We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Prince Motor Lodge

Show Prices
#20 of 71 Hotels in Taupo
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Prince Motor Lodge
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

171 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Prince Motor Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Showing 166: English reviews
Reviewed 18 November 2016

This was a last minute decision and we were so lucky to get the last room. Ron (the owner) and his Daughter Rachel were so pleasant, helpful and friendly.Thank you both. Any problems and they were there straight away to sort them out, no hassle. The room was spacious, clean and comfortable. An ideal location for the centre, lake and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Pat O
RonPH1, Owner at Prince Motor Lodge, responded to this review

Hi Pat O Good to hear from you, and thank you for letting us know what we did helped your stay work well for you. It is great to know we are doing the right things well for our guests - very encouraging feedback. As you say we are in a great location with large clean and comfortable rooms. Hopefully...

Auckland, New Zealand
Reviewed 16 November 2016

This is the 3rd time I have stayed in this motel. There was a group of 31 of us and we all enjoyed our stay. It is within walking distance to the town and not far from the RSA or Cossie Club. The new owners had only been there for about a month and they have started doing up the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank onetreept
RonPH1, Owner at Prince Motor Lodge, responded to this review

Hi onetreept Being new here yours was our first large group at PRINCE - and what a fantastic group of people you all were! Happy, cheerful and some great singers and musso's too. Thank you for letting us know we did a good job looking after you all, and that you found the rooms to be quiet with comfortable beds....

Wellington, New Zealand
Reviewed 9 November 2016

While this is an old style Motel it is in good condition and handy to town and a Thai restaurant in the same building. The rooms are quite large and there is a basic kitchen and a small TV. The rooms facing the road do not suffer from too much road noise but the view is limited to the Ford...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Rodney B
RonPH1, Owner at Prince Motor Lodge, responded to this review

As the new owners and we thank you kindly for taking the time to write a review, and for noting our great location which is just a 100 metres or so from the central restaurants, and down to the Lake. Glad you also noted our rooms are large, in good condition, and that even though close to the town centre...

Liverpool, England, United Kingdom
Reviewed 8 November 2016

STE & JOSIE from Liverpool. Came over to visit family in n z. So we came to taupo to see the sights .oh wot a place the lake the town loverly. We stayed in a place called prince motor lodge for 2. Days disappointed. NOT. The staff are so helpful. The rooms are brill. Big and really dead tidy Fare...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Stephen B
RonPH1, Owner at Prince Motor Lodge, responded to this review

Hi Guys - We so enjoyed meeting you all. You have a fabulous sense of humour, were on holiday and it was all about getting out and about and enjoying yourselves. We are so glad we were able to introduce you to Wai-O-Tapu on your way back down to us, as that really is a very beautiful valley. We are...

Brisbane Region, Australia
Reviewed 4 November 2016

Stayed for two nights here, the unit is quite basic. One bedroom, massive bathroom (which I really don't think it needs to be that big), very small kitchenette which was unclean and had rubbish on the top of the shelves and a lot of dust so you can tell it hasn't been cleaned for a while, decent size lounge/dining room...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Shaneen18
RonPH1, Owner at Prince Motor Lodge, responded to this review

Hi Shaneen We are very sorry to learn that you stay with us was not all you (or we) were wanting it to be - particularly the standard of cleanliness. We just wish you had mentioned what you found while you were here. As the new owners we can confirm that has been well and truly addressed, with new systems...

Auckland Region, New Zealand
Reviewed 2 November 2016

We stayed three nights in one bedroom studio unit, very clean and tidy. This was a access unit with a wet floor shower ideal for my wife to walk in and shower. This was a excellent unit for us. The manager was very helpful she showed us around the units before we booked our room. It was very nice quite...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank pmjennings2016
RonPH1, Owner at Prince Motor Lodge, responded to this review

Hi pmjennings2016 Great to hear from you, and thank you for kindly letting us know that your stay was all we were wanting it to be for the two of you. Yes, our location is excellent, and we are delighted to know that our Mobility Unit worked so well for your wife Maureen. Hopefully you will be coming this way...

Reviewed 24 October 2016 via mobile

Enjoyed my stay at the lodge even though it is only for a night. Good amenities. Walking distance to the lake and Pak n save supermarket. Very helpful hotelier. There is a Thai restaurant next door. Some rooms are under renovation but that does disturb us

 Report
Helpful?
Thank r0snani
RonPH1, Owner at Prince Motor Lodge, responded to this review

Hi r0snani Thank you for kindly taking the time to write a review for us. Much appreciated, as are your kind words. Yes, the renovations are progressing well, and we are confidant that another stay will prove to be even more comfortable. Hopefully we will see you again soon. With warm regards, Mairi & Ron

Reviewed 23 October 2016 via mobile

Friendly and helpful service. Very clean and comfortable. Great value. Spacious rooms and complete with everything you need. Great central location. Close to supermarkets cafes town parks and the lake. Plenty of rooms and in house room service and restaurant.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Haydn S
RonPH1, Owner at Prince Motor Lodge, responded to this review

Hi Haydn S What a great review, thank for taking the time to write that for us. We really do appreciate mentioning that our new cleaning programme is working for our guests - and yes the location is fantastic. No need to worry about finding parking in town, as it is just a short walk away - as is the...

Reviewed 11 October 2016 via mobile

Tidy, clean, rooms, but decor a bit tired. Beds comfortable and heat pump, to keep you warm. Close to everything in town but not noisy. Shopping and restaurants all within walking distance. Staff friendly and helpful. Only too willing to help make you stay a happy one. Very reasonable rates.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Magnanimousmarinn
RonPH1, Owner at Prince Motor Lodge, responded to this review

Hello to the Girls How lovely to hear from you, and thank you for letting us know that we looked after you and made you all comfortable. The e xterior painting is all done, and we are now working on the decor. Hopefully you will be coming back to check-out the changes. With best regards, Mairi & Ron

Wairarapa, New Zealand
Reviewed 11 October 2016

Very welcoming motel. Had everything we needed. We stayed in a 1 bedroom unit which was spacious, clean and everything we needed. Great value for money and very close to town. We would like to wish the new owners all the best for the future. They were interested in their guests and made a point to talk with us, which...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank NZ-traveller61
RonPH1, Owner at Prince Motor Lodge, responded to this review

Hi NZ-traveller61 We really appreciate you taking the time to write a review of your stay with us - and for your best wishes. We are coming in to week 4 and now have a plan in place to ensure that everything is a little better by the end of November. The list of changes is quite long, but the...

15 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (8)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Other (2)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (7)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (5)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Taupo hotels
0.5 km away
Chantilly's Lake Taupo
Chantilly's Lake Taupo
#18 of 71 in Taupo
157 reviews
2.7 km away
Accent on Taupo Motor Lodge
0.8 km away
Ashbrook Motel
Ashbrook Motel
#33 of 71 in Taupo
66 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 km away
The Lake
The Lake
#29 of 71 in Taupo
109 reviews
0.5 km away
Beechtree Motel
Beechtree Motel
#6 of 71 in Taupo
614 reviews
2.5 km away
Comfort Inn Cascades
Comfort Inn Cascades
#12 of 71 in Taupo
368 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Room Service
  • Airport Transportation
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Conference Facilities
  • Babysitting
  • Breakfast Available
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Situated alongside the heart of Taupo township with an on-site Restaurant, Conference Room, and two (only 2) pet friendly rooms, PRINCE motor lodge offers 32 fully appointed units only a two minute stroll to both the town centre shops and restaurants, and the shores of Lake Taupo. PRINCE has 32 generous ground floor units including Spa Bath Suites, all being serviced daily. Provides Free, Unlimited, Fibre based WiFi, new 42" Netflix enabled TV's with 10xSKYand a choice of King, Queen, and Single sized beds. This all helps to create the ideal location for your next holiday, corporate stop over or conference. We provide a choice of Studio's or 1 Bedroom Suites... or why not enjoy a 1 Bedroom King with a Spa Bath and a separate shower? Owner Operators, Ron and Mairi Hunter look forward to welcoming you to PRINCE, "We look to provide all our guests with clean, comfortable and affordable accommodation in a great location" from where you can enjoy the wonders of the Central North Island, the stunning Geo-thermal valleys, and "Great Lake Taupo" itself. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Prince Motor Lodge

Address: Cnr Titiraupenga & Roberts Streets | 100 Roberts Street Taupo, Taupo 3330, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Taupo District > Taupo
Price Range: RM420 - RM566 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Prince Motor Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda and Travelocity so you can book your Prince Motor Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Taupo
#13 Family Hotel in Taupo
#22 Romantic Hotel in Taupo
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Prince Motor Lodge staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Room had two queen size beds, large bathroom with dining and lounge seating - great stuff!”
 of 5 bubbles T6747XMmarieb, 21 Mar 2017 | Read review
“all rooms at ground level with parking directly outside”
 of 5 bubbles D9535AHfrankm, 11 Mar 2017 | Read review
“All rooms are ground floor, a real plus,”
 of 5 bubbles 87lyni, 24 Feb 2017 | Read review
“All rooms look pretty good”
 of 5 bubbles TonyMar45, 15 Jan 2017 | Read review
“All rooms on ground floor,definitely try the Thai Restaurant...authentic Thai food”
 of 5 bubbles markkaren2016, 13 Jan 2017 | Read review
5 of 5