We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Lakeland Resort Taupo

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Professional photos
Lakeland Resort Taupo
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

195 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Lakeland Resort Taupo
See the most recent reviews
Showing 182: English reviews
Havelock North
Reviewed 6 January 2016

The reception are is far more impressive than the rooms to be fair, but the rooms are a good size and very comfortable. Restaurant was great, amazing views and had a very nice dinner here and a buffet breakfast the next morning also very nice. Staff were very good, went the extra mile.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank pmb535
Jan5256, General Manager at Lakeland Resort Taupo, responded to this review

Many thanks for your comments, it's great you used all our facilities and that the staff looked after you well. I will pass on these lovely comments to them as they try hard to please our guests.

Punaauia, French Polynesia
Reviewed 6 January 2016

We came to that place on a one night only stay in Taupo on our way to Wellington and I must admit the place even if needing some renovation is great staff was nice and realy helpful, room was tidy and bed comfortbale and we had a superb weather on Lake Taupo that morning. Will come back again when in...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sean W
Jan5256, General Manager at Lakeland Resort Taupo, responded to this review

It's great that you took the time to review the property and lovely that you had a great time in Taupo, our staff love giving hints on where to go etc. We hope you come again to stay, and enjoy more things that Taupo can offer.

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 January 2016

Good place for families. Clean, all good facilities. Pool, spa, laundry facilities. Food good for the price. No complaints and happy to stay again, staff very friendly and couldn't be more helpful. Good all round.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 55skippy95
Jan5256, General Manager at Lakeland Resort Taupo, responded to this review

Many thanks for taking the time and expressing your satisfaction while staying at the Lakeland, I will pass this on to all the Team members and congratulate them for their attention to our guests. We look forward to you staying again with us.

Waitomo
Reviewed 10 December 2015

I like lakelands so much i stay there everytime i visit taupo. The rooms have everything you need, including giant tvs! The bathrooms are light and airy. It is always clean and the staff are very friendly. Its situated on the lake so you can easily walk around the lake and into town, and even has a pool and tennis...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Isobelly
Jan5256, General Manager at Lakeland Resort Taupo, responded to this review

Thank you for telling everyone how great the place is, we like to think we try our best.

Wellington, New Zealand
Reviewed 6 December 2015

When arriving very impressive but when you get to your room it is very average. The beds are not comfortable and need renewing, TV has poor selection of chanels. The bathrrom is nice with a great shower. The staff also are very frendly. If i had a choice i proberly wouldnt stay there again.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank tiggerrp
Jan5256, General Manager at Lakeland Resort Taupo, responded to this review

Great to hear that you had the service you deserve when arriving at Lakeland, many thanks for letting us know. Our staff enjoy looking after our guests. Sorry to hear that you didn't find the TV channel to suit out of our 9 channels provided (including Sky Sport), our room price reflect this in that we are value for money.

Reviewed 26 November 2015 via mobile

This resort was easily the best hotel we stayed at during our 2 week tour. The rooms were large, had huge plasma tvs, big bathroom and shower, and was very comfortable to stay in. The staff were very welcoming and helpful when need be. Free wifi and a great pool to fill in your free time. Highly recommended!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ashley J
Jan5256, General Manager at Lakeland Resort Taupo, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your very kind words commending the staff and property. We all try so hard to please our guests, its great when the team gets appreciated.

Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 2 November 2015 via mobile

My husband and I stayed here for two nights. Our room was very clean and it was peaceful (even with neighbours on either side of us). The grounds are nicely manicured and well kept. This place has free wifi, which ran perfectly. I like that the TV was a good size to watch the RWC. No problems, no worries. Thank...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Shangel
Jan5256, General Manager at Lakeland Resort Taupo, responded to this review

The property is lovingly maintained by our staff, it's great when guests take the time to let them know how much thy have enjoyed the Hotel. The wifi is just one of the FREE facilities we provide to make our guest feel at home.

Auckland Region, New Zealand
Reviewed 26 October 2015

The Hotel is dated but still a very nice place to stay. It's about 6km from town but still very close if you choose to walk. We had dinner at the Hotel 3 nights in a row and we loved it. The food and service was very good and staff were very helpful. You have to book for dinner and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ron T
Jan5256, General Manager at Lakeland Resort Taupo, responded to this review

So pleased you enjoyed your stay and it's lovely that you have given the hotel and our staff a great review. The Hotel has numerous facilities that can be used and enjoyed, the staff are always ready to assist in making your stay great.

Reviewed 23 October 2015

Very friendly staff who take the time to say hello and chat - the rooms are clean comfortable but lacking a couple of things -no TV selection and no where to sit n eat if you purchase take away meals no cutlery to eat with either just the basics of teaspoon

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jenny K
Jan5256, General Manager at Lakeland Resort Taupo, responded to this review

Our staff are excellent, so it's great that you have taken the time to congratulate them on their service. As we are a Hotel we do not have kitchenettes, with cutlery and crockery, it is much nicer to use our wonderful Dining Room in the Restaurant., where we often have some great specials.

Pasuruan
Reviewed 17 October 2015 via mobile

This resort has good view , has big park area, and good price. And the room has 3 single bed which are very soft and really need to be changed. Shower is nice . But the carpet need to be vacuumed. Have dinner at the restaurant , the meal are delicacy . The steak, roast pork , cheese cake and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sarihui
Jan5256, General Manager at Lakeland Resort Taupo, responded to this review

Great to hear you enjoyed our lovely Restaurant our staff are always happy to make your experience memorable. Sorry that you found our beds too soft (they are being replaced at the moment), some of our guests do prefer the soft ones.

60 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (60)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (5)
Viewed
View from Room (6)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (18)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Other (21)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Taupo hotels
1.9 km away
Wellesley on the Lake Taupo
0.2 km away
Accent on Taupo Motor Lodge
4.8 km away
Huka Falls Resort
Huka Falls Resort
#51 of 71 in Taupo
38 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 km away
Alpine Lake Motor Lodge
2.5 km away
Bella Vista Motel
Bella Vista Motel
#28 of 71 in Taupo
124 reviews
0.1 km away
Comfort Inn Cascades
Comfort Inn Cascades
#10 of 71 in Taupo
352 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Restaurant
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Pool
  • Room Service
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Pool
  • Tennis Court
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Banquet Room
  • Room Service
  • Laundry Service
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Lakeland Resort is situated on the beautiful shores of Lake Taupo, New Zealand's largest lake and world renowned for its trout fishing and scenery.Set amidst 2.8 acres of landscaped grounds, complete with 64 well equipped studio units, with 42 plasma flat screen TV, tennis court, outdoor seasonal swimming pool, 2 private indoor spa pools, guest laundry facilities, ample off-street parking, 2 conference rooms and the Lakeland Bar and Brasserie.Lakeland Resort offers relaxing and comfortable accommodation, superb conference and function facilities with The Lakeland Bar & Brasserie serving divine cuisine. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Lakeland Resort Taupo

Address: 282 Lake Terrace | P.O. Box 1179,, Taupo 3330, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Taupo District > Taupo
Price Range: RM275 - RM515 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Lakeland Resort Taupo 3*
Number of rooms: 64
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Travelocity and HotelTravel.com so you can book your Lakeland Resort Taupo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lakeland Resort Taupo Hotel Taupo
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Lakeland Resort Taupo staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
Wellington, New Zealand
over a year ago

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Lakeland Resort Taupo staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“all rooms are good to be honest from what I could see. Maybe you want to get a downstairs room if you prefer not to use stairs.”
 of 5 bubbles 168tyrellg, 31 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Upper level units would have a better view but I think you need to walk up stairs to get there.”
 of 5 bubbles RayandSue68, 15 Oct 2016 | Read review
“upstairs rooms for views but did not see any lift access”
 of 5 bubbles spicetraveller, 27 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Any are great so don,t worry.”
 of 5 bubbles terryp554, 26 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Upper floor for best views”
 of 5 bubbles Trumpetlips, 22 Aug 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay