We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Novotel Rotorua Lakeside

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Professional photos
Novotel Rotorua Lakeside
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

2,245 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Novotel Rotorua Lakeside
See the most recent reviews
Showing 2,111: English reviews
Beveren
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We stayed in a good room with a view over the lake but with no extras (bath robes, water, ...) and worst of all no shower gel. We would have given a slightly better score if the breakfast buffet would have been better. Ham and cheese are difficult to find and when you find them they look awful ... in...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Guy9120
Edward J, General Manager at Novotel Rotorua Lakeside, responded to this review

Dear Guy9120, Thank you for taking the time to comment on your stay with us. I am glad to learn you appreciate the room with the view! Our apologies for letting you down with the breakfast service. I have shared your comments with the team and we will put a higher focus on this area. We look forward to hosting...

Singapore, Singapore
Reviewed 1 week ago

Staff was very helpful. The hotel has many facilities such as the geo-thermally heated pools. It is also conveniently located as there are many restaurants just walking distance away, such as Nando's and Indian food. There was also the popular Lady Jane's Ice Cream Parlour. The buffet breakfast started at 6am and ended at 10.30am, which allowed us to take...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Keevan K
Edward J, General Manager at Novotel Rotorua Lakeside, responded to this review

Dear Keevan K, Thank you for your kind review. We are glad to hear you enjoyed your visit to our hotel, especially our great location and friendly staff. We hope to see you back again soon!

Auckland, New Zealand
Reviewed 1 week ago

Friendly staff and that's where it stops. Rooms are out dated and unclean, check out the floor and bathroom fixtures, yuck! common areas are disgraceful, dirty dirty stained carpets. This is 1 star place. Walls are paper thin could here the next rooms all night. only 2 cups for a coffee so had to take turns using cups for a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 5startraveller963
Edward J, General Manager at Novotel Rotorua Lakeside, responded to this review

Dear 5startraveller963, Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. While I wish you had a better experience, it is feedback like this that we learn from and use to improve. We work hard to deliver an exceptional guest experience, and it's apparent in this case that we fell short. If you give us a chance to earn...

London, UK
Reviewed 1 week ago

This is a Novotel, and one gets what one expects. The hotel is modern, functional and bland. The rooms are large and efficient but the promised "lake view" is only just visible out of the corner of the window. The hotel charges NZD 10 per day for wifi, which is a poor money-pinching habit all decent establishments should swear never...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank John_from_NM
Edward J, General Manager at Novotel Rotorua Lakeside, responded to this review

Dear John_from_NM, Thank you for taking the time to give us feedback on your recent stay with us. It is pleasing to read that your stay was, on majority, a comfortable and pleasing one. However, I am sorry to hear that we did not meet all your expectations, we do always try our best to deliver a service to suit...

Auckland, New Zealand
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We had a great stay. Fantastic hot pools and heated swimming pool. Comfy clean room. We didn't get a lakeview higher level room that we requested at booking which was odd but we were compensated and very well looked after by staff. Incredible buffet breakfast! Great location walking distance to everywhere.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank marama662
Edward J, General Manager at Novotel Rotorua Lakeside, responded to this review

Dear marama662, Thank you for the great review of our hotel! It was wonderful to read all your positive comments. I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services. We look forward to having...

Raanana
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Stayed here as part of a Globus group. While the room was nice, it was surprising that at this Novotel the breakfast was really not very good at all. Eggs seemed to be powdered. Also it was annoying that there was not even one international cable TV station available, only local stations. Also we had to sign up (not sure...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MessaM
Edward J, General Manager at Novotel Rotorua Lakeside, responded to this review

Dear MessaM, Thank you for taking the time to give us feedback on your recent stay with us. I am glad to see you enjoyed our location. However, I was disappointed to read that your experience did not meet your expectations. Rest assured that your comments have been documented and will certainly be looked into. I do hope that we...

Pauanui, New Zealand
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The staff make this hotel - we visit a few times a year - and love coming back. The bar area is great for a drink, and the buffets (morning and evening) are well stocked with a great array. We also like the hot pools and main pool after biking in Rotorua - a great spot with walks right from...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank madtravel-with-4kids
Edward J, General Manager at Novotel Rotorua Lakeside, responded to this review

Dear madtravel-with-4kids, Thank you for your amazing 5 star review! It was a pleasure to welcome you to our hotel. I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services. We look forward to your...

Napier, New Zealand
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I booked a king room and got a twin. Hot water ran out twice in 2 days and ended up with a cold shower. Location was Good close to town and lake. Good parking on site. Lobby was very nice but Christmas carols in November was a bit early

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Greg S
Edward J, General Manager at Novotel Rotorua Lakeside, responded to this review

Dear Greg S, Thank you for providing a review of our hotel. I am glad to see you enjoyed our location! I do apologies for the issue with the water and also your booking. Rest assured that your comments have been documented and will certainly be looked into. Again, thank you for sharing your thoughts and I hope that you...

Newcastle, Australia
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Stayed here for a few nights. No complaints. A very typical Novotel. Clean enough, staff where friendly enough, although sometimes we felt they where a bit clumsy - still learning. We did not mind through. Food was good. Thermal spas and pool areas where a nice feature. All in all a good place to stay for the price. But nothing...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mr_Mayzen
Edward J, General Manager at Novotel Rotorua Lakeside, responded to this review

Dear Mr_Mayzen, Thank you for taking the time to give us feedback on your recent stay with us. It is pleasing to read that your stay was, on majority, a comfortable and pleasing one. I do hope that we have the opportunity to welcome you back to the hotel again at some stage in the near future.

mumbai
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

The city is very well known for the natural hot water pools good hotel we drove from Queens town to Christchurch and on the way stopped at routuroa glowing caves also a attraction over all a good budget hotel

 Report
Helpful?
Thank shakungifts
Edward J, General Manager at Novotel Rotorua Lakeside, responded to this review

Dear shakungifts, Thank you for taking the time to write a positive review. I am glad to hear you enjoyed your visit. We look forward to hosting you again!

463 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (414)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (59)
Viewed
Dining (12)
Viewed
View from Room (25)
Viewed
Room/Suite (105)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (16)
Viewed
Bathroom (39)
Viewed
2:53
Videos (2)
Viewed
Other (156)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (49)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (16)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (4)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
Other (13)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rotorua hotels
0.7 km away
Quest Rotorua Central
Quest Rotorua Central
#1 of 93 in Rotorua
597 reviews
2.3 km away
Silver Fern Rotorua - Accommodation and Spa
3.2 km away
Holiday Inn Rotorua
Holiday Inn Rotorua
#18 of 93 in Rotorua
681 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
Ibis Rotorua
Ibis Rotorua
#26 of 93 in Rotorua
1,039 reviews
0.9 km away
Millennium Hotel Rotorua
1.0 km away
Sudima Hotel Lake Rotorua
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
GreenPartner Learn More
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Novotel Rotorua Lakeside is ideally situated near the shores of lake Rotorua and withing meters of the CBD and restaurant sector.. The hotel has 199 modern, spacious accommodation rooms, some with stunning lake views, including 11 suites and the prestigious Royal suite. All bedrooms have either a king or two double beds, en-suite with shower over bath, mini bars and safes. Guests also have access to our fully equipped gym, indoor heated pool and geothermal plunge pools. Atlas cafe and restaurant is open all year round, serving guests and visitors from the extensive buffet and ala-carte dining. Our Hotel bar Clarke's is the perfect place to relax and enjoy a drink fireside or catch up with friends over a shared platter on our outdoor courtyard. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Novotel Rotorua Lakeside

Address: Lake End Tutanekai Street, Rotorua 3215, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Rotorua District > Rotorua
Price Range: RM541 - RM1,161 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Novotel Rotorua Lakeside 4.5*
Number of rooms: 199
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, ACCOR, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo, Hotels.com and HotelTravel.com so you can book your Novotel Rotorua Lakeside reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Rotorua Lakeside Hotel Rotorua
Accor Rotorua Lakeside
Rotorua Novotel
Hotel Style:
#15 Luxury Hotel in Rotorua
#15 Business Hotel in Rotorua
#25 Family Hotel in Rotorua
#33 Romantic Hotel in Rotorua
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Novotel Rotorua Lakeside staff and other travellers.
8 questions
Ask a question
Adelaide, South Australia, Australia
Phoenix, Arizona
1 month ago
Auckland, Auckland, New Zealand
10 months ago
Tauranga, New Zealand
over a year ago

See all questions (8)

Questions? Get answers from Novotel Rotorua Lakeside staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“book in advance and request the hotel for what kind of room you prefer.”
 of 5 bubbles abhishekmarines, 6 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Quiet floors. Great ocean views”
 of 5 bubbles genab2015, 4 Dec 2016 | Read review
“higher floors facing the lake”
 of 5 bubbles lcksyd, 30 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Lovely lake views from higher floors”
 of 5 bubbles madtravel-with-4kids, 26 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Want a lake view room.”
 of 5 bubbles motorbodies, 15 Nov 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay