We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Ohtel

PricelineUS$144*
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
US$161*
US$144*
Great Deal
US$146*
US$146*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Professional photos
Ohtel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

390 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Ohtel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 372: English reviews
Napier, New Zealand
Reviewed 23 May 2014

Checked into the deluxe room for the night with my wife, now kicking myself for not staying longer. Let me sum up my stay in a few words or the best I possibly can - great location, clean, quite, spacious, secluded and beautifully decorated with rustic furniture which is rather refreshing compared to all the other places I've checked-in previously......

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Zealnz
Alan_from_Ohtel, Owner at Ohtel, responded to this review

Hi Zealnz, I'm glad you found us and enjoyed tucking into the minibar.. Being only 4 hours drive away, I'm sure you'll have reason to come back some time soon ! Alan

Reviewed 22 May 2014

Wonderful hotel that does everything really well. Great staff, great coffee, great food, great location, great decor. Ohtel just nails it. 10 rooms makes this an intimate experience, you are respected, remembered and obviously valued. Stop looking elsewhere!!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ado3361
Alan_from_Ohtel, Owner at Ohtel, responded to this review

Ado ! Thanks for the high praise ! We really love it when people 'get' our place. Appreciate your review - hope to see you back soon. Alan

Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 19 May 2014

Beautifully decorated unique boutique hotel on the waterfront. Rooms and bathrooms are huge in size and would highly recommend this accommodation. The staff where very friendly and go that extra mile to make your stay great.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank BJC1234
Alan_from_Ohtel, Owner at Ohtel, responded to this review

Nice to hear from you BJC - and great that you enjoyed your stay ! It's policy here, (well with all 3 of us), that we are committed to making your time not just inside the hotel, but in our great little city, the best it can be. We like to get to know our guests and what they are...

Wellington, New Zealand
Reviewed 14 May 2014

Stayed here for a weekend getaway in town. Right on the beach at Oriental Parade, beautifully decorated and great bathrooms, and the huge bed was very comfortable with great bedding. I can highly recommend this place, quielty tucked into Oriental Parade. Close to many restaurants and you can go for a walk on the parade/beach.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Frieda1967
Alan_from_Ohtel, Owner at Ohtel, responded to this review

Hi Frieda, The location is handy as you say, to a lot of great eating houses and the seaside promenade. Our back rooms are a little cheaper, but spacious and quiet, so perfect if you are going to be out and about a lot. All the best ! Alan

Auckland Region, New Zealand
Reviewed 11 May 2014

The staff are welcoming and go the extra mile to make your stay great. We paid extra for a bigger room with a bath and it was worth the additional expense. Great view out over the park and harbour from our little balcony. The room is fantastic and very unique with a NZ feel with all the paintings and artwork....

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank TravelLoverNZx
Alan_from_Ohtel, Owner at Ohtel, responded to this review

Hi Travel Lover, Thanks so much for taking the time to tell others about my little place - I'm really pleased you were well looked after. Looking forward to having you back in Wellington again soon ! Alan

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 11 May 2014

Came here for my fiancée's birthday weekend in Wellington. It's right on the waterfront. We stayed in one of the suites, which was really nicely decorated. The bed was wonderfully comfortable and the bath and shower were excellent.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jake F
Alan_from_Ohtel, Owner at Ohtel, responded to this review

Hi Jake, Thanks for your review - I'm glad you enjoyed Ohtel. Please pass on my belated best wishes to your fiancée for her birthday. Regards Alan

Moraira, Spain
Reviewed 6 May 2014

We stayed here for 2 nights in April when it poured with rain so we sadly didn't get to see much of Wellington at all! Check in was friendly and we were upgraded which was a lovely surprise. Our room was fairly large and decorated in a unique and individual 'scandinavian' style, and we had a view over the harbour...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank josefa68
Alan_from_Ohtel, Owner at Ohtel, responded to this review

Thanks for your detailed review Josefa. Sounds as though you 'got' our set-up here and enjoyed the proximity of the hotel. As you say, we have a unique product in Wellington, so if you are looking to avoid big chain corporate monotony, Ohtel is for you ! Alan

Bridgetown, Barbados
Reviewed 4 May 2014

Ohtel is really well located and the rooms are nice. Our real complaint is with the bathrooms. I'm not sure what is with this new design fad to have glass like walls separating the bathroom from the rest of the room and a cloth 'door' that you can pull to cover the door area. I asked if any other rooms...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank WITravellingDiva
Alan_from_Ohtel, Owner at Ohtel, responded to this review

Hi Diva, I'm sorry that you were surprised by the bathroom design. We have tried to make it as obvious as we can through photos and room descriptions what the set-up is here. Glad your stay was fine otherwise. Alan

Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 3 May 2014 via mobile

We only had one night here but loved it. Staff were very friendly and extremely helpful, the rooms were brilliant - interior design very cool and everything we could possibly need was available - and the location excellent. Highly recommend!

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Al and Fin T
Alan_from_Ohtel, Owner at Ohtel, responded to this review

Hi Al and Fin, Great to have you stay with us. Thanks for the positive feedback. Alan

Gisborne, New Zealand
Reviewed 17 April 2014

Super friendly, helpful staff, not snobby or pretentious and OH so handy :) Lovely two person bath, Awesome mini bar selection of treats and goodies (loved the pinot noir), retro kiwiana themed decor and a darling cafe to boot. Parking service was no problem, wifi on, and our little balcony was all we needed to catch a glimpse of the...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Sal S
Alan_from_Ohtel, Owner at Ohtel, responded to this review

Hi Sal, Thanks for the review... Wind ? Put it this way, we never have a smog problem here ! Glad you found the great 'half' bottles of New Zealand wine we put in the minibar for you to enjoy. See you soon ! Alan

91 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (66)
Viewed
Room/Suite (28)
Viewed
Bathroom (10)
Viewed
View from Room (5)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
1:54
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (18)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (25)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Other (13)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wellington hotels
0.3 km away
QT Museum Wellington
QT Museum Wellington
#7 of 46 in Wellington
1,562 reviews
1.7 km away
Bolton Hotel Wellington
Bolton Hotel Wellington
#3 of 46 in Wellington
1,373 reviews
0.4 km away
At Home Wellington
At Home Wellington
#1 of 46 in Wellington
731 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 km away
InterContinental Wellington
0.1 km away
Copthorne Hotel Wellington Oriental Bay
0.6 km away
Amora Hotel Wellington
Amora Hotel Wellington
#5 of 46 in Wellington
1,186 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Smoking rooms available
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Ohtel's exclusive seaside location provides stunning views over Waitangi Park, Te Papa and the Inner harbour. Run by the owner and a select group of friendly, unpretentious staff, Ohtel provides convenience and luxury with an eco-friendly conscience. Experience contemporary New Zealand design, coupled with original "mid-century" furnishings throughout the lobby and ten spacious suites. Enjoy regionally sourced, gourmet food and beverages in room, or in our intimate lobby. Ohtel, sophisticated urban chic. Free Wi-Fi & local calls, King-sized beds, 55+ Sky channels, air-con, solar hot water... ... more   less 

Additional Information about Ohtel

Address: 66 oriental Parade | Oriental Bay, Wellington 6011, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Greater Wellington > Wellington
Price Range: RM596 - RM1,536 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Ohtel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Ohtel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ohtel Hotel Wellington
Design Hotel Wellington
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Wellington
#3 Romantic Hotel in Wellington
#11 Luxury Hotel in Wellington
#15 Family Hotel in Wellington
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Ohtel staff and other travellers.
5 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (5)

Questions? Get answers from Ohtel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Any room will do.”
KeithC461, 15 May 2017 | Read review
“Get a Hot-Tub!”
, 16 Nov 2016 | Read review
“The rooms facing the street are amazing - great views of a bustling city, the sea, and Te Papa, the iconic national museum.”
paulanz, 12 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Get one that faces the front!”
JJLuvsHotels, 29 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Rooms at the front of the building have wonderful sunshine and view to the park, the harbour.”
Sjal68, 9 Aug 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Priceline
US$144* /night
View Deal
Hotels.comUS$146
Booking.comUS$146
ElvolineUS$161
View all 13 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates