We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Base Taupo

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Best prices for:1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Professional photos
Base Taupo
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

194 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 172: English reviews
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Hated this hostel. I've never stayed in a room so small, and this was easily the worst hostel in New Zealand so far. It's so claustrophobic, the music is blaring at all hours and the kitchen is disgusting. AVOID

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Tom W
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Decent hostel, rooms are clean and rooms are large. Centrally located with plenty of shops close by, and only. 10min walk to a Pak and save. Only issue we had was the kitchen was rather dirty. Would stay again but would probably eat out

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Timothy W
Auckland, New Zealand
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I am happy with how friendly the staff are. They helped me a lot, not only in arranging trips, but also in giving suggestions. The location is also very nice, close to everything I needed. The only problem was, I was in a bad luck, sharing room with guys who must have had a wild time at the bar next...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MarpaungXVII
Braunschweig, Germany
Reviewed 22 October 2016 via mobile

The Hostel is alright for a few days. I felt like it was very noisy at night. There is a bar and a club right next to it, which doesnt help. The staff was just okay. Other then that it was a good experience.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lionheart92
Wellington, New Zealand
Reviewed 22 October 2016 via mobile

The live music across the road drowns out the sound of the bar downstairs, and stops the rowdy drunks in the street from noticing their car alarms. No refund for checking out 2 days early. A cramped, hi turnover backpackers. Perhaps ok if you prefer parties over sleeping!

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank NZ_James
Brooklyn, New York
Reviewed 8 October 2016

The property was nice enough in a great location. The dorm room I got was so small for 6 people that I had to sleep with my backpack on my bed as there wasn't enough space for it on the floor. There were only 2 outlets in the entire room which made it impossible for everyone to use. I can...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank KKwebster4
BaseTaupoManagement, General Manager at Base Taupo, responded to this review

Hi there, Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are very happy to hear you enjoyed the facilities of the hostel and location. However, we are not so happy to read that you were disturbed by noise. Although we are on a lively street we do keep our own bar to controlled noise levels by using...

Reviewed 20 September 2016

We had a short stay at Base Taupo but thoroughly enjoyed our time. The rooms are modern and the hostel is ideally located in the best part of town near restaurants, bars and the lake. The staff were pleasant and all facilities were well maintained and clean. Would definitely stay here again - Thanks for the hospitality.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ben O
BaseTaupoManagement, General Manager at Base Taupo, responded to this review

Hi there, Thanks so much for taking the time to leave such a lovely review. We are thrilled you enjoyed your stay and hope to welcome you back in the near future! Happy Travels - Base Taupo Crew

Sawbridgeworth, United Kingdom
Reviewed 14 September 2016

The location of this hostel is absolutely perfect, right by the lake, right by the restaurants and bars, and a few blocks over from some shopping. The hostel was clean and the facilities were basic, which was to be expected from a base hostel in New Zealand, so this didn't bother me. The staff were friendly and helped me with...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lois J
BaseTaupoManagement, General Manager at Base Taupo, responded to this review

Hi there, Thanks for taking the time to leave a review. We are thrilled you enjoyed your stay with us and that you found our staff to be friendly and knowledgeable! We sincerely hope you enjoy the rest of your travels around NZ and look forward to welcoming you back in the near future! Base Taupo Crew

Reviewed 10 September 2016 via mobile

Perfect location, the staff are incredibly friendly and welcoming and helped with everyone we needed with our trip. All information you need is displayed very clearly - good events down at the bar! Extremely happy with our stay and would come back in a heartbeat! Thanks to all the staff at Base, keep up the good work!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lauren G
BaseTaupoManagement, General Manager at Base Taupo, responded to this review

Hi there, Thanks so much for such a fabulous review! We are thrilled that you enjoyed your stay and we totally agree that we have fantastic staff who are always happy to help! We look forward to welcoming you back to Base Taupo next trip and wish you very happy travels for the rest of your stay in beautiful NZ!...

Cornwall, United Kingdom
Reviewed 7 September 2016 via mobile

This hostel is beautifully located by the lake, with great facilities helping us plan our short stay in Taupo! The staff really made our stay more special and we could not recommend this enough. Thankyou again everyone at Base Taupo!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank sarah_dennis123
BaseTaupoManagement, General Manager at Base Taupo, responded to this review

Hi there, A huge thank you from all the team at Base Taupo for leaving a fantastic review. We are so lucky to live in such a beautiful part of NZ and are thrilled you found Base the best place to stay to explore Taupo. We wish you a safe and happy travels for the rest of your trip and...

9 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (8)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Other (6)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Taupo hotels
0.6 km away
Suncourt Hotel & Conference Centre
0.1 km away
Finns Global Backpackers
0.3 km away
Taupo Urban Retreat
Taupo Urban Retreat
#15 of 34 in Taupo
170 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
Tiki Lodge
Tiki Lodge
#7 of 34 in Taupo
172 reviews
0.7 km away
Finlay Jack's Backpackers
1.4 km away
Berkenhoff Lodge
Berkenhoff Lodge
#17 of 34 in Taupo
68 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
Services
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Base Taupo is a modern and convenient (built in 2008) backpackers with a range of accommodation options from dorms to private ensuite rooms to suit every budget. Come party with us at the Element Bar, Taupo's leading party and late night venue. Base Taupo is situated centrally in the heart of the main restaurant and bar area on Tuwharetoa St. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Base Taupo

Address: 7 Tuwharetoa Street, Taupo 3330, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Taupo District > Taupo
Price Range: RM200 - RM307 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Base Taupo 2*
Number of rooms: 44
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HotelTravel.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Base Taupo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Base Taupo staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“4 Bed with ensuite is good- bathrooms are good.”
 of 5 bubbles CharlyBrisc, 16 Apr 2016 | Read review
“Private rooms have great bathrooms!”
 of 5 bubbles StephJ_Sydney, 3 Mar 2016 | Read review
“Level 3 or 4 give a little better sound quality”
 of 5 bubbles LaurieR96, 3 Dec 2015 | Read review
“Requesting a quiet room got me an incredibly noisy room (maybe they ignore requests?)”
 of 5 bubbles Atheoretical, 3 Nov 2015 | Read review
“1st floor - party floor, as the music is either on in the hostel or you can hear the bar.”
 of 5 bubbles FrancescaDickinson, 29 Aug 2015 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay