We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Dolphin Motel

Show Prices
#13 of 43 Hotels in Paihia
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Professional photos
Dolphin Motel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_baseline_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_baseline_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_baseline_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_baseline_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

309 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 299: English reviews
Yeppoon, Australia
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

We stayed for 2 nights. Our room was lovely and clean, very simple and close to town and activities. The owners were exceptional and very helpful!!!! Would definitely stay again. Thank you very much!!

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank kerrir126
Maidenhead, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

Accommodation was spot on with regards to the two apartments we had and enable a big family gathering to meet and entertain. The spa apartment was perfect. Towels were changed daily which was very pleasant surprise. All the staff were very pleasant and helpful too. Motel is close to all the that is on offer and all in all a...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank emeek_659887
emz1921, Manager at Dolphin Motel, responded to this review

Glad your family had a lovely stay with us and enjoyed your holiday in the Bay of Islands hope to see again in the future

Auckland, New Zealand
Reviewed 1 week ago

they very friendly . the day we check out 9am and we go to do the cream trip .the cream trip finish at 4pm They let us park our car in the motel to 4pm and we save $48 for park our car in the car park. thanks

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Diane Z
emz1921, Manager at Dolphin Motel, responded to this review

Thanks for your comments happy to assist

Auckland, New Zealand
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

A very conveniently located to shops and the beach Motel at Paihia, Northland. Clean and tidy motel with ample parking on the premises and on street. Rooms are self contained with decent facilities. We found a couple of Roaches (not sure if they were the garden variety) in the room. Didn't feel like calling the Reception to resolve this. A...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank nitinnz
emz1921, Manager at Dolphin Motel, responded to this review

Yes garden roaches sorry and we are getting the fan looked at thanks for letting us know

New York City, New York
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The bed was extremely comfortable (we wanted to take the mattress with us!) and the facilities were very clean and tidy. The only issue was that the shower was difficult to adjust, resulting either in scalding hot or freezing cold showers, and seemed to run out of hot water altogether between 9 and 10 am when people were trying to...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ross S
emz1921, Manager at Dolphin Motel, responded to this review

Hi sorry you found the shower hard to work yet the system is on gas so you can't just go from hot to cold instant you need to do slowly to get desired temperature and it would not have been totally out of water in the morning because being on gas it is impossible just need a little time for...

Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Very kind and welcoming host but pillow and bed were filthy. Price is affordable but wouldn't justify pillow and bed with hairs and marks. I would recommend checking the room before checking in to ensure they are clean.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank jpa175
emz1921, Manager at Dolphin Motel, responded to this review

I am terribly sorry about your bed I assure you they are cleaned every day if you had come to reception and said it would have been changed your a new one

Sheffield, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

For motel accodomation it is very good. Smart presentation, cool greys, chrome and white bathroom, good, well equiped kitchenette. Even a barbeque outside the door. Only frustrations were missing news channel on the TV and non-existent wifi contection for much of the time. Used $40 of mobile data to compensate. Overall, I would recommend it and stay again.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank DiverJohnG
emz1921, Manager at Dolphin Motel, responded to this review

Sorry about the BBC world news channel I did explain to you about that and the WiFi but glad you likedid everything else

Auckland, New Zealand
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The Motel is conveniently located in the heart of Paihia, close to the shops. The Rooms were tidy and the linen was clean. One of the Ceiling Fans was not working and the admin lady actually asked me if I had blown up a Fuse. They promptly supplied us a Table Fan. Found a Cockroach in the kitchen but I...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kiwiboy146
emz1921, Manager at Dolphin Motel, responded to this review

Yes it was a bush cockroach you saw sorry about that they are ugly things, yes sorry was unaware the ceiling fan was broken no one had previously mentioned so thank you for informing us so we can get it repaired otherwise glad you enjoyed your stay

Auckland, New Zealand
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

There were 4 adults staying for 3 days, when the room was cleaned we were left with 2 towels for 4 of us and one washer, no soap, no coffee or sugar and as we had gone on a tour for the day when we got back at 630pm there was no one in the office and when we went...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank tadams_313554
emz1921, Manager at Dolphin Motel, responded to this review

I do apologize for your servicing we have a new cleaner that should know better and reception does say it will close once all bookings are in and it was Christmas time so yes reception opened athe 8.30am that day.

Auckland, New Zealand
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Its a good place if you just want to go with friends or extended family. great price for a 2 bedroom apartment. Friendly staff and just walk away from main beaches and restaurants. Paihia is a beautiful place, so go and checkout yourself.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank hchopr_367378
emz1921, Manager at Dolphin Motel, responded to this review

thank you for your comments glad you were happy customers, aim to please call direct for specials 09 4028170

90 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (29)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (20)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (61)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (12)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Other (36)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paihia hotels
0.7 km away
Sea Spray Suites - Heritage Collection
0.7 km away
Anchorage Motel
Anchorage Motel
#3 of 43 in Paihia
413 reviews
0.4 km away
Kingsgate Hotel Autolodge Paihia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
Breakwater Motel
Breakwater Motel
#1 of 43 in Paihia
567 reviews
0.3 km away
Bounty Motel
Bounty Motel
#15 of 43 in Paihia
167 reviews
0.7 km away
Averill Court Motel
Averill Court Motel
#4 of 43 in Paihia
259 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Suites
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Qualmarked 4 star. In the heart of Paihia 5 minutes flat walking from waterfront,shops. Wide range of accommodation from Small Queen Studio(Basic Facilities),King Studios,King Studio Spa, One Bedroom(sleeps 3-4),Two bedroom(sleeps 4) and Large Family units(Sleeps 2-7 people)with Spa Bath and BBQ. Kitchens, Sky TV 19 channels. Free WiFi with 2GB, Laundry. Knowledgeable Kiwi operators to help you with tours in the Bay of Islands and throughout New Zealand. Special packages arranged.BBQ also available.New Fast Wifi System.Great Discounts for Tours. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Dolphin Motel

Address: 69 Williams Road, Paihia 0200, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Northland Region > Bay of Islands > Paihia
Price Range: RM486 - RM695 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Dolphin Motel 4*
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline and Orbitz so you can book your Dolphin Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dolphin Motel Paihia, New Zealand - Bay Of Islands
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Paihia
#9 Luxury Hotel in Paihia
#14 Romantic Hotel in Paihia
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Dolphin Motel staff and other travellers.
7 questions
Ask a question
Auckland Region, New Zealand
over a year ago
Auckland, New Zealand
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
over a year ago

See all questions (7)

Questions? Get answers from Dolphin Motel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“room is very clean”
 of 5 bubbles 483dianez, 7 Jan 2017 | Read review
“When they say the rooms are suitable for 4, they mean it. So don't expect to accommodate 5 unless you are okay with sleeping on the Couch.”
 of 5 bubbles nitinnz, 5 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Second floor rooms would be a bit quieter and more private, as there can be quite a few people walking around outside.”
 of 5 bubbles 744rosss, 4 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Close proximity to shops and the beach.”
 of 5 bubbles Kiwiboy146, 26 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Depending on weather, warm layers or fans maybe needed. Laundry on site, coin operated($2 coins), small fridge/microwave/dishes provided.”
 of 5 bubbles LenoreDMorte, 11 Nov 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay