We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Wairakei Resort Taupo

Show Prices
#17 of 71 Hotels in Taupo
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Professional photos
Wairakei Resort Taupo
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

581 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Wairakei Resort Taupo
See the most recent reviews
Showing 573: English reviews
Cambridge, New Zealand
Reviewed 15 October 2016

A geothermal experience at the start of Taupo's new entrance way which was SH1 now Wairakei Drive North near Prawn Park and Huka Jet. A massive, spacious Resort with tennis courts, golf, spas and heated pools. Restaurant, cafe, and House Bar. I loved looking through the large grounds. I got room service in and it was good. A modern hotel...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank karina f
Hiro_Ogata, Front Office Manager at Wairakei Resort Taupo, responded to this review

Dear Karina Thank you so much for such a nice lovely positive review ! We are thrilled that you saw all our facilities under 1 roof and we hope you enjoyed them all while you were with us. It is so rewarding to hear such wonderful feedback from our guests as our passion is to see guests smile! We are...

Newcastle, Australia
Reviewed 12 October 2016

This is a massive golf resort/hotel within walking distance to their 18 hole course. We had to book a 2x double room as a double + 2x singles did not exist or were not available. Rooms were spotless and staff were excellent - minibar and tea/coffee making facilities but no kitchen. Buffet hot breakfast was an extra, but was very...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Bowdog B
Hiro_Ogata, Front Office Manager at Wairakei Resort Taupo, responded to this review

Dear Bowdog B May I offer my sincere thanks for your kind comments regarding your stay with us. We are delighted that you enjoyed our spotless clean room, friendly staff members, buffet breakfast and the hot pool to end your day. Looking forward to welcoming you back with golf clubs next time when you visit Wairakei Resort Taupo. Kind regards,...

Auckland, New Zealand
Reviewed 10 October 2016

We had a Buffet Dinner pre booked and pre paid for, before the night - with a large group of adults and children attending the dinner. Cost was $37.50 per adult and $19.50 per child. What a huge disappointment. The very small selection of food was appalling for the cost and the biggest rip off we have ever been to...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank B8002UXjackd
Hiro_Ogata, Front Office Manager at Wairakei Resort Taupo, responded to this review

Dear B8002UXjackd May I begin by thanking you for your review. It is with sincere regret that we note your dissatisfaction with our buffet dinner and its price. Our buffet meals are very popular and lots of guests enjoy it but if you could email myself about it further so as to improve our menu and services involving our Executive...

Reviewed 5 October 2016

We had family gathering with over 30 people and was good venue to have all in one place. We had standalone units which worked well. good activities eg Tennis, Golf, swimming. Rooms had kitchenette but no oven.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank David W
Hiro_Ogata, Front Office Manager at Wairakei Resort Taupo, responded to this review

Dear David W May I offer a personal thank you for sending a review of our hotel. We are delighted to know that you thought our venue was a great place for your family gathering. Your invaluable comments are very important to us as they allow us to maintain the high standards of quality, service and comfort for which Wairakei...

Reviewed 3 October 2016 via mobile

We got into Taupo very tired after a long day at work followed by the long drive. Staff welcomed us and quickly got us into our room. I was impressed that another staff member had taken the time to greet my very inquisitive 7 year old to answer all his questions and sort him with a little colouring pack. This...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Janenmarvs
Reviewed 26 September 2016

Stayed for two nights. Was welcomed warmly on arrival. The room was clean, spacious with a nice balcony. The shower however could do with a little more cleaning as there was a little mold but this is being very picky. The heating in the room was a little old school with no thermostat system just a warm air blowing radiator...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Neil D
Whangaparaoa
Reviewed 17 September 2016

Had a wonderful Spring break at the Wairakei Resort with a large group from our tennis club. Enjoyed the very good facilities, clean well appointed rooms, both hot pools were lovely and thermally heated to a temp up to 38 deg C. Our group played tennis on the two courts, and we dined in the restaurant for a buffet meal...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Barrett2Whangaparaoa
Taupo, New Zealand
Reviewed 13 September 2016

We played golf and called into the Pavilion Restaurant at the Wairakei Resort for a coffee. The waiter was not very welcoming and proceeded to serve up luke warm coffee to 4 people. What was worse... the coffee was in disposable plastic cups! OMG!! The Resort is very attractive, the restaurant has a lovely atmosphere. The Resort grounds are lovely...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kiwiglobetroter
Napier, New Zealand
Reviewed 11 September 2016

Did not come to stay but got a tour around the place and was amazed. Upon arrival we were greeted with a nice receptionist until waiting for Jane. Jane then took us all around the resort, from visiting the bar, going into the conference rooms, visiting some of the rooms such as the 2-bedroom apartment, and going around the pool,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank g_lucy1
Wetherby, United Kingdom
Reviewed 9 September 2016

We arrived at 12.15am with no booking. Anthony was very helpful & friendly, thank you. In fact all the staff here were friendly & polite. The bed was extremely comfortable just what we needed after a very long day travelling. Great to stay somewhere you can connect to wifi in seconds without any awkward passwords. Another huge plus is the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jane B

105 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (85)
Viewed
Dining (10)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (24)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (5)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (6)
Viewed
Room/Suite (13)
Viewed
Other (24)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (20)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (9)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Taupo hotels
8.7 km away
Hilton Lake Taupo
Hilton Lake Taupo
#7 of 71 in Taupo
1,775 reviews
8.1 km away
Gables Lakefront Motel
9.0 km away
The Reef Resort
The Reef Resort
#2 of 71 in Taupo
448 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.3 km away
Millennium Hotel and Resort Manuels Taupo
8.2 km away
Sails On The Lake
Sails On The Lake
#3 of 71 in Taupo
136 reviews
7.4 km away
Beechtree Motel
Beechtree Motel
#5 of 71 in Taupo
572 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Hot Tub
  • Golf Course
  • Tennis Court
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Concierge
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Wairakei Resort Taupo is located only 5 minutes north of Taupo town centre, offering superb hotel and villa accommodation in Taupo with excellent indoor & outdoor leisure facilities and dining options, as well as a being a purpose built Taupo conference venue. All situated in a stunning historic setting, close to Taupo’s many activities and attractions. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Wairakei Resort Taupo

Address: 640 Wairakei Drive, Taupo 3384, New Zealand (Formerly Bayview Wairakei Resort)
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Taupo District > Taupo
Price Range: RM448 - RM736 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Wairakei Resort Taupo 4*
Number of rooms: 187
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Wairakei Resort Taupo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bayview Wairakei Hotel Taupo
Hotel Bayview Wairakei
Hotel Style:
#10 Business Hotel in Taupo
#12 Luxury Hotel in Taupo
#14 Family Hotel in Taupo
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Wairakei Resort Taupo staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
Port Elizabeth, South Africa
25 days ago

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Wairakei Resort Taupo staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Rooms second or third floor”
 of 5 bubbles 63RobertM63, 5 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Deluxe business room with spa bath. Room 814 or 815 interconnecting.”
 of 5 bubbles 834karinaf, 15 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Close the windows on arrival or fill the room with insect repellant”
 of 5 bubbles bowdogb, 11 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Room overlooking the pool (Taupo end) was very pleasant and caught the afternoon sun nicely.”
 of 5 bubbles Barrett2Whangaparaoa, 16 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Rooms in the low 100s are near reception but no problems with noise, so they are convenient.”
 of 5 bubbles EJ_LA, 5 Sep 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay