We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Holiday Inn Rotorua

Show Prices
#19 of 93 Hotels in Rotorua
GreenLeadersBronze level
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Holiday Inn Rotorua
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

791 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 735: English reviews
Start your review of Holiday Inn Rotorua
 Click to rate
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

The hotel was fine as far as the room . It has a problem with its fire alarm system. We were on a tour bus that has chosen this hotel. It is near the town which is good. There are many choices of places to eat other than the hotel. The staff was fine. BUT first night there a fire...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jbakker
Singapore
Reviewed 4 days ago NEWvia mobile

The room was spacious and seemed to be little aged, cleanliness can be improve. The dinner staff crew were fantastic and went extra mild to offer my young toddler with activity pack and try to cheer her when she was getting cranky. Staff were very attentive and helpful. Kids also get to dine for free with a lovely generous meal....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Rubychan84
Katoomba, Australia
Reviewed 1 week ago NEWvia mobile

Really nice place to stay, super friendly staff. Rooms and accommodation is lovely. Laundry open 24/7 and cheap to use, which is awesome when you are travelling a lot. Restaurant great for breakfast and dinner and room service too! Internet for 4 log ins too. Highly recommend.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank PurpleHaze888
Kent B, General Manager at Holiday Inn Rotorua, responded to this review

Hi Purple Haze, than k you for your review, and great to see you utilized some of our great facilities to support a great stay, see you next time, Kent

London
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Have spent a couple of days enjoying the holiday inn here in Rotorua. Have gone for 5goggles more because of the above and beyond service provided that has made this stay wonderful. Staff were courteous and kind, called to double check reservations we had made and then even offered an unscheduled shuttle drop into town so we got the best...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank kjm105
Kent B, General Manager at Holiday Inn Rotorua, responded to this review

Hi KJM, thank you for your review, and great to read you had a great time with us, have a great day, Kent

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We came here to stay for my mother's 50th birthday we booked two deluxe double rooms the place looks nice and tidy, I also enjoyed the small 24 hour fitness centre that they have available. My only disappointments with this place is firstly there is no microwave in the rooms which was unfortunate as I have an infant child and...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank ashyc2016
Kent B, General Manager at Holiday Inn Rotorua, responded to this review

Hi AshyC, thank you for your review, You are correct in saying that we do not offer microwaves in rooms, they are more of Motel amenity, We are extremely reluctant to heat externally created foods, as it is a significant food safety risk to do so, and the overall health and well being of all of our guests is of...

UK
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Visited in March for 2 nights whilst on a tour of North Island. Hotel is in a good location for the hot springs. We were lucky enough to be upgraded to a room overlooking the sulphur springs. Rotorua does smell of sulphur but you soon get used to it! Rooms clean and have good storage and all the usual amenities,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank larrioUk
Kent B, General Manager at Holiday Inn Rotorua, responded to this review

Hi Larrio, thanks for your review, great to see you enjoyed your experience with us, have a great day, Kent

Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

I had a terrible experience at this hotel during a recent trip to New Zealand and would not recommend this hotel after my recent experience. I had travelled for around 7 hours and several buses so I was quite tired when I arrived. Unfortunately my room was right near the lifts so I had to listen to the lifts going...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank lia393
Kent B, General Manager at Holiday Inn Rotorua, responded to this review

Hi Lia, thank you for your review and feedback, We will take note of your concerns, and review with the team, Generally the team here are driven to achieve great feedback, unfortunately in this instance this did not happen for you, and I am sorry about that, Have a great day, Kent

Gold Coast, Australia
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Great place to stay! South end of Rotorua was a good place to travel down to Taupo from and also to end off to the buried village. Great customer service, very friendly staff! Bed was very comfortable, good selection of tv shows as well.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Bugman21
Kent B, General Manager at Holiday Inn Rotorua, responded to this review

Hi Bugman, thanks for your great review, have a great day, Kent

Brisbane, Australia
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

I was so surprised at just how great this accomodation was. The room (superior double) was spacious and had everything we would need. Every morning the room was cleaned, our towels replaced and our beds made - the room looked completely fresh as if we had only just arrived. This was really lovely to come back to after a day...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank hsummers_93
Maureen G, Rooms Division Manager at Holiday Inn Rotorua, responded to this review

Hi hsummers_93 Thanks for your great review of Holiday Inn Rotorua. I am most impressed that you were comfortable walking into the City Centre, most guests use our shuttle or their own transport. I hope we can welcome you back in the future. Regards Maureen

Watford, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Stayed here for 3 nights. Had room service twice - very good food. Staff are friendly. Great location central to get to town or go our to the thermal pools. Beds are huge and comfortable. Rooms are kitted out with fridge, wardrobe and free WiFi! Bathroom is clean and tidy and a good size - with both bath and shower.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Shelley B
Maureen G, Rooms Division Manager at Holiday Inn Rotorua, responded to this review

Hi Shelley B Thanks for choosing Holiday Inn Rotorua and for taking the time to share your experience with other travellers. Regards Maureen

287 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (222)
Viewed
View from Room (30)
Viewed
Room/Suite (58)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (29)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (32)
Viewed
Dining (17)
Viewed
0:48
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (50)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (65)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (18)
Viewed
Dining (13)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (11)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (5)
Viewed
Other (15)

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
GreenLeadersBronze level
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Paid Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Holiday Inn Rotorua is a modern hotel overlooking the Whakarewarewa Thermal Reserve and Historical Village. It features: • A free to use heated swimming pool and health club. • Free parking. • Kids Eat and Stay Free. (Up to 2 children under 12.) • Free Wifi for IHG Rewards Club Members. The air-conditioned rooms of Holiday Inn Rotorua offer a modern design and cable TV with free movies and 2 children's channels. Tea and coffee making facilities are provided. The award winning Chapman’s Restaurant and Bar offers an a la carte menu, and buffet, and serves contemporary New Zealand cuisine, matched with a fine wine selection. Room service is available 24/7. The Rotorua Holiday Inn is situated close to all the city's attractions and offers free shuttle pickup from the Rotorua Tourism Information Centre. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Rotorua

Address: 10 Tryon Street, Rotorua 3201, New Zealand (Formerly Heritage Rotorua)
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Rotorua District > Rotorua
Price Range: RM377 - RM841 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Holiday Inn Rotorua 4.5*
Number of rooms: 203
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Rotorua reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Rotorua Hotel Rotorua
Heritage Hotel Rotorua
Rotorua Heritage Hotel
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Rotorua
#17 Luxury Hotel in Rotorua
#23 Family Hotel in Rotorua
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Holiday Inn Rotorua staff and other travellers.
7 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (7)

Questions? Get answers from Holiday Inn Rotorua staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“stay in another hotel if you do not like fire drills”
jbakker, 19 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Ask to view the room, or if you want our double queen room with bath ask for 710.”
FMartinAustralia, 18 Mar 2017 | Read review
“dont choose this hotel”
625ankita, 13 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Standard Room has the worst ever view, Luxury hotel can have”
192kunalg, 3 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Rooms away form the pool are quieter”
VerdiA, 1 Mar 2017 | Read review
5 of 5