We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Chelmswood Motel

Show Prices
#32 of 71 Hotels in Taupo
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Professional photos
Chelmswood Motel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

241 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Chelmswood Motel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 233: English reviews
New Zealand
Level Contributor
33 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 December 2015

When we arrived we were shown to our room, they explained how the hot tub worked. The room was clean, beds were comfy and the hot tub was very hot, but was heaven. When we were leaving a free bottle of water was given. Just a nice touch on our trip home.

Helpful?
Thank ScottNewZealand
Chelmswood M, Owner at Chelmswood Motel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time at this busy time of the year to write us a review. It is really appreciated and all the staff are always thankful when their efforts are praised. Have a great New Year and travel safely. More 

Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 December 2015

Had a great weekend stay at Chelmswood, the room was clean, comfortable and good for the price. The thermal swimming pool was great and the free dropoff in town was really helpful. Nice touch of giving us some bottled water for the trip home. Thanks for a great stay.

Helpful?
Thank Alfanut
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 29 November 2015

I booked this property through Wot.if. After making the booking I contacted the property to make them aware I was arriving after 9pm. The receptionist was lovely, and said normally they would charge a penalty to keep the reception open but as long as I arrived before 10pm this would be ok. (This was not mentioned on Wot.if, that if... More 

Helpful?
Thank JoanieV1969
Chelmswood M, Owner at Chelmswood Motel, responded to this review

Hi Joaniev1967 We again apologise for your experience. an omission on the Wotif booking system let us all down. The economy $89 room type you selected has always had a check in requirement of BEFORE 9.00PM. Simply for the comfort and peace of other guests in that wing. All other room types allow late check in as they have separate... More 

Feilding, New Zealand
Level Contributor
45 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 November 2015

A large group of us meet here and it was the perfect place for a large get together with a fabulous communal kitchen and BBQ area, very well set up for large groups. Very clean and well kept grounds with a great heated pool. The owners were very friendly and helpful thru out our stay

Helpful?
Thank Whowes
Chelmswood M, Owner at Chelmswood Motel, responded to this review

Hi Whowes it was great to have your group stay with us recently and we are very pleased that the facilities delivered to all expectations. We look forward to next years reunion. More 

Nelson Bay, Australia
Level Contributor
154 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 November 2015

This is the first motel that I have stayed in (and I have stayed in motels all over the World) where the most helpful receptionist personally showed us to our room and then explained each of the rooms facilities. An excellent motel just across the road from Lake Taupo. First Class facilities Quiet location Five minutes drive to the Taupo... More 

Helpful?
Thank GRAHAM P
Chelmswood M, Owner at Chelmswood Motel, responded to this review

Graham it was great to have you stay with us on your way through Taupo. as a regular traveller we firstly thank you for taking the time to write reviews and for your kind words. We really appreciate feedback to help us stay on top of our game and to also acknowledge the staff efforts. Thanks More 

Sunny Coast
Level Contributor
34 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 November 2015

Quality rooms, excellent service, helpful advice on where to go,where to eat.Very comfortable well appointed rooms with great bed and even good variety of pillows. Wonderful views of the Lake and very reasonable tariff. Indoor hot spa was just divine! Breakfast is huge and will certainly keep you going until mid afternoon. Can't recommend it highly enough

Helpful?
Thank Ranald606
Chelmswood M, Owner at Chelmswood Motel, responded to this review

Hi Ranald Thank you for your great endorsement it is really appreciated. i'm sure others will find your review very helpful as well. More 

Martinborough, New Zealand
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 November 2015 via mobile

We were wanting to stay here, but the man behind the counter was so rude that we left, My husband was dealing with him and I was on my cell phone, looking at the rooms, he took exception to this ( I can only assume he thought we were looking at the booking.com ) which did feature a cheaper deal,... More 

Helpful?
3 Thank Outandaboutmum
Chelmswood M, Manager at Chelmswood Motel, responded to this review

Regrettably i was rude and i did apologise to this woman's husband who was very pleasant and wanted to stay but his wife was offensive and rude. I asked her to leave, i don't think she has ever had this happen before but we do not have to tolerate bad manners. More 

Tauranga, New Zealand
Level Contributor
154 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 November 2015

we were tired so just stopped outside this motel-great decision; very friendly & helpful receptionist, lovely clean unit, everything that we wanted, quiet, lovely spot to walk from along the lakeside, close to town. would recommend.

Helpful?
Thank 60stravellers2014
Chelmswood M, Owner at Chelmswood Motel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to post a review as a seasoned traveller your great comments are really appreciated. We look forward to hosting you again when next in taupo. More 

Napier, New Zealand
Level Contributor
22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 October 2015

Firstly I have no complaint about the accommodation or location. We have stayed twice at this property and would have continued to go back. Unfortunately on our last visit in August 2015 our vehicle was sideswiped by another vehicle in the motel carpark.. The owners advised us they had cameras and would review the tapes. I will not bore you... More 

Helpful?
Thank SazGem
Chelmswood M, Owner at Chelmswood Motel, responded to this review

Dear Saz Really disappointed with your comments as we sent camera footage on three occasion to your email address each time bounced back. I spoke to you about that and changed the format and sent it twice more. We offered to allow your insurers access to the footage and we identified the vehicle as a very late model Holden sedan.... More 

Wellington
Level Contributor
87 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 October 2015

We went to Taupo for a long weekend to enjoy the outdoors and relax. This was our first time at the Chelmswood and it was great. The managers were very friendly and helpful. We had a front unit with a lovely view of the lake across the road, beautiful sunsets, a comfortable Queensize bed, it was quiet and as it... More 

Helpful?
Thank TKNgaio
Chelmswood M, Owner at Chelmswood Motel, responded to this review

Hi TK What a very good review which I'm sure many readers will find extremely helpful in making their travel selection. We of course thank you immensely and look forward to having you join us again when next in Taupo More 

99 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (34)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
View from Room (7)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Other (10)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (65)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Other (54)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Taupo hotels
0.3 km away
Lakeland Resort Taupo
Lakeland Resort Taupo
#33 of 71 in Taupo
194 reviews
1.7 km away
Wellesley on the Lake Taupo
0.5 km away
Accent on Taupo Motor Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 km away
Chantilly's Lake Taupo
Chantilly's Lake Taupo
#19 of 71 in Taupo
142 reviews
2.3 km away
Bella Vista Motel
Bella Vista Motel
#28 of 71 in Taupo
124 reviews
0.3 km away
Comfort Inn Cascades
Comfort Inn Cascades
#8 of 71 in Taupo
352 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
  • Smoking rooms available
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Airport Transportation
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Concierge
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Welcome to Asure Chelmswood Motel Taupo Overlooking Lake Taupo New Zealand. Chelmswood Motel Taupo is a Tudor style complex consisting of 36 units (24) with their very own natural thermal mineral pools. Located at the southern entrance to Taupo with beautiful views of Lake Taupo. One of only 10 properties with SKY Guest Select (60 Plus TV Channels). Easy to find, conveniently located on Lake Terrace (old SH 1) which passes through Taupo on the way to either Auckland or Wellington. Just a few minutes from town, with off street parking for cars, boats, trailers, trucks and more. The complex sits on a very peaceful two acres of grass land with stunning views of Lake Taupo. Asure Chelmswood Motel Taupo is the perfect choice for the whole family, the couple wanting a romantic peaceful break, the over-nighter looking for a great nights sleep to break their journey, or the club who want all the facilities on one site. (Function room and large kitchen). Secure off road parking for your trail bike trailers, race rigs, boats etc. While staying have a fun filled break and use the heated outdoor swimming pool, redwood sauna, grassed BBQ area or one of our bikes to ride around the lakes cycle-ways, or just sit along the front of the complex and soak up the magnificent views of Lake Taupo. Keep in touch by utilising our high speed internet access including free wireless, and catch up on the washing in our Free Guest laundry. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Chelmswood Motel

Address: 250 Lake Terrace, State Hwy 1 | Waipahihi, Taupo 3330, New Zealand (Formerly Chelmswood Manor)
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Taupo District > Taupo
Price Range: RM344 - RM768 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Chelmswood Motel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 36
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Chelmswood Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chelmswood Manor Hotel Taupo
Hotel Style:
#19 Family Hotel in Taupo
#21 Romantic Hotel in Taupo
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Chelmswood Motel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Lake facing rooms have wonderful lake view.”
 of 5 bubbles LMB27958, 31 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Rooms at the back are really quiet while the ones at the front have a better view.”
 of 5 bubbles gregsnell3110, 18 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Ask for View of Lake”
 of 5 bubbles Crissybuka, 10 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Lakeview Rooms”
 of 5 bubbles KomalA_12, 23 Aug 2016 | Read review
“The rooms with the mineral pool are worth the extra cost, larger rooms with better view, and of course the mineral pool which is amazing.”
 of 5 bubbles 389MiriamC, 25 Jun 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay