We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Hamurana Lodge

Show Prices
#12 of 93 Hotels in Rotorua
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Professional photos
Hamurana Lodge
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

379 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Hamurana Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Showing 355: English reviews
Tours, France
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2013

What a house! From afar, it looks like an old English cottage...and well, the Rolls Royce waiting for you just by the etrance door won't make you feel any differently. Very warm staff, always there to help without being too intrusive. The room was just a dream : very, very large, with full equipment (coffee machine, bathtub AND shower, hifi... More 

Helpful?
Thank Delroc
fred n, General Manager at Hamurana Lodge, responded to this review

Hello and many thanks for your lovely review. A real pleasure to know that your stop in Rotorua while visiting NZ was filled with pampering and indulgence at the lodge and that you enjoyed the entire facilities and room amenities - especially the Nespresso coffee machine for that early morning wake up. Looking forward to your return. Warmest regards More 

Silver Spring, MD
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviewed 29 July 2013

My entire family of four loved the Hamurana Lodge. It was a great change from hotels and the long hours of flying to New Zealand from the US. Patrick and the entire staff couldn't have been more gracious or welcoming. Breakfast was exceptional - on par with the Sofitel in Auckland. The lodge was charming and serene. Patrick helped us... More 

Helpful?
Thank mdmom4
fred n, General Manager at Hamurana Lodge, responded to this review

Kia Ora, Hello - Great to hear from you and the family. It was a real pleasure for all of us to host you at Hamurana Lodge Boutique Hotel for your extended stay. Delighted to know we have been equally compared to a large luxury brand - a real pride especially as being one of our favourite hotels in Auckland... More 

Sydney, Australia
1 review
Reviewed 23 July 2013

We spent two nights at the Lodge and thoroughly enjoyed it. The room was comfortable and well-appointed and the service was attentive without being obtrusive. Our hosts were very accommodating and made us feel welcome. A comment in another review resonated with me, "Nothing was too much bother for the outstanding staff". This is true and in my opinion the... More 

Helpful?
Thank bronwen_kerr
fred n, Owner at Hamurana Lodge, responded to this review

Kia Ora Bronwen, thanks for your lovely feedback - the team is delighted to know their genuine care and hospitality as works once again - come back again soon Warmest regards More 

Kurri Kurri, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 July 2013

What a breath of fresh air and so what we needed...to be pampered with exceptional service, spectacular surroundings, ease of access and a definite need to return sometime soon. It was lovely to come home to visit NZ (expat) and stay somewhere so warming. Drinks were offered on arrival, food offered on our return from sightseeing daily and breakfast was... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Jacqui M
fred n, Owner at Hamurana Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you immensely Jacqui for wonderful feedback. Wonderful having you back home. Come again to enjoy soon, Warmest regards from all of us More 

Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2013

Upon arrival we were personally welcomed by Fred (he waited in the cold for us), and he made us feel right at home. The lodge is situated just outside Rotorua in a fantastic setting. We received service that was 'out of this world'. Fred and Patrick were excellent hosts and went above and beyond to make our stay one of... More 

Helpful?
Thank EricSleegers
fred n, Owner at Hamurana Lodge, responded to this review

Kia ora Shoko and Eric, what a pleasure meeting you and hosting you for a weekend away. A real pleasure and look forward to your return soon - We will be there in the cold next time :) Warmest regards More 

Level Contributor
38 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2013 via mobile

Our stay was just perfect. The standard of accommodation is 5 star. Without any doubt the service is perfection and aimed at making each guest feel pampered and special. In this case the word "guest" is an understatement because we were made to feel like we belonged.

Helpful?
Thank RvO58
fred n, Owner at Hamurana Lodge, responded to this review

Truly thankful of your lovely feedback. The essence of our offering is very much summarized in your two words of ''guests that belong'' . It was a pleasure having you at Hamurana Lodge Boutique Hotel while in Rotorua and we look forward to your return. Warmest Winter Regards More 

Beechworth, Australia
Level Contributor
82 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2013 via mobile

This absolutely delightful boutique hotel was just what we needed for our weekend mini break! We felt like the lord and lady of the manor from the moment we arrived. Our room was wonderfully comfortable with views over Lake Rotorua. Quality toiletries in the bathroom and bath robes in the cupboard ensured we could start and finish the day in... More 

Helpful?
Thank Shelagh M
fred n, General Manager at Hamurana Lodge, responded to this review

Kia Ora and our warmest sincere thanks for a lovely review. It was a pleasure for Patrick and Laura to host you on your mini break and trust we will have the chance of you returning soon and sharing Hamurana Lodge with many others . Warmest regards More 

Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
Reviewed 26 June 2013

Upon arrival we were greeted by the friendly staff and offered drinks while we settled in. The staff provided wonderful suggestions on where to drink and dine in town, and the best sites to visit and things to do. The grounds we stunning, surrounded by farmland with gorgeous views of the lake while being far enough away to avoid the... More 

Helpful?
Thank Amber G
fred n, Owner at Hamurana Lodge, responded to this review

KiaOra Amber, lovely to read your review - pleasure having you on a relaxing time away while visiting central North Island. Come back on a longer escape soon. Warmest regards to both. More 

Katikati, New Zealand
Level Contributor
138 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2013

We only had one night at Hamurana Lodge but it was a very pleasant place to stay. We were welcomed by Fred who made us feel very welcome. He had great local knowledge and was very chatty and friendly, he pointed us in the direction of eat street and told us all about the local eateries and we went into... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank 610Margaretd
fred n, General Manager at Hamurana Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you Margaret, a pleasure hosting you and delighted to be part of a great fishing positive fishing day - come back and visit soon , Warmest regards More 

Houston, Texas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 June 2013

What a wonderfully romantic and relaxing venue! Our room was magnificent and the hospitality was above and beyond. We were greeted instantly upon arrival and the staff were always eager to make our stay a memorable one. I wish we would have had more time.... Treat yourself with this one....

Helpful?
Thank William S
fred n, General Manager at Hamurana Lodge, responded to this review

Kia Ora William, Cheers for your review shared with the team. Glad you enjoyed the hospitality and the wonderful cosy facilities we provide and we hope you will visit us again this year..why not? :) See you soon Warmest regards More 

145 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (118)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (33)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (4)
Viewed
View from Room (9)
Viewed
Room/Suite (13)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Dining (11)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
1:56
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (43)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (27)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (4)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (9)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rotorua hotels
12.7 km away
Silver Fern Rotorua - Accommodation and Spa
11.0 km away
Quest Rotorua Central
Quest Rotorua Central
#1 of 93 in Rotorua
589 reviews
20.8 km away
Solitaire Lodge
Solitaire Lodge
#25 of 93 in Rotorua
116 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.9 km away
Treetops Lodge
Treetops Lodge
#42 of 93 in Rotorua
161 reviews
10.3 km away
Novotel Rotorua Lakeside
7.3 km away
Peppers on the Point - Lake Rotorua
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Room Service
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Breakfast
  • Free Parking
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Tennis Court
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Room Service
  • Free Breakfast
  • Free Parking
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
If you are looking for luxury hotel accommodation Hamurana Lodge in Rotorua, New Zealand (NZ) offers executive suites along with a variety of special hotel packages for your holiday / vacation. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Hamurana Lodge

Address: 415 Hamurana Road | RD7, Rotorua 3097, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Rotorua District > Rotorua
Price Range: RM1,160 - RM2,014 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hamurana Lodge 4.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Odigeo and HotelTravel.com so you can book your Hamurana Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Rotorua
#10 Luxury Hotel in Rotorua
#12 Family Hotel in Rotorua
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Hamurana Lodge staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question
New Zealand
over a year ago

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from Hamurana Lodge staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“All Rooms are lovely”
 of 5 bubbles LeonardoS1987, 30 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Any room. Beautiful!”
 of 5 bubbles andymas0n1, 27 Aug 2016 | Read review
“have a look for the suites”
 of 5 bubbles haryroelen, 26 Apr 2016 | Read review
“The upstairs suite with balcony and views was fantastic... and the Gourmet Platter is seriously amazing. Enough to feed 4-6 people!!”
 of 5 bubbles BLQNDI, 4 Apr 2016 | Read review
“Room at the front with the lake view”
 of 5 bubbles AnneB524, 16 Jan 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay