We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Union Victoria Motel

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Union Victoria Motel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

164 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Union Victoria Motel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 151: English reviews
Gisborne, New Zealand
Reviewed 23 August 2016 via mobile

We had a great couple of nights here. Rooms were very spacious which was perfect with a little one in tow. Hot pools were lovely and relaxing and the room was well heated. Had all the facilities we needed and staff / owner was friendly and accommodating. Will definitely return

 Report
Helpful?
Thank whanau123
Reviewed 19 August 2016 via mobile

Will never go back there we felt unwelcome pool was closed a hole day but when a tour of Chinese came in the pool was open I ask why and he said we were others rooms need to be up dated. When we at friends come over to say hello they would come over to them and say go your...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank tmtanz
Bruce B, Owner at Union Victoria Motel, responded to this review

Hi, You can never come back again, because we no longer accept Work and Income paid family. Your accommodation was not paid by your family, it was paid by Work and Income ie Ministry of Social Development, literally paid by tax payers. Work and Income required us to accept the families that could not find a rental house and cannot...

Noumea, New Caledonia, South Pacific
Reviewed 29 July 2016 via mobile

Hi it was good with thermal system keeps room hot hood hot pools and spa with mineral spa rooms where clean wifi was average not bad also near bye city centre and they clean the rooms daily basis they have sky channels

 Report
Helpful?
Thank noumeadutyfree
tokoroa
Reviewed 24 July 2016

we have stayed at the Union on several different occasions and have always found it a great central place with friendly hosts and everything we need at hand which is why we always returned. We didn't realise there were new owners so booked another stay. The lady that served us was quite rude and wanted extra payment for a 2nd...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank shaynetarnO
Bruce B, Owner at Union Victoria Motel, responded to this review

Hi, Thank you for your review! But I need to tell the other people what happened that day. You stay was paid by Flybuy points. As the motel policy, we asked for your credit card for a bond, but you refused to do so. When you checked in, you came as a couple. but when you got into the room,...

Reviewed 31 May 2016 via mobile

Been hear for three nights with my family. The hotel is very old and tired and every thing almost broken the beds are not comfertable, and the room is Not very clean. But the owner tries to give a good service ... The location is not bad

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 636talt
Paraparaumu, New Zealand
Reviewed 1 April 2016 via mobile

Stayed here because I remember staying as a kid (don't ask). Just as I remembered, really nice and comfortable, pools are great and owners try really hard to make your stay enjoyable. Excellent value and very clean. I loved my stay and happy to recommend to all.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kadinmac
British Columbia
Reviewed 20 March 2016

Our two night stay was very pleasant and the hotel was clean with free unlimited internet. It was a good value, but don't expect the Ritz. The staff were really friendly and helpful and gave us some good advice. We wish that we had time to try out the pool, which looked really nice but our days were pretty packed....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank EsmeAbroad
San Francisco, California
Reviewed 11 March 2016

I stayed here for 2 nights. The room is very clean and spacious. The owners were friendly and they even provided discount voucher. The location is great. There’s a supermarket cross the street. The most important thing to me is Free & “Unlimited” WIFI. When booking the hotel, I always make sure the hotel provides free wifi. In New Zealand,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank B_Kuma
Reading, United Kingdom
Reviewed 10 March 2016

This was the second motel we stayed in on our 10 day trip around New Zealand. The motel was in need of refreshing. The decor and plumbing was old fashioned and institutional. The bed was really soft. The location however was good but restaurants shut early in the evening.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Katesgrove
West Yorkshire
Reviewed 6 March 2016

We stayed here two nights during our holiday in New Zealand. Our room was clean and spacious. The motel is handily placed for all the attractions in Rotorua. The owners were very helpful and offered discount vouchers to various attractions.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank brownsWestYorkshire

55 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (20)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (9)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (35)
Viewed
Room/Suite (16)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
View from Room (7)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rotorua hotels
0.1 km away
Six on Union
Six on Union
#50 of 93 in Rotorua
117 reviews
1.1 km away
Aura Accommodation
Aura Accommodation
#11 of 93 in Rotorua
109 reviews
1.3 km away
Rotorua Coachman Spa Motel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
Jet Park Hotel Rotorua
Jet Park Hotel Rotorua
#33 of 93 in Rotorua
295 reviews
0.4 km away
Golden Glow Motel
Golden Glow Motel
#37 of 93 in Rotorua
126 reviews
0.3 km away
RotoVegas Motel of Rotorua
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Things to do
  • Pool
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Refrigerator in room
  • Microwave
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
20 self contained Units, 12x Studio Units, 4x One Bedroom Apts, 2x Two Bedroom Apts, 2x Two Bedroom Bungalows.All units are fully self contained with LCD TV's, Freeview, Sky, Telephone, Wi-Fi. All Units are non smoking, check-in from 2.00pm, check-out 10.00am.Off street parking, Guest laundry, Car wash, Games Room, Bike Hire. Outdoor heated swimming pool & toddlers pool , Covered Spa & Genuine Mineral pools.Continental and Cooked breakfast available on request delivered to your room. Rotorua International Airport 20 minutes drive, Sightseeing and tour activities arranged at reception, Thermal areas 5 to 20 minutes drive,Racecourse and Golf course 3 minutes drive,Intercity Bus Terminal 3 minutes drive,5 minute walk to City centre and Restaurants.Countdown Supermarket & Mall directly opposite the Motel. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Union Victoria Motel

Address: 26-28 Victoria Street, Rotorua, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Rotorua District > Rotorua
Price Range: RM330 - RM580 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Union Victoria Motel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Union Victoria Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Union Victoria Hotel
Hotel Style:
#26 Romantic Hotel in Rotorua
#36 Family Hotel in Rotorua
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Union Victoria Motel staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
over a year ago

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Union Victoria Motel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“If stairs an issue for you then ask for ground floor.”
266shereec, 3 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Not going here again to dirty”
Ingevan, 25 Mar 2017 | Read review
“If you can't manage stairs, you'd need to ask for a ground floor room, as there are first floor rooms as well.”
, 19 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Upper level room if you don't have too much luggage to carry up the narrow stairs and hope the décor is updated.”
G7399CDbrianc, 19 Sep 2016 | Read review
“L1 is accessed via stairs, if you need easy acess choose ground floor.”
HouseofJode, 2 Mar 2015 | Read review
5 of 5