We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Rydges Rotorua

Expedia.comUS$80*
View Deal
07/05/2017 08/05/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
US$107*
US$80*
US$107*
US$80*
US$107*
US$80*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Professional photos
Rydges Rotorua
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,170 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 1,141: English reviews
Start your review of Rydges Rotorua
 Click to rate
Auckland, New Zealand
Reviewed 1 week ago

I booked this hotel on the basis that it had a swimming pool and I had my two sons with me. When i checked in they told me the pool was closed due to maintenance. The gym also had one muliti gym in it a running machine, bike and rowing machine. Bike was out of order and so was the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank richarddoubtfire
Management response:

Dear Richarddoubtfire, Thank you for staying and sharing your review with us. I am very sorry to hear that you were disappointed with your stay. Your feedback regarding our gym facilities defects have been well-noted and our maintenance manager already took action to fix it up. Regarding our swimming pool out of order, please accept my sincere apologies for the...

Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

This is a standard older Rydges hotel. It was clean and tidy but in need of some attention, now a bit dated. On the plus side the rooms were nice and big. The staff were friendly and helpful. It is a little out of the central area so a bit far to walk into the town unless you had a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Pam P
Management response:

Dear Pam P, Thank you very much for taking the time to share your comment. We are glad to know that you have enjoyed our overall services and facilities during the recent stay with us. We truly appreciate your support and sincerely look forward to welcoming you back in the near future. Kind Regards Christine Chen Front Office Manager

Coffs Harbour, Australia
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We booked a family room at the Rydges for our 3 night stay. We were given a room on floor 2, on first sight I asked to change rooms. We were moved to a room on floor 3, and that room was fine. If we had not been moved this would be a one star review - that room was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Charlie C
Management response:

Dear Charlie C, Thank you for taking the time to share your detailed observations and extensive feedback. I feel really disappointed to read that our room facilities and breakfast couldn't meet your expectation. We have taken noted of your comments and are concerned about the issues you have raised. Kindly rest assured that we have reviewed your feedback with relevant...

Auckland, Auckland, New Zealand
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We arrived to be told that the pool was not available due to repairs, wish we had been told that before hand! Then given a wifi password and I can't locate any wifi in the room. First time I called reception mid arvo and no one answered. Tried again a few hours later, to be told they will call me...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Brett R
Management response:

Dear Brett R, Thank you for your feedback. I was truly disappointed to read that you did not enjoy your stay. We have taken noted of your comments for necessary improvements. Regarding our swimming pool out of order and WIFI issues due to emergent maintenance, please accept my sincere apologies for the inconvenience caused. We sincerely hope to have a...

Southern Wales, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We did a last minute booking there was no info of pool or wifi out of use when we booked this hotel 2adults 2kids staff rude saying pools been out for a while and that all info was on the web site! Not. And to match the wifi was down loads of tour groups complaining. Room very tired and dated.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank htbarcud
Management response:

Dear htharcud, Thank you for taking your time to share your comment with us on. I am very sorry to hear that you were disappointed with your stay.Regarding our swimming pool out of order and Wifi issue due to emergent maintenance, please accept my sincere apologies for the inconvenience caused. We sincerely hope to have a chance to serve you...

Reviewed 20 March 2017 via mobile

Paid for 5 stars but really more like 3...and even thats being generous!! Couldn't sleep because I could hear every single noise coming from the surrounding rooms. Obviously the walls are paper thin. Couldn't really understand the lady at the front desk because her English was poor. Iv never stayed anywhere that wants to charge 1 dollar to my credit...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Chantel B
Management response:

Dear Chantel, Appreciate you taking the time to share your feedback. I am sorry to hear you didn't enjoy your stay with us. We have taken noted of your comments for necessary improvements. We sincerely hope to have a chance to serve you again. Kind Regards Christine Chen Front Office Manager

Reviewed 20 March 2017 via mobile

Stopped off for a romantic night on honeymoon to find mosquitos all over the bedroom ceiling, that can normally be sorted with a bit of spray... after 3 phone calls and a visit to reception 3 hours later someone sprayed them and left the dead insects all over bed and pillows. That's not a good start, so decided to go...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Tania M
Management response:

Dear Tania, Thank you for taking the time to share your detailed observations and extensive feedback. I feel really disappointed to read that our room facilities couldn't meet your expectation. Your feedback regarding our room cleanliness and the service shortfalls of your mentioned have been well-noted. We will certainly review your valuable comments with our Housekeeping and Front Office team...

Brooklyn, Iowa
Reviewed 14 March 2017

The rooms were unique due to the Jacuzzi on the balcony. The bar was relaxing & offered a good selections of drinks. The dining room was very nice and clean. The breakfast was extensive with many options and good help from the dining room staff. The Rydges was a nice place to rest after a full day of visiting the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ron A
Management response:

Dear Ron, Thank you very much for staying with us and for taking the time to share your feedback We are truly delighted to know that you have enjoyed our overall services and facilities during your recent trip. We appreciate your support and sincerely look forward to welcoming you back in the nearest future. Kind Regards Front Office Manager Christine...

Cheshire England
Reviewed 14 March 2017

We arrived at this hotel towards the end of a New Zealand tour. We were really looking forward to the first hotel we stayed at that had a swimming pool.We were very disappointed as the pool was not available. The room we had was large but had a big mark in the middle of the carpet. There was a small...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Cheshire174
Management response:

Dear Cheshire174 Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. I am very sorry to hear that you were disappointed with your stay. We have taken noted of your comments and are concerned about our carpet, shower curtains and service issues of our bar you have raised. Kindly rest assured those have been brought to the attention of...

Auckland Region, New Zealand
Reviewed 11 March 2017

We stayed here over Auckland Anniversary weekend. Paid 5 star dollars but certainly not 5 star, if your lucky a 3 star and for me that's being kind. The room is big, but it ends here. Reception was rude, we were ushered back out main entrance and to park around the back, to me this feels like a servants entrance,...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Shadow0608
Management response:

Dear Shadow0608 Thank you for taking your time to share your comment with us on. We regret that our services were not meet your expectations. Your mentioned unpleasant issues already brought to the attention of our General Manager and he will discuss your feedback with the team members and monitor future guest interactions as well. Again, thank you for giving...

221 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (205)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (21)
Viewed
Dining (12)
Viewed
Bathroom (25)
Viewed
Room/Suite (37)
Viewed
View from Room (10)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
2:50
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (96)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (16)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (7)
07/05/2017 08/05/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rotorua hotels
1.3 km away
Holiday Inn Rotorua
Holiday Inn Rotorua
#18 of 93 in Rotorua
797 reviews
1.1 km away
Sudima Hotel Lake Rotorua
1.8 km away
Novotel Rotorua Lakeside
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 km away
Millennium Hotel Rotorua
0.1 km away
Emerald Spa Motor Inn
Emerald Spa Motor Inn
#16 of 93 in Rotorua
380 reviews
0.5 km away
Silver Fern Rotorua - Accommodation and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
  • Spa
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Food & drink at the hotel
Atrium Restaurant
Atrium Restaurant
Cuisines: New Zealand, European, Contemporary
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Hot Tub
  • Spa
Room types
  • Suites
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Paid Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Rydges Rotorua is located in a park like setting on the edge of the city's Racecourse. The hotel boasts panoramic views towards Lake Rotorua and Mokoia Island. Along with the most spacious guest rooms in the city, offering FREE WIFI, the hotel also has extensive catering facilities, including the Atrium Restaurant and Bar, Mezz Bar, 24 hour room service and over 560sqm of function. The hotel is within easy walking distance of the city centre, Convention Centre and many of the city's main attractions are a short drive away. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Rydges Rotorua

Address: 272 Fenton Street, Rotorua 3201, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Rotorua District > Rotorua
Price Range: RM427 - RM1,264 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Rydges Rotorua 4*
Number of rooms: 135
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Orbitz, Booking.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Rydges Rotorua reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rydges Rotorua Hotel Rotorua
Rydges Hotel Rotorua
Rotorua Rydges Hotel
Hotel Style:
#9 Business Hotel in Rotorua
#30 Family Hotel in Rotorua
#32 Luxury Hotel in Rotorua
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Rydges Rotorua staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from Rydges Rotorua staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“over looking race course”
richarddoubtfire, 20 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Make sure there's hot water before you settle in your room.”
N1932QKwilliamw, 22 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Book a room on the race course side of the hotel”
JeffR605, 17 Feb 2017 | Read review
“overlooking racetrack i'm assuming best option”
stuart2002, 4 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Choose someplace else, you are not going to find it here!”
AklFamily, 2 Jan 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
Expedia.com
US$80* /night
View Deal
Hotels.comUS$80
PricelineUS$80
TripAdvisorUS$80
View all 11 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates