We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

YHA Wellington

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
YHA Wellington
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

563 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 481: English reviews
Start your review of YHA Wellington
 Click to rate
Reviewed today NEW

Great hostel, clean with excellent facilities. A well stocked kitchen and nice hot showers. Hostel is also in a great location, super close to the main bus stop to/from the airport. A great supermarket next door and walking distance to main attractions (Te Papa). I stayed in an all-female dorm. The bed was comfortable and clean. Lockers were spacious. A...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kit Y
Auckland, Auckland, New Zealand
Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

I stayed in room 312 for 2 nights for a quick visit to Wellington, with my children ages 7 and 10 as I have a small budget. We opted for a 3 bed room so 1 bunk and a single. There was also a table and chair. This particular room faces a concrete wall so sadly no view of nothing...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lydia B
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

An excellent hostel in a good location with free WiFi & exceptional cleaning by the team. Spacious female 4 bed ensuite dorm with big lockers including charger sockets. 2 kitchens. Lockers you pay for to store luggage after check out. Friendly & helpful staff. Lounges include one with tv & another room with pool table. Easy to get to bus...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank soloal49
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

This hostel is large and it is a chain hostel so you don't get the friendly or more homely sense that smaller hostels provide. The good points - it has 2 rather large kitchens, 2 eating areas, 1 game room, 1 reading room and 1 lounge room. The not so good points - it is really hard to meet people,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank blot17
YHANewZealand, Manager at YHA Wellington, responded to this review

Hi, Thanks for your review. I’m sorry that you struggled to meet people here, this is unfortunately one of the downsides to being such a large property. We do our best to get people together with our activity nights which do prove to be rather popular. I appreciate the feedback and wish you all the best with your future travels....

Launching Place
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I didn't know what to expect and had an open mind. I loved my stay there. People of all ages, young and older from all around the world. Great facilities, so close to everything. The supermarket was across the other side of the road. Around the corner were all the cafes, restaurants, cheap eats and the vibe of Acland Street...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank suej929
YHANewZealand, Manager at YHA Wellington, responded to this review

Hey Sue Thanks for your review. I’m so happy you chose us for your first youth hostel experience. Wellington is a special city and I’m proud you felt so safe here and found getting around so convenient from our location. I do hope the next YHA’s you visit equally exceed your expectations and the rest of your travels are as...

Birmingham, Alabama
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Great location in downtown Wellington. We were in walking distance to the bay, and everything downtown Wellington had to offer. They don't have parking, but there are several lots and spots along the street; can be fairly cheap if you work out timing of the free parking after 6pm and before 10am (ask front desk). There is even a New...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Derek D
YHANewZealand, Manager at YHA Wellington, responded to this review

Hey Derek Thanks for your review. Your comments mean a lot and I’m over the moon everything was satisfactory for you. Outside of the ‘free hours’ we usually recommend parking down Oriental Parade where parking is only $7.50 for the day. I’m proud we ranked so highly in your experiences with the YHA and hope that trend continues throughout your...

Birmingham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Stayed here for 2 nights at the end of my North Island tour with Haka Tours. Staff on the front desk were very friendly and helpful. In a 4 bed dorm with bathroom. Spacious room with plenty of space for luggage. Beds were actually quite comfortable, as were the pillows. However, the usual hostel problem of experiencing a mini-earthquake when...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank EG27
Birmingham
Reviewed 13 March 2017 via mobile

We stayed here for two nights in a double room. The facilities are amazing for a hostel. The kitchen was large and well equipped, but most importantly it was spotless. The bathrooms were also very clean and modern. Location wise it was again great, with Te Papa a short stroll away and Cuba street a similar distance. I would bot...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Thomas W
Reviewed 12 March 2017 via mobile

Great hostel close to the water and right across the street from New world. There are two kitchens, they could use some more and new equipment but they have space for everyone and are pretty clean. Rooms were nice. But it was annoying that you held a bottom bunk for a person that didn't even show up so one of...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Wawawa7
Reviewed 6 March 2017 via mobile

Only stayed 4 one night but staff was so helpful with my travel arrangements and even excellent restaurant recommendations. Great location as usual with yha hostels as far as proximity 2 what folks in transit require. Even the itinerary adverse like me get it sorted out quickly thanks 2 yha.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank oldtrailbeast

99 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (84)
Viewed
View from Room (8)
Viewed
Room/Suite (13)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (52)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (15)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (10)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wellington hotels
0.2 km away
The Cambridge Hotel
The Cambridge Hotel
#16 of 46 in Wellington
651 reviews
0.3 km away
At Home Wellington
At Home Wellington
#1 of 46 in Wellington
717 reviews
0.2 km away
QT Museum Wellington
QT Museum Wellington
#8 of 46 in Wellington
1,536 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
Copthorne Hotel Wellington Oriental Bay
1.1 km away
InterContinental Wellington
0.5 km away
Amora Hotel Wellington
Amora Hotel Wellington
#5 of 46 in Wellington
1,175 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Ultra clean, modern, bright, fun and friendly, the YHA Wellington hostel has a wide range of comfortable accommodation from our spacious 4-share en-suite rooms to our deluxe private en-suite rooms. With a 5-star Qualmark rating you would hardly know you were backpacking. The hostel boasts two large and extremely well-equipped kitchens as well as many spacious and comfortable lounge areas, making this backpackers a perfect choice for large numbers of backpackers and for group accommodation. ... more   less 

Additional Information about YHA Wellington

Address: 292 Wakefield Street | Te Aro, Wellington 6011, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Greater Wellington > Wellington
Price Range: RM97 - RM304 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — YHA Wellington 5*
Number of rooms: 300
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA and Agoda so you can book your YHA Wellington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Yha Wellington City Hotel Wellington
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from YHA Wellington staff and other travellers.
5 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (5)

Questions? Get answers from YHA Wellington staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Ask what view you will have, unless you dont mind, check if near elevator (for noise)”
799lydiab, 20 Apr 2017 | Read review
“I preferred a single room with my own bathroom, but thats just me. The single rooms with a shared bathroom were fine”
suej929, 30 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Top floor is noisy if windy.”
Jancrow4, 13 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Ask for a room with a view of the harbor!”
  • Harbor view from the fifth floor, and the New World market across the street.
UXfun, 2 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Higher floors are more desirable except for wind noise.”
elsner2016, 22 Jan 2017 | Read review
5 of 5