We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Apollo Lodge Motel

Booking.comUS$90*
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
07/05/2017 08/05/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Lock in the lowest price from our partners
View Deal
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Professional photos
Apollo Lodge Motel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

389 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 360: English reviews
Start your review of Apollo Lodge Motel
 Click to rate
Freo
Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

The location is extremely good. It is very pretty much in the centre of town. It’s 5 minutes walk from the Te Papa museum and if you get your day pass with the bus you can go pretty much everywhere from there. If you have small kids though the rooms with the staircases are a bit of a danger for...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Josh_Freo
australia
Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed in a Deluxe one bedroom unit in the newest section and found it very spacious and comfortable, with a queen bed in the living room, twin beds in the bedroom, a well-equipped kitchen area and an excellent bathroom. The location is a reasonable walking distance from almost everything in central Wellington and there are restaurants and shops nearby....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank kirkw00d
ApolloManager, Manager at Apollo Lodge Motel, responded to this review

Thanks for taking time to review. Yes our new Deluxe units are proving to be a big hit with many guests. With comfortable furnishings, Sky select and generous space they are always heavily booked. Happy to see you back anytime.

Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Overall the motel is acceptable, but we had some problems with the hot water shower, so we called their office to ask for help. Their staff were quite rude and show no respect to us, and did not actually solve our problem. Other than that, everything is considered fine to us.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ashley N
ApolloManager, Manager at Apollo Lodge Motel, responded to this review

Sorry the guest felt we were rude. The problem was attended to directly. There were 5 people in the room and the hot water cylinder got drained after they all showered. There was little to do until it reheated. We did not think we were rude just there was nothing we could do to resolve such an issue.

Yogyakarta, Indonesia
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We travelled as a family (3 adults, 2 kids) and this was a good option for us. A relatively easy walk from Te Papa uphill, nice central location. Not many affordable eating options around but it's close enough to the New World supermarket and Courtney Place restaurants. Airport bus stops very close by on Courtney Place. Pretty good option overall.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Tay W
ApolloManager, Manager at Apollo Lodge Motel, responded to this review

Thanks for your review and pleased you enjoyed your stay. There are a myriad of eating options just down in Courtney Place, however as mentioned a Large New World is very handy.

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Generally very nice location in walking distance to main sites. Free parking of our van was also a bonus. Hosts are friendly. We stayed in the Edwardian House which was a big mistake. There is a lot of space and its all very nicely decorated BUT this place basically has paper walls and windows!!! We were awake everytime someone walked...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Anja C
ApolloManager, Manager at Apollo Lodge Motel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking time to share and we are very sorry you were disrupted by the noise. For future guests it is interesting to note the previous review “Quiet, comfortable & convenient” was posted by someone who stayed in the same room. With regards to the paper walls and windows, the building is a grand house around 100 years...

Bay of Islands
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Our sports team really enjoyed our stay. The motel was very quiet, but very close to various eating places and the CBD. The units were beautifully clean. Even the weather was great! We will definitely stay here again if we are back to Wellington.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank happymarcher
ApolloManager, Manager at Apollo Lodge Motel, responded to this review

Thank you for the kind words and delighted you enjoyed your stay. We would love to have you back another time.

Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 21 March 2017

We were very happy with our stay at the Apollo Lodge Motel. We had an upstairs unit with a small balcony looking out to the street, which was pleasant given the fine weather we enjoyed during our visit. The A-frame design made it seem even more spacious, given the height of the ceiling. While not high end, the unit was...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank jimmycomms
ApolloManager, Manager at Apollo Lodge Motel, responded to this review

Thank you very much for giving such a pleasant and comprehensive review of Apollo Lodge. Our location and cleanliness is a major contributor to our popularity and along with the large range of options on offer allow us to give travellers and business guests a wide choice not always available elsewhere. Thank you for taking time to share.

Swansea, United Kingdom
Reviewed 20 March 2017

This motel is very close to some good restraunts such as Oretga's. It is also an easy walk to the downtown area. Mount Victoria is very close, albeit up a very steep hill. Rooms were well equipped and clean. We hadn't specifically booked the Edwadian part, most of the motel is like most NZ motels, which is fine.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 404juliej
ApolloManager, Manager at Apollo Lodge Motel, responded to this review

Thanks for taking time to review and sharing your experience at Apollo Lodge.

lincolnshire
Reviewed 18 March 2017

Good location, walking distance to all amenities, clean, comfortable room, easy parking, our only issue with this booking which was made six months ahead of our stay, was that we specifically asked for a quiet room away from the road and were given one right on the road. The owner said that it is not always possible to arrange rooms...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank traveller446
ApolloManager, Manager at Apollo Lodge Motel, responded to this review

Without knowing guest name and date of stay it is difficult to comment suffice to say we do try to honour all requests. When booking on line we also honour the room the guest has booked . It does pay to contact the hotel directly for specific requirements. There are also times when we cannot move things as we can...

England, United Kingdom
Reviewed 17 March 2017

This place is in a fantastic location, walking distance from the city attractions and Oriental bay. Check in was easy and we were given a map and helped out with places to explore. The room was clean and comfortable, although a little dated. Parking was right outside and for those crossing to the south Island the ferry terminal was only...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Amyls86
ApolloManager, Manager at Apollo Lodge Motel, responded to this review

Thanks for the review and we are happy to help. Wellington is a fabulous Capital City and so easy to explore from Apollo Lodge. Not sure what room the guest stayed in but we are committed to continual upgrades and refurbishments as noted by the recent opening of an entire new block.

20 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (20)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Room/Suite (9)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Other (2)
07/05/2017 08/05/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wellington hotels
0.3 km away
The Cambridge Hotel
The Cambridge Hotel
#16 of 46 in Wellington
652 reviews
0.6 km away
At Home Wellington
At Home Wellington
#1 of 46 in Wellington
718 reviews
1.4 km away
ibis Wellington
ibis Wellington
#17 of 46 in Wellington
2,070 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 km away
Travelodge Hotel Wellington
Travelodge Hotel Wellington
#14 of 46 in Wellington
2,483 reviews
0.3 km away
Copthorne Hotel Wellington Oriental Bay
1.9 km away
Bolton Hotel Wellington
Bolton Hotel Wellington
#2 of 46 in Wellington
1,361 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Laundry Service
  • Self-Serve Laundry

Additional Information about Apollo Lodge Motel

Address: 49 Majoribanks St, Wellington, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Greater Wellington > Wellington
Price Range: RM429 - RM534 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Apollo Lodge Motel 4*
Number of rooms: 35
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Apollo Lodge Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Apollo Hotel Wellington
Apollo Motel Wellington
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Wellington
#8 Family Hotel in Wellington
#10 Luxury Hotel in Wellington
#14 Romantic Hotel in Wellington
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Apollo Lodge Motel staff and other travellers.
6 questions
Ask a question
Singapore, Singapore
Perth, Australia
San Diego, California
over a year ago

See all questions (6)

Questions? Get answers from Apollo Lodge Motel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“if you travel with kids upstairs room is with no protection”
Josh_Freo, 26 Apr 2017 | Read review
“A number of blocks so I guess the quality varies with age but the room I had (F1 new block) was perfect”
DesW108, 15 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Request a queen, not a king, and you are more likely to get a room with some character.”
sophia818, 6 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Ask for one of the newly renovated units”
stevebro, 5 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Request fro rooms on ground floor, since no lifts for baggage.”
RaghavSabharwal, 21 Feb 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
Booking.com
US$90* /night
View Deal
TripAdvisorUS$90
Expedia.comUS$90
TravelocityUS$90
View all 9 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates