We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Paeroa Lakeside Homestay

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Management photos
Paeroa Lakeside Homestay
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

15 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 13: English reviews
Start your review of Paeroa Lakeside Homestay
 Click to rate
UK
Reviewed 13 January 2017 via mobile

I have deliberately waited until we finished our holiday on the North Island so I could be sure my comments were accurate after comparing Lakeside to all the other places we stayed. I have rated the accommodation as average as it is so significantly overpriced. We stayed in the Penthouse Suite which from the website appeared to give us the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank tony_harrison2
Orlando, Florida
Reviewed 25 November 2015

My husband and I stayed here for 2 nights in October 2015. I don't even know where to begin... Our stay was incredible. As soon as we arrived, John and Barbara greeted us and invited us for tea and muffins. We had no plans at all, showed up late in the day and we were quite unorganized! Before we knew...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Méryl D
Reviewed 2 April 2011

Definately over priced. A cheaply built summer home. We slept in semi basement.

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Jpr432
Yorkshire
Reviewed 3 February 2011

Our reservation at Paeroa was made via the internet without reading any reviews from TA - the place looked just perfect - exactly what we were looking for. I exchanged emails with Barbara before booking as we were looking for accommodation over Christmas and wanted to make sure that there would be availability. She was more than helpful, offering to...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Twishy
Schweiz
Reviewed 22 January 2011

We spent 3 nights in this wonderful homestay during our honeymoon in New Zealand. We'd planned two nights, but decided on a third right away when we met John and Barbara and saw the lovely views of the lake. Apart from giving us a very friendly welcome, our hosts were just lovely, they gave us recommendations for restaurants, booked tables...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mona10Schweiz
Reviewed 22 December 2010

Stayed one night never again. Arogant woman owner hugely overpriced.

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Steamlion123
lakesideBBTaupo, Owner at Paeroa Lakeside Homestay, responded to this review

Dear SteamLion, we are having some trouble locating your booking as we don't seem to have had a one night booking in March 2010 and don't remember any unhappy customers. In any event, we are deeply sorry that you did not enjoy your stay. We would be happy to discuss any issues you may have had as you haven't really...

Port Alberni, Canada
Reviewed 19 November 2010

My husband & I spent several enjoyable nights there with our friends. The hosts were very friendly and accomodating. We had a lovely spacious and attractive room overlooking the lake. It was clean and had beautiful decor with an ensuite bathroom. Our breakfasts were excellent in their enjoyable company. Would not hesitate to recommend this homestay. Sincerely Elaine & Doug,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank hambone3532
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 10 November 2010

We stayed for three nights in a downstairs ensuite room with own living room and garden overlooking the big lake, and had a wonderful time. Very relaxing, peaceful and stress free. Both the hosts were welcoming and accomodating, and were very helpful in assisting with our rental car which broke down! The room we stayed in was a decent enough...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Edinburghboy73
Kilauea, Hawaii
Reviewed 9 November 2010

Aside from catching three trout on the lake within minutes, and hiking in the mountains, the highlight of our time in Taupo were Captain John & Barbara Bibby. They remain by far the most gracious hosts, best tour guides and chefs of all the homestays on the North Island. I certainly would'nt stay anywhere else in Taupo but here @...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Cjems
usa
Reviewed 8 November 2010

My husband and I stayed here three nights as part of a longer trip across New Zealand, and I'm surprised to see the other reviews--it's like we were in a completely different place! We found the accomodations charming, the views lovely and our hosts delightful. We booked the top floor suite, it came with a jacuzzi tub in the bathroom...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank pippakay

9 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (8)
Viewed
View from Room (4)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Taupo hotels
0.4 km away
The Loft
The Loft
#46 of 71 in Taupo
41 reviews
4.7 km away
Millennium Hotel and Resort Manuels Taupo
0.0 km away
Acacia Bay Lakefront B&B
Acacia Bay Lakefront B&B
#34 of 41 in Taupo
9 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 km away
No photo provided
Acacia Waters
#20 of 34 in Taupo
2 reviews
0.7 km away
Serenity on Wakeman
Serenity on Wakeman
#11 of 41 in Taupo
31 reviews
0.6 km away
The Flying Trout Boutique Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Additional Information about Paeroa Lakeside Homestay

Address: 21 Te Kopua Street | Acacia Bay, Taupo, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Taupo District > Taupo
Price Range: RM871 - RM1,014 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Paeroa Lakeside Homestay 4*
Number of rooms: 2
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your Paeroa Lakeside Homestay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Paeroa Lakeside Homestay staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“We stayed in the rose garden suite - it was lovely to be able to walk out into the garden. The view was amazing!”
  • beautiful view at night
  • our beautiful sunset
  • beautiful view
  • beautiful garden
 of 5 bubbles Merylove, 24 Nov 2015 | Read review
1 of 1