We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Sudima Hotel Lake Rotorua

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Professional photos
Sudima Hotel Lake Rotorua
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,340 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Sudima Hotel Lake Rotorua
See the most recent reviews
Showing 1,249: English reviews
Belfast, United Kingdom
Reviewed 16 January 2016

We booked a one night stay at Sudima and my wife wasn't expecting much for the price we paid. I had stayed here before on a "boys weekend" with mates and said that it wasn't as flash as some of hotels we had stayed at before. My wife was impressed with the helpfulness of the person she talked to on...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank IrishMaori77
Maree W, Manager at Sudima Hotel Lake Rotorua, responded to this review

Dear IrishMaori77 Thank you for placing comments on Tripadvisor. I am glad you were able to fully utilise our facilities including our swimming pool and spa. Our family rooms are popular and our hotel is conveniently located within walking distance to town and several attractions. We look forward to welcoming you back again. Kind Regards Maree Welgus Executive Assistant Manager

Mudgee, Australia
Reviewed 16 January 2016

The staff are very friendly and helpful. In fact I would say that the staff at the front desk go above and beyond. I would not hesitate in staying there again. Handy to the shopping area, only a short walk to restaurants, close to the Polynesian spa complex. Over all it is in a very handy location. While in Rotorua...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Jill K
Maree W, Manager at Sudima Hotel Lake Rotorua, responded to this review

Dear Jill K Thank you for sharing your experience at Sudima Lake Rotorua on Tripadvisor. I agree our location is ideal by the lake and close to the town centre. Your comments are very much appreciated and I shall share them all with the team. Kind Regards Maree Welgus Executive Assistant Manager

Reviewed 15 January 2016 via mobile

We stayed in Rotorua two nights at the Sudima and would look elsewhere next time. We were on the downstairs level of the main block and the rooms were noisy, the bathroom dirty and very dated. The airconditioner is a portable unit positioned right next to the head of one of the single beds and VERY noisey. The hotel is...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Colin J
AtaloDeLaRocha, General Manager at Sudima Hotel Lake Rotorua, responded to this review

Dear Colin Thanks for taking your time to write this review, I apologise if our facilities didn't meat your expectations and wasn't what you were expecting, I don't agree with your comment of our car park being unsecure Kind regards

Auckland, New Zealand
Reviewed 14 January 2016

The fact that we don't even bother looking for any other accommodation in Rotorua, speaks volumes about this hotel! Stayed here numerous times and each visit is as good as the previous! The kids just the breakfast! No doubt will be back soon.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank tilster2016
Maree W, Manager at Sudima Hotel Lake Rotorua, responded to this review

Dear tilster2016 Thank you for your feedback on Tripadvisor, your comments are very much appreciated. The team and I look forward to welcoming you back again when you are next travelling down from Auckland. Kind Regards Maree Welgus Executive Assistant Manager

Auckland, New Zealand
Reviewed 14 January 2016

Good location - close to Polynesian spa - we ordered room service breakfast - toast wasn't toasted at all and was quite an average breakfast. Fan in room wouldn't switch off as the switch was broken - so could do with a bit of a fix up.. Front desk was very helpful and friendly...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank 414mandyb
AtaloDeLaRocha, General Manager at Sudima Hotel Lake Rotorua, responded to this review

Dear Guests Thanks for taking your time to write this review, I apologise if the breakfast wasn't up to your standard but we have addressed this with our F&B manager, nice to know that our front office team made a good impression Kind regards

Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 13 January 2016

a relaxing room with friendly staff and location very handy for everything. Enjoyable place to spend a night during travels around New Zealand. Nice pool. Will use again when traveling in New Zealand.A nice breakfast

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 495julia
Maree W, Manager at Sudima Hotel Lake Rotorua, responded to this review

Dear 495julia Thank you for placing comments on Tripadvisor. I am glad the team left a memorable impression during your stay and I hope the remainder of your travels around New Zealand were just as enjoyable.. Kind Regards Maree Welgus Executive Assistant Manager

Brisbane, Australia
Reviewed 11 January 2016 via mobile

Our second visit here. Front desk manager remembered us and gave us a great deal. The room is at the back of the complex and is quite spacious and has been recently renovated. Very comfy bed, quiet, garden view from large room window, air con, clean and even a bath. ( superior room) We'll certainly stay here again if we...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Susanif
Maree W, Manager at Sudima Hotel Lake Rotorua, responded to this review

Dear Susanif Thank you for sharing your experience on Tripadvisor. I am glad that our team looked after you on your return visit and once again you enjoyed your stay. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future. Kind Regards Maree Welgus Executive Assistant Manager

Hartlepool, United Kingdom
Reviewed 9 January 2016

We spent one night in the hotel and given a room with a view of the lake and a balcony. The bed was huge and room very comfortable. Breakfast was included and plenty of choice. Pleased we stayed here and the staff where helpful.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank GS2013_13
Maree W, Manager at Sudima Hotel Lake Rotorua, responded to this review

Dear GS2013_13 Thank you for taking the time to place feedback from your recent stay on Tripadvisor. I am glad that you enjoyed your stay and also our breakfast offerings. I hope you enjoyed the remainder of your travels around Aotearoa. Kind Regards Maree Welgus Executive Assistant Manager

Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Reviewed 8 January 2016

Access to room not good we had to carry our cases up small set of stairs before we had access to the lift. Room needs updating and better clean.We had a slight problem one night the staff on reception issued another key to our room to more tourist which meant we were disturbed at 2.30 am. This was resolved by...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Mark E
AtaloDeLaRocha, General Manager at Sudima Hotel Lake Rotorua, responded to this review

Dear Mark Thanks for taking your time to write this review, I apologise for the inconvenience you were put through one night, we have addressed this with our front office manager, I am happy to read that our front office team were helpful Kind regards

Wellington, New Zealand
Reviewed 7 January 2016

Room hadn't been cleaned properly - there was previous guests half eaten food left in the fridge and a table needed wiping down in the room when we arrived, I asked and staff were OK sending someone up to do this. Obviously room wasn't double checked however as I later found the rubber bathmat was laden with previous guests long...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Wharangi
AtaloDeLaRocha, General Manager at Sudima Hotel Lake Rotorua, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for your review. I am sorry that you did not enjoy the room allocated to you on this occasion which was an economy/standard room, we do have Superior rooms that would include Wi-Fi and Aircon, all our rooms have smoke alarms installed, we really appreciate the rest of your feedback which with no doubt will allow...

299 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (270)
Viewed
Room/Suite (41)
Viewed
Bathroom (16)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (58)
Viewed
View from Room (18)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (7)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (9)
Viewed
Dining (13)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (5)
Viewed
Other (103)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (29)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Other (14)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rotorua hotels
1.0 km away
Novotel Rotorua Lakeside
2.4 km away
Holiday Inn Rotorua
Holiday Inn Rotorua
#19 of 93 in Rotorua
679 reviews
0.2 km away
Millennium Hotel Rotorua
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 km away
Princes Gate Hotel
Princes Gate Hotel
#36 of 93 in Rotorua
664 reviews
2.2 km away
Lake Rotorua Hotel
Lake Rotorua Hotel
#48 of 93 in Rotorua
207 reviews
1.1 km away
Ibis Rotorua
Ibis Rotorua
#28 of 93 in Rotorua
1,038 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
Services
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Conference Facilities
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Rotorua is one of New Zealand’s most exciting destinations - with fascinating history, rich Maori culture, and an enormous selection of attractions to experience. While visiting Rotorua, your premier accommodation choice is Sudima Lake Rotorua. Sudima Lake Rotorua is the largest hotel in Rotorua, and is set right on the shores of beautiful Lake Rotorua. The hotel is also adjacent to the world famous Polynesian Spa complex, Rotorua Museum and Government Garden, and just a short stroll from the Rotorua Convention Centre, the Energy Event Centre and Rotorua’s vibrant city centre. Sudima Hotel Lake Rotorua offers 250 guest rooms in a range of accommodation options, many with superb views across Lake Rotorua. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Sudima Hotel Lake Rotorua

Address: 1000 Eruera Street, Rotorua 3010, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Rotorua District > Rotorua
Price Range: RM405 - RM617 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Sudima Hotel Lake Rotorua 4*
Number of rooms: 250
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelClick, Travelocity, HotelTravel.com, Agoda, Priceline, Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Sudima Hotel Lake Rotorua reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Hotel Style:
#12 Spa Hotel in Rotorua
#25 Luxury Hotel in Rotorua
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Sudima Hotel Lake Rotorua staff and other travellers.
5 questions
Ask a question
Clearwater, Florida
Mont Tremblant, Canada
3 months ago
Gold Coast Australia
over a year ago

See all questions (5)

Questions? Get answers from Sudima Hotel Lake Rotorua staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“would be nice to have a room facing the geyser.”
 of 5 bubbles 984evelyns, 1 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Front upstairs rooms will have the full view of the Lake. Whether this matters will depend of the length of your stay.”
 of 5 bubbles 842brucec, 29 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Some 2d floor rooms don't have elevator access. You may want to ask for the elevator rooms if accessibility is a problem.”
 of 5 bubbles thomasfI7860BL, 16 Oct 2016 | Read review
“The superior rooms aren't very 'superior' at all. The economy rooms must be even worse!!”
 of 5 bubbles danielpD615NT, 12 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Close to shops and city centre.”
 of 5 bubbles 933ashwinm, 12 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay