We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Princes Gate Hotel

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Princes Gate Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

731 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Princes Gate Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 698: English reviews
Los Angeles, California, United States
Reviewed 3 September 2015 via mobile

Princes Gate is not one of these sleek, modern palaces. I felt a little like I should have changed into my traveling hat and riding habit before I checked in here, because the front lobby looks like an 1800s living room. The rooms are clean and comfortable, although a little shabby and with some idiosyncrasies associated with an older property....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Katie T
Auckland, New Zealand
Reviewed 1 September 2015

The room was roasting hot, bear in mind the radiators may be turned up to the max. Room service is charged with a 5 dollar surcharge. The maitre d' at breakfast was hilariously unfriendly, archaic and snobby, the atmosphere was uncomfortable. On checkout Grant was rude, condescending, unapologetic and frankly terrible as front of house, didn't even say goodbye.

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank DCC23
PrincesGateHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Princes Gate Hotel, responded to this review

Dear DCC23, Please accept our apologies for the lapse in service from our team when you stayed with us recently. This is completely inexcusable and we will be reiterating to ALL team members our expected levels of service. In regards to your room, please note the radiators are individually controlled in each room and can be turned off at any...

Auckland, New Zealand
Reviewed 1 September 2015 via mobile

The room was clean, warm and cozy. We went to the hotel's restaurant very late for dinner. They kept the kitchen open that night to accommodate dinner for 20 people. Everyone had an amazing meal. Staff very friendly and the hot pools are not to be missed. Hotel situated by the lake and good restaurants. For sure I'll stay there...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Camelia C
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Reviewed 30 August 2015

We stayed in a 2 bedroom suite, which we loved. We felt extremely comfortable & relaxed during our stay. We had dinner in the restaurant on our first night which was absolutely outstanding, & room service for the 2nd night of our stay, which again was very nice. We had a great stay and we will be back!!!!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lisa B
Auckland, Auckland, New Zealand
Reviewed 30 August 2015

The Prices gate is an iconic hotel with enormous atmosphere! If you like history, you will enjoy staying here. It is right next to the gardens and museum and the shops are just around the corner. The lake and restaurants are within easy walking too. The décor and rooms are in keeping with the ambiance - I had two chandeliers...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Janis G
Houston, Texas
Reviewed 29 August 2015

This is an excellent place to stay while in the Rotorua area!!!! The building is absolutely beautiful with architecture and was made in the late 1800's. Inside as you walk through the main entrance, a very elegant staircase becomes the focal point of the entry. As we checked in, the staff was VERY courteous and helpful in any way. They...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank David B
New Zealand
Reviewed 28 August 2015

Hubby's 60th birthday was spoilt by this hotel and in particular its unbelievably rude Manager. This man - who my husband came to refer to as "the undertaker" - should not be in the hospitaility trade. He never greeted us once despite walking past us on a number of occasions, and, he certainly never smiled. We had bought a deal...

 Report
Helpful?
6Thank LeeMylie
PrincesGateHotel, Owner at Princes Gate Hotel, responded to this review

It is unfortunate that this reviewer has found it necessary to lower themselves to name calling which in our view lacks integrity on their part. I would however, as the owner of the Princes Gate Hotel, take the opportunity to respond to this review. All guests arriving at our hotel are personally greeted, advised of all of our facilities and...

Auckland, New Zealand
Reviewed 28 August 2015

On arrival the concierge was quite condescending and I felt like we were a nuisance. Our whole stay was disappointing. We were so excited to be going there and felt let down at our reception. When we said we weren't going to their dinner and show it was like they didn't care anymore. We were told to get to the...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank 122pju
PrincesGateHotel, Owner at Princes Gate Hotel, responded to this review

We are extremely sorry that you didn't enjoy your stay with us. In regard to dinner show I'm sure reception would have not only explained that we had a show on as a matter of courtesy also at the same time explaining that our other restaurant is also available offering a à la carte dining. In respect to the pools...

Wellington, New Zealand
Reviewed 26 August 2015

Rooms are not like the website, smaller, less light. Sky doesn't mean two channels, rooms just about adequate but nothing like it shows on the website, really nothing special at all. Breakfast is billed as best in city but it was seriously average.

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Ian133
PrincesGateHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Princes Gate Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Ian133, We are sorry to hear of your disappointment following your recent stay. We do have a variety of rooms available in different locations & price points within the hotel. When we are advised by guests that the room expectations have not been met, we aim to provide a solution during the stay. It seems on this occasion we...

Havant
Reviewed 23 August 2015

Having stayed in Rotorua before this hotel was recommended as a top hotel. It is a historic building and the public areas and bar are lovely and a nice place to relax. However the room I had (9) was very drab and tired. The carpet would be at at home in a cheap Indian restaurant and the wallpaper was peeling...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank GB0207
PrincesGateHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Princes Gate Hotel, responded to this review

Dear GB0207, Thank you for your taking time to provide feedback with regards to your recent stay at the Princes Gate Hotel. We are very proud of the Hotels history and heritage decor and try to ensure that each guest experiences the old world hospitality that hotels of this era are renowned for. We do have a variety of accommodation...

274 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (219)
Viewed
Room/Suite (45)
Viewed
Bathroom (16)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (52)
Viewed
Dining (15)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Other (88)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (55)
Viewed
Room/Suite (18)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (9)
Viewed
Dining (11)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (7)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rotorua hotels
0.5 km away
Quest Rotorua Central
Quest Rotorua Central
#1 of 93 in Rotorua
660 reviews
2.0 km away
Silver Fern Rotorua - Accommodation and Spa
0.5 km away
Millennium Hotel Rotorua
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 km away
Novotel Rotorua Lakeside
0.6 km away
Sudima Hotel Lake Rotorua
0.6 km away
Ibis Rotorua
Ibis Rotorua
#29 of 93 in Rotorua
1,084 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Airport Transportation
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Conference Facilities
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Princes Gate Hotel, the ideal accommodation whilst staying in Rotorua. The most famous Hotel in Rotorua built in 1897. This timeless, beautiful hotel is privately owned and operated. Our hotel rooms offer style and sophistication that depict a bygone era. The Princes Gate Hotel is not just a hotel but also an attraction. It has been masterfully restored through passionate attention to details. We look forward to having you stay with us in our beautiful & grand Princes Gate Hotel. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Princes Gate Hotel

Address: 1057 Arawa Street, Rotorua 3010, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Rotorua District > Rotorua
Price Range: RM363 - RM961 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Princes Gate Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Princes Gate Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Princes Gate Rotorua
Hotel Princes Gate
Hotel Style:
#10 Business Hotel in Rotorua
#28 Romantic Hotel in Rotorua
#30 Luxury Hotel in Rotorua
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Princes Gate Hotel staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from Princes Gate Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“If you have an apartment (called a suite) have an upstairs one.”
 of 5 bubbles AndrewMarks31, 14 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Balcony rooms up on the second floor have windows!!”
 of 5 bubbles MrsD65, 13 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Avoid room 4 if you are looking for a room with a view. Don't avoid room 4 if you are only there for an overnight stay.”
 of 5 bubbles kiwigirlabroad, 4 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Upper floor looking out over the front or to the Government Garden side (right as you look at the hotel from the front).”
 of 5 bubbles Bridstow, 2 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Only "drawback" is no elevator in main building but helpful staff to assist carrying bags up stairs.”
 of 5 bubbles PGR2017, 1 Mar 2017 | Read review
5 of 5