We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
09/07/2017 10/07/2017
    There are no pins in your viewport. Try moving the map or changing your filters.
    • {providername} {price}
    {providername} {price}
      {listitems}
    {sold_out_text}
    We can't find prices for this accommodation
    From {rate_price} {rate_periodicity}

    Family Motel

    50 Tonga Street | PO Box 795, Taupo, New Zealand
    Save
    Best prices for your stay
    09/07/2017 10/07/2017
    1 room
    • 1 room
      2 adults
      • 2 adults
        0 children
        • 0 children
          Traveller (6)
          Room & Suite (6)
          Dining (1)
          Overview
          • Excellent17%
          • Very good45%
          • Average10%
          • Poor14%
          • Terrible14%
          1 Feb 2016
          “Friendly Staff and Great Value! ”
          8 Jan 2016
          “Cheap but not so Cheerful”
          Free Parking
          Suites
          All hotel details
          {"containerClass":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null}
          Write a Review
          Reviews (28)
          Traveller rating
          Traveller type
          Time of year
          Language
          There are newer reviews for Family Motel See the most recent reviews

          21 - 25 of 28 reviews

          Reviewed 5 November 2010

          My partner and I stayed at this Budget Motel after a long drive from the North, we were very tired and just wanted a clean comfortable place to sleep on a tight budget. On arrival the owner greeted us very friendly even after we arrived...More

          Thank BoysOnly
          Reviewed 8 October 2010

          Arrived by myself, owner seemed ok at first, before become rude and impatient. Room had gaps in the doors and was cold. Still old food under the beds, obviously not vacuumed, and it wouldnt suprise me if the sheets had not been changed due to...More

          1  Thank emwilson1
          Response from Zipper1952, Owner at Family MotelResponded 23 November 2010

          The customer has a whole raft of complains. We are sorry that she was not happy with the motel. Our price are the amongts the lowest in town. Taupo is an expensive town, a bit like Queenstown. Motels in e.g. Rotorua are a lot cheaper....More

          Reviewed 3 May 2010

          I arrived at the Camellia Court Motel in the evening after having found its advertisement in a travel guide, although from memory the address was wrong and the name was different in the advertisement, but it was still the only motel I found on Tonga...More

          1  Thank robol
          Response from Zipper1952, Owner at Family MotelResponded 23 November 2010

          We are sorry that we had a run in with her. I am sorry that I didn't see the humor in her imaginary friend. We remember what happened after that. We felt hurt because we were made fun of, and should have swallowed our pride,...More

          Reviewed 23 March 2010

          Also known as Camelia Court Motel. The room was booked months in advance only to get a call the night before we were due to arrive to be told that we would have to shift rooms during our stay. This was disappointing given that the...More

          1  Thank bennyandchelle
          Response from Zipper1952, Owner at Family MotelResponded 23 November 2010

          I am so sorry we had a misunderstanding. We didn't mean to to be rude. I know I have a very broad accent, and that at times comes across as being rude. We started on the wrong footing and it is all my fault, I...More

          Reviewed 16 January 2010

          Our family have stayed at this Motel a few times now, the rooms are lovely and clean. The children always enjoy the beautiful playground with an added bbq area. The thing that impress us the most would be the friendly and helpful owners of Camellia...More

          Thank BoysOnly
          About
          Amenities
          • Top amenities
          • Free Parking
          • Hotel Amenities
          • Free Parking
          • Room amenities
          • Refrigerator in room
          Details
          • Number of rooms
          • 34
          • Location
          • New Zealand >
          • North Island >
          • Waikato Region >
          • Taupo District >
          • Taupo
          Add Photo Photos
          Traveller (6)
          Room & Suite (6)
          Dining (1)
          Hotel & Grounds (6)
          Family and Play Areas (1)
          Nearby
          Utopian Motel Taupo
          85 reviews
          .53 km away
           
          Camellia Court Motel
          139 reviews
          .05 km away
           
          Chantilly's Lake Taupo
          163 reviews
          .69 km away
           
          Ashbrook Motel
          71 reviews
          .54 km away
           
          Dunrovin Motel
          39 reviews
          .74 km away
           
          Nearby Restaurants
          Spoon and Paddle
          206 reviews
          .99 km away
          The Brantry
          593 reviews
          .97 km away
          The Storehouse
          127 reviews
          .91 km away
          Zest Deli Cafe
          98 reviews
          .85 km away
          Nearby Attractions
          Taupo Museum
          170 reviews
          1.45 km away
          Taupo i-SITE Visitor Information Centre
          113 reviews
          1.33 km away
          Taupo Market
          23 reviews
          1.27 km away
          Tongariro Expeditions
          203 reviews
          1.33 km away
          Questions & Answers
          Get quick answers from Family Motel staff and past guests.
          Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
          Posting guidelines
          Submit
          Room Tips
          "good value for money"
          Read review
          "motel rooms are clean and comfortable, recommended"
          Read review
          "Pick the back ones, away from the street!"
          Read review
          Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
          Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing