We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Copthorne Hotel Rotorua

Show Prices
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Copthorne Hotel Rotorua
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

310 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Copthorne Hotel Rotorua
See the most recent reviews
Showing 297: English reviews
Reviewed 25 January 2015

staff were very pleasent and helpful although the rooms were very very outdated aswel as corridors, reception and restaurants are quite nice! Should concentrate on the rooms more than anything else as that is the comfort of guests

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Jonny C
Theresa M, Manager at Copthorne Hotel Rotorua, responded to this review

Thak you kindly for your review. We do acknowledge areas of our hotel are aged and in need of an upgrade. We do have future plans to start refurbishing which should see vast improvements in our standard room types. Thank you for your submission as we as a hotel appreciate customer feedback.

Buffalo, New York
Reviewed 19 January 2015

The hotel is on the outskirts of Rotorua but looking out the windows at the surrounding mountains and the peace and quiet of the area made this worth the ride into the town. It is close to the hot springs and the Maori village. The hotel was clean and the parking was abundant and free. The area felt very safe....

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank 5mamabear
Theresa M, Manager at Copthorne Hotel Rotorua, responded to this review

Thank you kindly for your review. It was pleasing to read we achieved a good standard of service during your stay. I do hope we have the pleasure of hosting you again in the not so distant future.

Jakarta, Indonesia
Reviewed 7 January 2015

If you are in Rotorua with car maybe it is ok but if you are here using coach, please consider other hotels as the location of this hotel is really in the middle of nowhere, very far from Rotorua central. Our travel agent book us to 4 stars but apparently the facilities of this hotel only a 2 star quality....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ruthnainggolan
Theresa M, Manager at Copthorne Hotel Rotorua, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. Your feedback has been invaluable and I appreciate your honest opinion. I was not aware of your guest complaints during your stay however I have addressed your concerns with heads of departments as we have not delivered a level of service we are reknown for. I appreciate parts of our hotel are aged and in...

Avondale, Pennsylvania
Reviewed 6 January 2015

Stayed at the Copthorne hotel in Roturura during our drive through. Very pleasant reception and efficient check-in. We arrived late but the hotel staff accommodated us with dinner at the restaurant that was scheduled to close in 20 minutes after our arrival. Rooms are basically economy grade. Shower heads should be upgraded from the current ones that offer a choice...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank BobN06
Theresa M, Manager at Copthorne Hotel Rotorua, responded to this review

Thank you kindly for your feedback. It was a pleasure to read we managed to achieve guest satisfaction in most areas. I do know we have been experiencing slight delays in wifi access at certain times however we have made major inprovements to this service in the last month. I do appreciate your feedback.

Reviewed 6 January 2015 via mobile

I really don't want to say anything bad about this place because the staff were all fantastic. BUT we asked our travel agent to book us into minimum 4 stars and this place hasn't been 4 stars for a very long time. It's not been renovated or updated. I think my mattress was 30+ years old.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jossun
Theresa M, Manager at Copthorne Hotel Rotorua, responded to this review

Thank you kindly for your review, I do appreciate your submission. I do know areas of our hotel are in dire need of an upgrade which we look forward to in the distant future. Your comments about the customer service was well received as we do try to deliver an excellent level of service at all times. I do thank...

Hastings, New Zealand
Reviewed 3 January 2015

The room quality and standard is what you expect for the price, worn carpet and sun curtain was torn. This is similar to a dated motel without the ease of a cooker to make your own meals. The sliding doors are dated and noisy, so that when people on either side of you open their doors, you are woken and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Neenish2011
Theresa M, Manager at Copthorne Hotel Rotorua, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback. I was disappointed to read we delivered a level of service below our normal standards. I make no excuse for the service however I will be speaking directly with the house keeping department to ensure we are respecting signage displayed by our guests. Your comments have been invaluable and I do appreciate your submission.

Bristol, United Kingdom
Reviewed 29 December 2014

Not the most central hotel in Rotorua but well situated if you have a car. Room was clean and modern, staff were friendly. No WiFi apart from limited service in the lobby, nice breakfast buffet. The pool was warm but nothing special. Overall pretty average!

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank L_Hall1990
Theresa M, Manager at Copthorne Hotel Rotorua, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback. I do appreciate the points you raised as positive comments. Unfortunately our Wifi is only available in some areas of the hotel however we do hope to improve this service in the near future.

Acton, Massachusetts
Reviewed 28 December 2014

We were here for one night. The room was OK seemed clean and had the usual accessories which worked. The breakfast was mediocre. There was only free wifi in the lobby for half-an-hour a day. No complaints.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank MikeBirdman
Theresa M, Manager at Copthorne Hotel Rotorua, responded to this review

Thak you Mike for your feedback I do appreciate your comments. I do hope we are able to host you again in the future.

Singapore
Reviewed 27 December 2014 via mobile

As we self drived in New Zealand, we were so kindly being given rooms with full length windows to facilitate us moving in of our luggage. Only 2 out of 6 rooms had full length windows facing the carpark and my family were given those rooms. Room is clean in general. Close proximity to the Polynesian Spa.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jisushika1126
Theresa M, Manager at Copthorne Hotel Rotorua, responded to this review

Thank you kindly for your comments. I was pleased to read we achieved guest satisfaction. We appreciate all forms of feedback as this helps us retain and improve on our services.

Auckland Region, New Zealand
Reviewed 20 December 2014

I just love staying at this Hotel, its the best in Rotorua, everything is perfect expecially the location. Staff was very nice and friendly, the Aisan staff was very helpful in some stage. Every little detail is considered to ensure you are extremely well looked after. If the wifi is free of charge that hotel gonna be perfect.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank MinT-Fox
Theresa M, Manager at Copthorne Hotel Rotorua, responded to this review

Thank you kindly for your feedback. It is always a pleasure to read we have delivered a good level of service and facilities. I aoppreciate your feedback about the staff here as we endeavour to meet all guest customer service expectations. We look forward to hosting you again.

87 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (52)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (13)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (15)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (10)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (35)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (4)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (11)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (5)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rotorua hotels
0.7 km away
Holiday Inn Rotorua
Holiday Inn Rotorua
#18 of 93 in Rotorua
796 reviews
1.7 km away
Millennium Hotel Rotorua
0.1 km away
Rotorua Coachman Spa Motel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 km away
Sudima Hotel Lake Rotorua
3.3 km away
Lake Rotorua Hotel
Lake Rotorua Hotel
#49 of 93 in Rotorua
231 reviews
2.5 km away
Ibis Rotorua
Ibis Rotorua
#32 of 93 in Rotorua
1,098 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Free Internet
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Tennis Court
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Four-story Motor Hotel located near city center, 2 km from train station. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Copthorne Hotel Rotorua

Address: Fenton St, Rotorua, New Zealand (Formerly Kingsgate Hotel Rotorua)
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Rotorua District > Rotorua
Price Range: RM326 - RM643 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Copthorne Hotel Rotorua 4*
Number of rooms: 110
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with World Independent Hotel Promotion, Expedia, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Copthorne Hotel Rotorua reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rotorua Kingsgate Hotel
Hotel Style:
#47 Luxury Hotel in Rotorua
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Copthorne Hotel Rotorua staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question
Palo Alto, California
3 months ago

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Copthorne Hotel Rotorua staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Wouldn't stay here”
LorTGlasgow, 29 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Wait until they update hotel”
karendL6686MT, 7 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Bottom floors have nice seating area right outside the room.”
tomaszh697, 15 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Just go elsewhere”
Gregory'sGirl, 27 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Find somewhere else.”
samanthahN717WN, 23 Dec 2016 | Read review
5 of 5