater Motel, responded to this review

Hi Chris V We really appreciate your great review and delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay. Kind Regards Ken and Lyn

San Francisco, California
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

These people should simply sell up and go farming where they don't have to interact with customers. Simply the rudest people we had the misfortune of meeting during a recent long stay in New Zealand. Situated on a very noisy road.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 60713Sandy
California
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Breakwater Motel is in a wonderful location, close to everything. The 1 bedroom suite we had was spotless, well-furnished with 2 decks and a great seaview. The hosts, Ken and Lyn could not have been nicer. Where else have you been where the hosts of a motel know your name? We had a wonderful time and highly recommend this lodging.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank globetrotter6
OwnerBW1, Owner at Breakwater Motel, responded to this review

Hi globetrotter6 Thank you so much for your lovely review and your fabulous compliments. We are happy to hear that you had a great stay and appreciate your recommendation. Kind Regards Ken and Lyn

michigan
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stayed 3 nights and thoroughly enjoyed the Bay of Islands. We had a one bedroom apartment on the second floor with an ocean view and balcony. Roomy and comfortable, very clean and great shower. Laundry facilities were convenient. Our only complaint was that the road goes right in front of the balcony, that would not stop us from staying...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank wiggletail
OwnerBW1, Owner at Breakwater Motel, responded to this review

Hi wiggletail Thank you for taking the time to review our motel and delighted to hear you had a great time. Kind Regards Ken and Lyn

A TripAdvisor Member
1 review
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Breakwater is an excellent motel. Perfectly located opposite the beach and towards the end of the town center. Each morning was beautiful watching the sunrise over the water and hearing the sound of the waves. The service was great and helpful with all our questions. Highly recommended and we look forward to returning soon.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
OwnerBW1, Owner at Breakwater Motel, responded to this review

Hi there Many thanks for your wonderful comments and recommendation. Kind Regards ken and Lyn

165 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (129)
Viewed
View from Room (36)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (10)
Viewed
Room/Suite (22)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Other (54)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (36)
Viewed
Room/Suite (21)
Viewed
View from Room (5)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paihia hotels
0.4 km away
Sea Spray Suites - Heritage Collection
0.9 km away
Anchorage Motel
Anchorage Motel
#3 of 44 in Paihia
432 reviews
0.1 km away
The Waterfront Suites - Heritage Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
Kingsgate Hotel Autolodge Paihia
0.8 km away
Edgewater Palms Apartments
1.0 km away
Scenic Hotel Bay of Islands
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Beachfront
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Suites
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
  • Microwave
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Laundry Service
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Luxury Waterfront Accommodation on Central Paihia Waterfront that is only a three minute flat walk to cafes, restaurants, shops and Paihia Wharf where tours depart from.Spectacular interrupted ocean views from Waterfront Suites, partial sea views from Seaview Suites. Sky Guest Select 70 channels - Free WiFi.Paihia is the perfect base to explore the Bay of Islands and up to Cape Reinga. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Breakwater Motel

Address: 1 Bayview Road | Bay of Islands, Paihia 0200, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Northland Region > Bay of Islands > Paihia
Price Range: RM425 - RM1,006 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Breakwater Motel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Breakwater Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Breakwater Motel Paihia, New Zealand - Bay Of Islands
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Paihia
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Paihia
#2 Romantic Hotel in Paihia
#3 Business Hotel in Paihia
#5 Family Hotel in Paihia
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Breakwater Motel staff and other travellers.
7 questions
Ask a question
Canterbury Region, New Zealand

See all questions (7)

Questions? Get answers from Breakwater Motel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Ask for one with a balcony and sea view.”
 of 5 bubbles Charthouse25, 19 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Be sure to request a room with sea views”
 of 5 bubbles ChristineD784, 15 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Ask for a top floor unit with views of the water.”
 of 5 bubbles JuneWF, 14 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Room 8! I have not seen any of the other rooms but this one could not be beat!”
 of 5 bubbles dontcallmeillcallyou, 9 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Get a room with a view to the water.”
 of 5 bubbles globetrotter6, 5 Mar 2017 | Read review
5 of 5