We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

YHA Wellington

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
YHA Wellington
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

543 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for YHA Wellington
See the most recent reviews
Showing 467: English reviews
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

From the Wellington airport we took the 91 bus (around NZ $9) to Courtenay Place, which was about 20 minutes. The hostel was just a few short blocks away, less than 5 minutes walk. We asked for a room with a view of the harbor, and got a nice one on the 5th floor that was clean and quiet. Other...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank UXfun
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Location close to Te Papa and Oriental Parade. Good facilities with two big kitchens, laundry and a small cafe. Supermarket conveniently placed 100 meters from the hostel. Internet ok. Familyrooms of appropriate size and with a good shower. Price low. Recommended to everyone who are travelling on a budget.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jesper J
Taunton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The facilities at this hostel are some of the best- two well equipped kitchens, loads of freezer and dry food space to store your goods, towels in bedroom (we had twin room), hair dryers and straighteners in bathrooms, cafe which did breakfast deal and there are many more things. The hostel was clean, comfortable and extremely well located in the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kat2293
Due West, South Carolina
Reviewed 23 January 2017

This is a modern high-rise hostel in the middle of the city. Very comfortable and with great amenities. Nice kitchen and several TV lounges were great. The staff members were mostly helpful, but some gave us wrong information that made life difficult, like telling us wrong times for the ferry and not telling us that you an catch a ferry...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank elsner2016
YHANewZealand, Manager at YHA Wellington, responded to this review

Hey Elsner Thanks for your review. I’m so sorry there was a mix up of information regarding the ferry and for any disruption this will have caused. This won’t have been the intention of our staff and I hope you managed to get on your way without any further delay. I’m proud how impressed you were with our property and...

Köln, Deutschland
Reviewed 19 January 2017

We stayed here the second time and enjoyed our stay in a triple ensuite very much. Location of the YHA is great, staff very friendly and room/ facilities meet our needs. Very clean and well equipped kitchen (especially to other hostels we stayed); free wifi throughout the house; nice common areas with sofas, books, etc.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Leolinchen
YHANewZealand, Manager at YHA Wellington, responded to this review

Hey Leolinchen Thanks for your review. We’re very lucky to be so centrally located and I think it just adds to the well-being of our staff and guests having everything so conveniently close. I’m thrilled how pleased you were with your accommodation and our facilities and I hope you come back to stay with us again during your third visit...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 17 January 2017

Perfect location for a visit to Wellington. The hostel has all the facilities you would want or need. Clean, comfortable and very relaxed despite its size. All the staff we encountered were very friendly and helpful.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sassi66
YHANewZealand, Manager at YHA Wellington, responded to this review

Hey Sassi66 Thanks for your review and choosing us for your New Year’s accommodation! Happy New Year! Our location’s particularly convenient that time of year being so close to the festivities by the waterfront, I hope you got to see the fireworks! Enjoy the rest of your time in New Zealand 2017 and we’ll look forward to seeing you again...

Reviewed 16 January 2017 via mobile

Excellent location to access the harbour and all the best local eateries. The welsh bar in the middle of the street is a must too. Clean simple private rooms. Shower is a little small. Common theme for tall people in NZ hostels. Very good value. The receptionist needs math lessons though, we helped her through in the end 👌🏼😎

 Report
Helpful?
Thank TomPrice1
YHANewZealand, Manager at YHA Wellington, responded to this review

Hey Tom Thanks for your review. We’re situated rather conveniently to everything Wellington has to offer including the infamous Welsh bar which claims to be the only one in the Southern Hemisphere! I’m sorry that our facilities couldn’t quite accommodate your height but thank you for your patience with our staff. I wish you all the best for your future...

Germany
Reviewed 9 January 2017

The YHA rarely disappoint and this hostel, though one of the bigger ones is a perfect place to stay in Wellington. It is set right in the middle of the city centre, near waterfront, Cuba Street and museums. The social areas and kitchen are on the bottom floor and are very spacious and clean. Staff is very friendly and helpful...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Anke B
YHANewZealand, Manager at YHA Wellington, responded to this review

Hey Anke B Thanks for your detailed review. We’re all about you guys meeting each other so I hope the free activities enabled you to do so. There’s nothing in the city that cannot be accessed quickly and efficiently from our location and there’s nothing our staff cannot advise and book for you along the way either. We appreciate your...

Reviewed 4 January 2017

It is clean and the wifi is free, there are lockers in the room and in the lobby if you are anxious about your valuables, there are two kitchens and a New World just next to it. But the location is not the greatest, the bathrooms are like cubicles and it really feels like a factory. I guess it's a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Florian F
YHANewZealand, Manager at YHA Wellington, responded to this review

Hey Florian Thanks for your review. When you have as many guests stay as we do it requires having a lot of storage space and facilities to accommodate and with the supermarket being over the road well that’s just a bonus! I’m sorry that you didn’t like the bathroom layout and our location wasn’t so convenient for you but hopefully...

Alton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 January 2017

The YHA in Wellington is a relatively modern building with excellent facilities. The rooms are comfortable and as well as the usual kitchen, lzundry and common room facilities there is a cafe and a TV/film lounge. Excellent facilities and a very knowledgable front desk staff.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank gjpeg
YHANewZealand, Manager at YHA Wellington, responded to this review

Hi Thanks for your review. We’re blessed to have acquired such a fantastic property within the capital. Comfort is priority when so far away from home and I’m thankful our staff were able to pass on some knowledgeable information to you as well. I hope the rest of your time in New Zealand’s as pleasant and we’ll see you next...

99 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (84)
Viewed
View from Room (8)
Viewed
Room/Suite (13)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (52)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (15)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (10)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wellington hotels
0.3 km away
The Cambridge Hotel
The Cambridge Hotel
#16 of 46 in Wellington
626 reviews
0.4 km away
At Home Wellington
At Home Wellington
#1 of 46 in Wellington
679 reviews
0.2 km away
QT Museum Wellington
QT Museum Wellington
#9 of 46 in Wellington
1,489 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
Copthorne Hotel Wellington Oriental Bay
1.1 km away
InterContinental Wellington
1.2 km away
ibis Wellington
ibis Wellington
#17 of 46 in Wellington
2,025 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Ultra clean, modern, bright, fun and friendly, the YHA Wellington hostel has a wide range of comfortable accommodation from our spacious 4-share en-suite rooms to our deluxe private en-suite rooms. With a 5-star Qualmark rating you would hardly know you were backpacking. The hostel boasts two large and extremely well-equipped kitchens as well as many spacious and comfortable lounge areas, making this backpackers a perfect choice for large numbers of backpackers and for group accommodation. ... more   less 

Additional Information about YHA Wellington

Address: 292 Wakefield Street | Te Aro, Wellington 6011, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Greater Wellington > Wellington
Price Range: RM107 - RM315 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — YHA Wellington 5*
Number of rooms: 300
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Priceline and HostelWorld so you can book your YHA Wellington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Yha Wellington City Hotel Wellington
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from YHA Wellington staff and other travellers.
4 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (4)

Questions? Get answers from YHA Wellington staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Top floor is noisy if windy.”
 of 5 bubbles Jancrow4, 13 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Ask for a room with a view of the harbor!”
  • Harbor view from the fifth floor, and the New World market across the street.
 of 5 bubbles UXfun, 2 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Higher floors are more desirable except for wind noise.”
 of 5 bubbles elsner2016, 22 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Try to avoid the rooms near the elevator!”
 of 5 bubbles 875reubenc, 24 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Great location abd good views from the top floors on the waterfront”
 of 5 bubbles , 8 Nov 2016 | Read review
5 of 5