We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Bounty Motel

Show Prices
#14 of 43 Hotels in Paihia
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Professional photos
Bounty Motel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

160 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 154: English reviews
Napier, New Zealand
Reviewed 1 week ago

Within two hours of arriving at this motel we received a call from the very angry manager accusing my husband of backing our boat into a ladies pot plant and destroying the contents. Went to see manger and then lady who owned the pot plant and she explained that the manager had told her it was DEFINATELY our boat and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MARIE F
BountyMotel, Manager at Bounty Motel, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments.When I contacted you said you had a boat and as it was the only boat here at the time I presumed it was you husbands. There seemed to be some miss understanding and I apologised and I said it was a ladies plants on the premises attached to the garden and you seemed in your...

Wasilla, Alaska
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

As much as I liked the owner and manager, I hate that I have to give the property such a low rating. I ignored other reviews that mentioned the cracking sounds of the building in the morning and evening. The first night I had to pull out the earplugs, but by the second night, I started getting used to it....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank inluvwithAK
BountyMotel, Manager at Bounty Motel, responded to this review

Thanks for your review.Yes we did fix the latch as soon as you reported it.As to the reference to the cracking it was due to very high winds we were experiencing at the time. The contruction of the building (Lockwood design) is such that any condition it can stand the rigours of any weather or storm conditions.So its totally unique...

Dunedin, New Zealand
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Not very helpful when leaving property behind-very rude on phone and still waiting to hear back from them that was 4 days ago. Also finding a used condom beside the bed in Unit 25 disgusting!! The cleaning staff were great even putting our bags in our room when it came available. Location great within walking distance to everything

 Report
Helpful?
Thank chrisanddi2016
BountyMotel, Manager at Bounty Motel, responded to this review

Thanks for your comment and sorry this incident.It was strange that after a 3 plus stay you only mentioned to us on check out and not before as it may have been spotted on checkin as our units are cleaned daily. As to the lost goods.I had no telephone number to contact you.However I did email you. Paul

Dorset, UK
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We booked an 'internet special' - on the day booking with 25% off the regular price, obviously only available if units still unsold. A sign outside the motel offers the same deal for walk-ups. The ground floor studio unit we had was clean and comfortable and well furnished. Bounty Motel is reasonably handy for the town and only a shirt...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank baglan
BountyMotel, Manager at Bounty Motel, responded to this review

Many thanks for your great review and rating.Yes we are handy to everything. Best regards Paul

Las Vegas, Nevada
Reviewed 5 weeks ago via mobile

Paul gave us a great deal and three bottles of beer. He was so nice to talk to. We got a two bedroom place with a kitchen and living room. There is a small view of the ocean. The rooms are clean. The kitchen well stocked.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank soaringOdin
Exeter, United Kingdom
Reviewed 30 October 2016 via mobile

We booked this place last minute and we were so happy with our choice! On our arrival we were given a free upgrade, free milk and even beer! The customer service was out of this world and we all felt so welcome straight away. I definitely recommend this to anyone looking for somewhere to stay in Paihia. Close to everything,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Olivia H
Cambridge, New Zealand
Reviewed 30 October 2016 via mobile

Good clean and tidy room. Very helpful considering my Expedia booking was a bit messed up so the owner was very helpful getting it sorted. The room had a 'sea view' which was a little cheeky but I could see the sea 😄. Easy to get around town from and good parking.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mrtynz
montreal,QC
Reviewed 26 October 2016 via mobile

Nick is very friendly and helped in many ways. He paid our toll, offered a few suggestions where to watch the all blacks game and even gave my hubby a couple of beers. The place could get updated as it is a bit run down.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank taggmontreal
Auckland, New Zealand
Reviewed 20 October 2016

When booked, the price was maybe a little lower than what I would expect to pay in the town during spring. I didn't have high expectations given the price but wow!! We (a party of four) were give a large 2 bedroom apartment with a larger than average kitchen for a motel and a huge living/dining area. Bonus was a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank DavidF24828
BountyMotel, Manager at Bounty Motel, responded to this review

Thank you for your great review.Yes we have some great rates at times and I was happy to note that you thought our property met your expectations.Yes we try to have great Kiwi hospitality and guests leave as friends. Yes the wifi is unlimited. All the best Paul

Reviewed 11 October 2016 via mobile

Stayed at Bounty last week for three nights doing Bay of Isles activities. Great location just 100m from the important activities on the bay and the ferry to Russell. Rooms reasonably small but perfectly adequate. Soundproofing is not great but was not an issue for us. Chris the manager was very helpful and booked a day trip for us (at...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ajoz
BountyMotel, Manager at Bounty Motel, responded to this review

Thanks for a great review and rating.Hope you visit us again sometime. All the best Paul (not Chris) Manager.

37 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (17)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Other (3)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (20)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (9)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paihia hotels
0.4 km away
Sea Spray Suites - Heritage Collection
0.1 km away
Kingsgate Hotel Autolodge Paihia
0.9 km away
Anchorage Motel
Anchorage Motel
#4 of 43 in Paihia
402 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
Breakwater Motel
Breakwater Motel
#1 of 43 in Paihia
546 reviews
2.6 km away
Cook's Lookout Motel
Cook's Lookout Motel
#2 of 43 in Paihia
881 reviews
0.9 km away
Averill Court Motel
Averill Court Motel
#5 of 43 in Paihia
250 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
  • Restaurant
  • Free Breakfast
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Beachfront
Things to do
  • Restaurant
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Airport Transportation
  • Free Breakfast
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Bounty is a Kiwi owned and operated property, located in a quiet suburb approx 100 meters from the Paihia Beach, shops and restaurants. It is a 3 minute walk to the wharf for dolphin watching, fishing trips, sightseeing and ferry to Russell. Tours to 90 mile beach and Cape Reinga pick you up at the motel entrance.We have a conference area for small groups up to 60 with catering facilities and kitchen. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Bounty Motel

Address: 42 Selwyn Rd | PO Box 170, Paihia 0200, New Zealand (Formerly Paihia Central Motel)
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Northland Region > Bay of Islands > Paihia
Price Range: RM297 - RM708 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Bounty Motel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 29
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Bounty Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bounty Hotel Paihia
Bounty Motel Paihia, New Zealand - Bay Of Islands
Hotel Style:
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Paihia
#19 Family Hotel in Paihia
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Bounty Motel staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
over a year ago
Paihia, New Zealand
over a year ago

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Bounty Motel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“From motel 23 we looked out to stairs both front and back leading to upstairs so not the most private and made unit dark.”
 of 5 bubbles marief74, 29 Nov 2016 | Read review
“I assume higher units have views. No view in our studio at ground level, but very quiet with easy access to vehicle.”
 of 5 bubbles JohnandKayleneB, 2 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Maybe bring earplugs if you are a light sleeper. We could hear every steps of the people above.”
 of 5 bubbles P5896LGbarbarag, 30 Aug 2016 | Read review
“We had a superior room which was on the front of the building.”
 of 5 bubbles gerryshut, 6 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Up stairs has a good view over the bay”
 of 5 bubbles grubbaldd, 5 Aug 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay