We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Utopian Motel Taupo

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Professional photos
Utopian Motel Taupo
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

76 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 67: English reviews
Auckland, Auckland, New Zealand
Reviewed 1 week ago NEWvia mobile

Filthy place, no tea towels to dry dishes, no dishwasher liquid to be seen. Broken and dirty blinds, cobwebs in all the windows. Windows that don't shut....No top sheet in the bed and stains on the duvet (yuck!) I didn't read the reviews till after....believe what they say!! Replies to reviews from owner seen arrogant and they don't care for...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kerry H
Reviewed 1 week ago

Tarpoline on the receptions roof, our room looked nothing like the photos, holes in walls, very tiny, thin walls and was dirty. Wouldn't let my worst enemy stay here, recommend going somewhere else and paying more!!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Madi H
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We emailed two weeks before our stay to say we would arrive at 9pm on the day of our stay they emailed back to say it would cost $60 - by this time it was too late to cancel. The room was reasonably clean but the bathroom was pretty horrific - hole in the door dirty toilet, floor and shower....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank amybA8487RA
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

First thing you will see upon walking into reception is a poster telling you to check yourself for gonorrhea and syphilis , after going into our room we realized why. Do not stay here if you want a clean quiet place to stay. Also had the unnerving feeling of being watched & the room didn't feel safe or secure which...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 743deans
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Worst place ive ever stayed. The room was disgustingly filthy. Broken window which wouldnt lock, curtains were so badly stained i thought they were intentionally tie died and they stunk. Random ensuite bathroom which could be accessed from the room next door but both rooms had a switch above the door so you could unlock it. Generally the room was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank cornishbird1
Auckland, New Zealand
Reviewed 26 November 2016

such a bad accommodation. should have thought of repairing first before allowing customers to come in. not worth the cost of stay for such condition. not clean and smells bad. really, seriously, not supposed to be opened to the public.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank afiqahsuaidah
UtopianMotelTaupo, Manager at Utopian Motel Taupo, responded to this review

Hello Nur Afiqah Noor Zaidi, you have booked for 21st November 2016 and paid $ 63 for two adult , it was Budget Twin with two separate single bedroom. Note - there was one plumbing issue at reception area and your room was on upper floor. This is circumstances and it could be happened in any Hotel/Motel. we remember about...

Hastings, New Zealand
Reviewed 13 November 2016 via mobile

we arrived and the guy at the front was rude and not welcoming at all. He showed us to our room and checked our duvet for stains and took it off the bed, disappears and came back with the same one, no top sheet on the bed, it said on the website that we would have any time acsess to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank rbills321
UtopianMotelTaupo, Manager at Utopian Motel Taupo, responded to this review

hi dear , we have budget motel and cheapest accommodation available in Taupo . it was not stain but it was off stain of detergent , so we have changed blanket and it was same color blanket , its doesn't mean it was same. our bouquet was finished and it was available for VIP customer , but budget customer this...

Palmerston, New Zealand
Reviewed 10 November 2016

Booked online - and when arrived there he said the room we booked was not available and proceeded to show us some more expensive rooms even after we showed him our booking confirmation he started to argue and we left, he is very arrogant

 Report
Helpful?
Thank hawkesb03
UtopianMotelTaupo, Manager at Utopian Motel Taupo, responded to this review

hi we said your booking was incomplete and it was not completely processed by booking.com due to you have not completed booking process at booking.com . you showed us email and it was showing that you need to enter pin for booking confirmation which you did not processed after confirmation. even email which you were showing us, you were trying...

Reviewed 1 November 2016

The hotel is smelly and unclean. we used our own sheets on the bed and didn't even use the shower. Nothing was clean, not the shower, the utensils. Our room was the two bedroom apartment which was next to reception - noise easily came through the walls and at one point the door from reception was opened - dude you...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jasonbQ9599NO
UtopianMotelTaupo, Manager at Utopian Motel Taupo, responded to this review

thanks for feedback , we have budget motel for budget customer

Reviewed 29 October 2016

Me and my father had being driven back to Auckland from wellington when our new car was overheating. We were not sure that we where going to be able to make it for our stay at Utopian Motel Taupo, check-in date 2016-10-23, and check-out date 2016-10-24 as our car was not working so we called the hotel at 6:49pm on...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ben C
UtopianMotelTaupo, Manager at Utopian Motel Taupo, responded to this review

hi we are not responsible for your maintenance , you had used free parking , secondly the stain you were showing it was not dent it was scratch which seems you did in reverse . you should care of your car management is not responsible for any kind of damage .

66 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (17)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (8)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (49)
Viewed
Room/Suite (32)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
View from Room (8)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Taupo hotels
3.0 km away
Lakeland Resort Taupo
Lakeland Resort Taupo
#34 of 71 in Taupo
202 reviews
0.5 km away
Camellia Court Motel
Camellia Court Motel
#59 of 71 in Taupo
129 reviews
0.8 km away
Acacia Lake View Motel
Acacia Lake View Motel
#48 of 71 in Taupo
22 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 km away
Absolute Lake View Motel
0.6 km away
Mountain View Motel
Mountain View Motel
#50 of 71 in Taupo
34 reviews
0.5 km away
Dunrovin Motel
Dunrovin Motel
#47 of 71 in Taupo
35 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Laundry Service

Additional Information about Utopian Motel Taupo

Address: 76 Kaimanawa Street, Taupo 3330, New Zealand (Formerly Astro Accommodation Taupo - Motel & Backpackers)
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Taupo District > Taupo
Price Range: RM166 - RM771 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Utopian Motel Taupo 2*
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Utopian Motel Taupo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Utopian Motel Taupo staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from Utopian Motel Taupo staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“don't stay here a campground would be better”
 of 5 bubbles amybA8487RA, 10 Jan 2017 | Read review
“somewhere else”
 of 5 bubbles chizzy98, 26 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Pay that little bit extra and stay somewhere more hygienic”
 of 5 bubbles 876cassiew, 16 Sep 2016 | Read review
“no noise, excellent view”
 of 5 bubbles dksingh656, 4 Aug 2016 | Read review
“apparently some rooms have air con, if not,have fans been put in rooms, especially during this hot summer.”
 of 5 bubbles WalW, 12 Feb 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay