We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
09/07/2017 10/07/2017
    There are no pins in your viewport. Try moving the map or changing your filters.
    • {providername} {price}
    {providername} {price}
      {listitems}
    {sold_out_text}
    We can't find prices for this accommodation
    From {rate_price} {rate_periodicity}

    Finns Global Backpackers

    8 Tuwharetoa Street, Taupo 3330, New Zealand
    Save
    Best prices for your stay
    09/07/2017 10/07/2017
    1 room
    • 1 room
      2 adults
      • 2 adults
        0 children
        • 0 children
          Lock in the lowest price from our partners
          US$28US$33
          View Deal
          Hilton Lake Taupo
          2,027 reviews
          #7 of 69 hotels in Taupo
           
          Gables Lakefront Motel
          685 reviews
          #1 of 69 hotels in Taupo
           
          Sails On The Lake
          294 reviews
          #5 of 69 hotels in Taupo
           
          The Reef Resort - Heritage Collection
          505 reviews
          #3 of 69 hotels in Taupo
           
          Overview
          • Excellent18%
          • Very good27%
          • Average18%
          • Poor21%
          • Terrible16%
          Travellers talk about
          “laundry” (4 reviews)
          “noise” (7 reviews)
          Paid Wifi
          Free Parking
          Breakfast included
          Pool
          Restaurant
          Room Service
          Suites
          All hotel details
          Hilton Lake Taupo
          2,027 reviews
          #7 of 69 hotels in Taupo
           
          Gables Lakefront Motel
          685 reviews
          #1 of 69 hotels in Taupo
           
          Sails On The Lake
          294 reviews
          #5 of 69 hotels in Taupo
           
          The Reef Resort - Heritage Collection
          505 reviews
          #3 of 69 hotels in Taupo
           
          {"containerClass":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null}
          Write a Review
          Reviews (37)
          Traveller rating
          Traveller type
          Time of year
          Language

          1 - 5 of 33 reviews

          Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

          The hostel room had a weird smell to it and it was super loud in the surrounding area so it was hard to sleep. Beds were comfy though. The bathrooms were pretty grimy and the sink didn't have soap. Kitchen was in good condition, and...More

          Thank Josie H
          Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

          The staff was friendly and the kitchen was well equipped. The beds were comfortable and the room with 7 people had its own bathroom, but it was grimy. There was no soap with the sink. There was only one really dim light in the room...More

          Thank Alexi M
          Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

          Cheap and quality together. Quiet hostel, in the center, with all facilities needed for a short/long stayed. The room are small but clean and tidy, so is the kitchen. The staff was amazing and make this place one of the best. Good mood, helpfull, give...More

          Thank So0ophie
          Reviewed 15 April 2017 via mobile

          From the outside it looks ok and yet as soon as you walk in....filthy walls, filthy floors, filthy everything. I felt like i was about to catch ebola just from staying here its disgusting. The beds looks horrible, bathroom and shower are as old as...More

          Thank WanderLady28
          Reviewed 15 February 2017

          We are local and have been to all sorts of backpackers in NZ when we travelled around the country. I would say this is the worst experience we have had. Think carefully before you book. Here comes the nightmare. First, unlike any other rooms, the...More

          Thank TanoshiiRyoko
          Response from Shane C, Manager at Finns Global BackpackersResponded 24 February 2017

          If we may Tanoshii, is it possible you are confusing us with another hostel whereas the majority of what you have stated in your feedback appears to be inaccurate, misleading and for the most part false and will go through all the points you have...More

          Hilton Lake Taupo
          2,027 reviews
          #7 of 69 hotels in Taupo
           
          Gables Lakefront Motel
          685 reviews
          #1 of 69 hotels in Taupo
           
          Sails On The Lake
          294 reviews
          #5 of 69 hotels in Taupo
           
          The Reef Resort - Heritage Collection
          505 reviews
          #3 of 69 hotels in Taupo
           
          About
          Amenities
          • Top amenities
          • Free Parking
          • Hotel Amenities
          • Free Parking
          Details
          • Price range
          • US$28 - US$45 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
          • Number of rooms
          • 32
          • Reservation Options
          • TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets and Priceline so you can book your Finns Global Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
          • Location
          • New Zealand >
          • North Island >
          • Waikato Region >
          • Taupo District >
          • Taupo
          Nearby
          Sails On The Lake
          294 reviews
          1.60 km away
           
          Gables Lakefront Motel
          685 reviews
          1.51 km away
           
          The Reef Resort - Heritage Collection
          505 reviews
          2.47 km away
           
          Hilton Lake Taupo
          2,027 reviews
          3.22 km away
           
          Nearby Restaurants
          Waterside Restaurant & Bar
          472 reviews
          .11 km away
          The Steak House Taupo
          209 reviews
          .06 km away
          Tomi's Restaurant and Bar
          166 reviews
          .04 km away
          Siam Thai
          112 reviews
          .13 km away
          Nearby Attractions
          Taupo Museum
          169 reviews
          .21 km away
          Taupo i-SITE Visitor Information Centre
          113 reviews
          .16 km away
          Tongariro Expeditions
          203 reviews
          .15 km away
          Taupo Market
          23 reviews
          .53 km away
          Questions & Answers
          Get quick answers from Finns Global Backpackers staff and past guests.
          Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
          Posting guidelines
          Submit
          Room Tips
          "Parking is limited and around the area is 2 hours. get there early and claim a park."
          Read review
          "Rooms on the North side are quieter."
          Read review
          "Request one away from the street if your staying at a weekend"
          Read review
          "If you want a quiet room i suggest you kindly ask staff to place you in that particular room."
          Read review
          Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
          Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing