We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Sudima Hotel Lake Rotorua

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Professional photos
Sudima Hotel Lake Rotorua
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,340 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Sudima Hotel Lake Rotorua
See the most recent reviews
Showing 1,249: English reviews
Reviewed 5 January 2016 via mobile

This hotel needs major room improvement. Nowhere near 4 star hotel standard. Very disappointing rooms, nothing like shown on pictures. Rooms are dark, worn out and don't look fresh. Disgusting bathrooms, I'm sorry, management staff, but they are!!! Room wasn't ready when we arrived at 2.40pm (hotel check in time 2.00pm) so we had to wait for 20mins, not a...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Filipp1108
AtaloDeLaRocha, General Manager at Sudima Hotel Lake Rotorua, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I am sorry if our room did not meet your expectations on this occasion however I do disagree with your comment about them being different from the images displayed in our marketing material, I hope you can gives another opportunity at some stage in the future Kind regards

Auckland, New Zealand
Reviewed 4 January 2016

Stay at Sudima Rotorua never fails to impress, however on this trip noticed the interiors look tired and need a face lift. Breakfast menu would do with a change, noticed inclusion of Indian breakfast item which was good.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sasikomakula
Maree W, Manager at Sudima Hotel Lake Rotorua, responded to this review

Dear Sasikomakula Thank you for your comments on Tripadvisor. All your feedback is very much appreciated and each point has been addressed by our senior management team. I hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back to Sudima Lake Rotorua. Kind Regards Maree Welgus Executive Assistant Manager

Reviewed 4 January 2016 via mobile

Hotel is clean and staff are very friendly. They were helpful in deciding which Maori show to see. They organised the drop off and pick up. Very close to shops easy walk. Very smelly from the lake like rotten eggs constantly. The wifi is not free is comes at a price which is unfortunate for such a large hotel.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Nadine C
Maree W, Manager at Sudima Hotel Lake Rotorua, responded to this review

Dear Nadine C Thank you for sharing your experience on Tripadvisor. I am glad that our team were able to assist you during your stay. I understand the smell in Rotorua (also nicknamed Sulphur City) can be unpleasant due to the Geothermal activity. However, this also makes this region unique with bubbling mud pools, active geysers and natural hot springs....

Reviewed 4 January 2016 via mobile

Disgusting is how would explain the rooms & bathroom for the rooms we were given. Dirty on the power points, blocked shower/bath, dirty tiles & power socket was lose my 2 year old nearly put her fingers in it. The Duty manager had not much to say, we spent go part of the day trying to follow up on the...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank elvins2016
AtaloDeLaRocha, General Manager at Sudima Hotel Lake Rotorua, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thanks for taking your time to write this review, I apologise that the condition of the room wasn't up to standard and even though we did offer another room which you declined while our maintenance team could fix the blocked bath, we also provided a big discount of your accommodation as a compensation for the inconvenience you went...

Midlands, England
Reviewed 3 January 2016

We were in a separate block to reception and it was quite a walk to main part but got used to it! Had a buffet dinner first night and it was very good. Had to pay for internet and couldn't get it to work, but they gave me a refund. Room clean and comfortable, although had to ask someone to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Petalle
Maree W, Manager at Sudima Hotel Lake Rotorua, responded to this review

Dear Petalle Thank you for sharing your experience on Tripadvisor. Your comments are very valuable to myself and the team as they allow us to constantly review each guest experience. At Sudima Lake Rotorua we aim to provide a memorable stay and hope our guests are able to take advantage of this beautiful thermal region. Kind Regards Maree Welgus Executive...

Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 January 2016

The hotel location is fairly good but not really lake front. Its a sprawling thing with five buildings. It took us five minutes from reception to room. This was part of our honeymoon and the hotel gave us bottle of bubbly which was a lovely gesture. However the room was just worn out. The bathroom was the worst and looked...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Mark B
AtaloDeLaRocha, General Manager at Sudima Hotel Lake Rotorua, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thanks for taking your time top write this review, I apologise if the room we allocated you in this occasion wasn't as close to reception as you would like though we are the largest hotel in Rotorua, nice to know that you liked our little gesture for such an important occasion Kind regards

Reviewed 30 December 2015 via mobile

Hot water was not consistent in the shower; although it got better after a while, I had to literally hold on to the plug connecting the bath to the shower so that it wouldn't die out when the hot water pressure goes low. Furnishings and supplies are aged, and the extra blanket provided had somebody else's hair on it. Reception...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Hyelin H
AtaloDeLaRocha, General Manager at Sudima Hotel Lake Rotorua, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thanks for taking your time to write this review, we haven't received any feedback before in regards to the situation you experienced but we will have a good look into it, happy to know that our staff were helpful and friendly Kind regards

Singapore, Singapore
Reviewed 27 December 2015

The hotel is located near to the city centre, I-Site and the terminal of the Intercity coaches. We arrived at the hotel around 3pm and proceed with the check-in. Staff were friendly and polite and gave us a good description of the hotel and its surrounding areas. As the hotel is quite large, scattered through a massive land area, we...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ZfyEd
Maree W, Manager at Sudima Hotel Lake Rotorua, responded to this review

Dear ZfyEd Thank you for sharing you comments on Tripadvisor. I am glad you enjoyed your stay and took advantage of our excellent location. The geothermal activity: mud pools, hot pools and geysers release hydrogen sulphide which creates at times the "rotten egg" smell. This region is unique and spectacular to New Zealand. Kind Regards Maree Welgus Executive Assistant Manager

Reviewed 26 December 2015 via mobile

We booked through ANZCRO (an Australian travel agent company) and we cannot believe they suggested this place. It's right next to Lake rotorua, which emits hydrogen sulphate (smells like rotten egg), which is not pleasant at all. This "4 star hotel" has no proper ventilation for their ground floor, and no clue how to clean their bathroom tiles (stained and...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Neerosha S
AtaloDeLaRocha, General Manager at Sudima Hotel Lake Rotorua, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thanks for sharing your experience with other travellers, I am happy to know that our staff made a difference through your stay and I apologize if the room given to you in this occasion didn't meet your expectations though the typical and unique smell of Rotorua is one of its own features due to the geothermal activity in...

Brisbane, Australia
Reviewed 26 December 2015 via mobile

We have just arrived at the Sudima Hotel Rotorua , so far OK. A little dated in decor but front counter staff very friendly and helpful. Got a shock when we had to pay for Wi-Fi but only $10 for 24he , anyway fun review after we check out.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank pete66_10
Maree W, Manager at Sudima Hotel Lake Rotorua, responded to this review

Dear pete66_10 Thank you for sharing your stay on Tripadvisor. Your feedback is very important to us as we constantly look at ways to improve each guest experience. Kindest Regards Maree Welgus Executive Assistant Manager

299 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (270)
Viewed
Room/Suite (41)
Viewed
Bathroom (16)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (58)
Viewed
View from Room (18)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (7)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (9)
Viewed
Dining (13)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (5)
Viewed
Other (103)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (29)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Other (14)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rotorua hotels
1.0 km away
Novotel Rotorua Lakeside
2.4 km away
Holiday Inn Rotorua
Holiday Inn Rotorua
#18 of 93 in Rotorua
680 reviews
0.2 km away
Millennium Hotel Rotorua
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 km away
Princes Gate Hotel
Princes Gate Hotel
#36 of 93 in Rotorua
664 reviews
2.2 km away
Lake Rotorua Hotel
Lake Rotorua Hotel
#48 of 93 in Rotorua
207 reviews
1.1 km away
Ibis Rotorua
Ibis Rotorua
#28 of 93 in Rotorua
1,038 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
Services
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Conference Facilities
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Rotorua is one of New Zealand’s most exciting destinations - with fascinating history, rich Maori culture, and an enormous selection of attractions to experience. While visiting Rotorua, your premier accommodation choice is Sudima Lake Rotorua. Sudima Lake Rotorua is the largest hotel in Rotorua, and is set right on the shores of beautiful Lake Rotorua. The hotel is also adjacent to the world famous Polynesian Spa complex, Rotorua Museum and Government Garden, and just a short stroll from the Rotorua Convention Centre, the Energy Event Centre and Rotorua’s vibrant city centre. Sudima Hotel Lake Rotorua offers 250 guest rooms in a range of accommodation options, many with superb views across Lake Rotorua. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Sudima Hotel Lake Rotorua

Address: 1000 Eruera Street, Rotorua 3010, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Rotorua District > Rotorua
Price Range: RM398 - RM612 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Sudima Hotel Lake Rotorua 4*
Number of rooms: 250
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelClick, Travelocity, HotelTravel.com, Agoda, Priceline, Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Sudima Hotel Lake Rotorua reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Hotel Style:
#12 Spa Hotel in Rotorua
#26 Luxury Hotel in Rotorua
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Sudima Hotel Lake Rotorua staff and other travellers.
5 questions
Ask a question
Clearwater, Florida
Mont Tremblant, Canada
3 months ago
Gold Coast Australia
over a year ago

See all questions (5)

Questions? Get answers from Sudima Hotel Lake Rotorua staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“would be nice to have a room facing the geyser.”
 of 5 bubbles 984evelyns, 1 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Front upstairs rooms will have the full view of the Lake. Whether this matters will depend of the length of your stay.”
 of 5 bubbles 842brucec, 29 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Some 2d floor rooms don't have elevator access. You may want to ask for the elevator rooms if accessibility is a problem.”
 of 5 bubbles thomasfI7860BL, 16 Oct 2016 | Read review
“The superior rooms aren't very 'superior' at all. The economy rooms must be even worse!!”
 of 5 bubbles danielpD615NT, 12 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Close to shops and city centre.”
 of 5 bubbles 933ashwinm, 12 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay