We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

West Plaza Hotel

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
West Plaza Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

426 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 397: English reviews
Start your review of West Plaza Hotel
 Click to rate
Olathe,k
Reviewed yesterday NEW

Nice modern lobby and reception however everything else needed updating. There was no air conditioning in our room, hotel did supply a floor fan but really didn't help. Bathroom definitely needed remodelling, water pressure was good but shower didn't have doors and water ended up all over bathroom. Never seen so many fire doors to struggle thru with luggage. Great...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank tgrace6
Te Awamutu, New Zealand
Reviewed 1 week ago

Easy to find and close to bus stops from the airport. Room was comfortable and clean, Bathroom had an unusual layout but had everything we required. Reception very friendly and helpful. Non hotel related building work was going on next door and they were very noisy early in the morning but not the hotels fault.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Wendy M
WestPlazaNZ, General Manager at West Plaza Hotel, responded to this review

Thanks for your feedback, it’s good to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and that the staff were friendly and helpful. We appreciate you leaving your positive comments about the hotel and Wellington city and hope to see you again. Thanks again. Regards, Julie Wilcock - GM

New Zealand
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Great location. Good restaurant. Rooms suffer from a lack of air conditioning and noise cancelling solutions. With no air conditioning you have to have windows open in Summer, but that exposes guests to the noise from being in the central city at all times of the night and early morning. Noise also travels between rooms somewhat. Free wifi has very...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Finnatic_NZ
WestPlazaNZ, General Manager at West Plaza Hotel, responded to this review

Thanks for your feedback, I was pleased to read that you enjoyed the location and the restaurant. I am sorry that you were disappointed with the lack of air conditioning and inner city noises. Air conditioning is something the hotel is considering, in the meantime we continue to do everything we can to make our guests comfortable with the resources...

Greater Wellington, New Zealand
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Six of us adults decided to go to the West Plaza for a farewell dinner for the two senior members of our team. We were so pleased we chose this venue as it was a delightful occasion. The food was superb. The service was cordial and friendly without being over the top. They even provided parking for us at the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Pofnz
WestPlazaNZ, General Manager at West Plaza Hotel, responded to this review

Thanks so much for your positive feedback, it’s good to hear that you all enjoyed your meals and the service at City Dining & Bar. Your comments are important and have been passed on to the Food and Beverage team, so they can continue to keep up the good work. Thanks again. Regards, Julie Wilcock - GM

New Zealand
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

had a one night stay in December. We could check in early - yay! room was spacious and clear. hallways very dated - a surprise seeing how modern the reception area is. Great location. Friendly staff. Bar and restaurant looked good but didn't get to use it. Easy to book by email. Great value

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Chippie_7
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I did not know this hotel does not have air conditioner. My friends told me not every hotel has a/c in New Zealand as NZ is not too hot. They usually open the windows and let the air comes in/out to cool down the room. We went to NZ in Summer time. Luckily, the weather was not hot in our...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Dolores L
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Were originally booked into a small room at the end of one of the wings - constant noise from hotel machinery and very hot - no air-conditioning . Hotel supplied a fan. Went out for a meal returning around 9:30. Room was still too hot. Asked at reception and they moved us to a bigger, cooler room without a problem,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kevin D
WestPlazaNZ, General Manager at West Plaza Hotel, responded to this review

Thanks for your feedback, I was pleased to read that we were able to upgrade your room type at no cost. Air conditioning is something the hotel is considering, in the meantime we continue to do everything we can to make our guests comfortable with the resources available. We are a mid-range value for money accommodation option situated in the...

Perth, Western Australia, Australia
Reviewed 5 weeks ago

We stayed at this hotel for two nights. Was a good price and we were able to get connecting rooms as I was travelling with two other friends. Offers free wifi for guests as well. Shower heads were a bit low, which can be frustrating having to bend down to wash my hair (I am 175cm tall).

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Amy C
WestPlazaNZ, General Manager at West Plaza Hotel, responded to this review

Thanks so much for your positive feedback, it’s so nice to hear that your enjoyed your stay at West Plaza Hotel. We do hope to see you again in the future. Thanks again. Regards, Julie Wilcock - GM

Pamber Green
Reviewed 5 weeks ago

Close to the ever popular Cuba St, harbour area, museum & cable car plus huge choice of shops all in walking distance. Good facilities, everything you need in a hotel room. Only negative was a) I purchased a bottle of craft beer that tasted awful and they asked me to purchase another one when I expected a refund and b)...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Tony R
WestPlazaNZ, General Manager at West Plaza Hotel, responded to this review

Thanks for your feedback, I have passed your comments regarding the craft beer onto the Restaurant Manager to further investigate. On check in we provide 800mb of complimentary Wi-Fi, most of our guests find this satisfactory for a 24 hour stay. After this amount is fully used, we do offer unlimited Wi-Fi at a minimal cost. We are a mid-range...

Auckland Region, New Zealand
Reviewed 5 weeks ago

Pretty average room TBH small looking onto a car park building, nothing special at all... Although the upside is you can get a great breakfast there, the order system sucks though, upon entering the restaurant you were expecting to place your order before sitting down

 Report
Helpful?
Thank awondering
WestPlazaNZ, General Manager at West Plaza Hotel, responded to this review

Thanks for your feedback, it’s good to hear that you enjoyed your breakfast. We are a mid-range value for money accommodation option situated in the heart of Wellington CBD and we are sorry we were not the style of hotel you were looking for. I will also pass on your comments about the breakfast ordering process onto the F&B team...

51 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (31)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Other (14)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (20)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Other (5)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wellington hotels
0.6 km away
ibis Wellington
ibis Wellington
#17 of 46 in Wellington
2,050 reviews
0.6 km away
James Cook Hotel Grand Chancellor
0.4 km away
Travelodge Hotel Wellington
Travelodge Hotel Wellington
#15 of 46 in Wellington
2,430 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Grand Mercure Wellington Central City Apartments
0.7 km away
Novotel Wellington
Novotel Wellington
#12 of 46 in Wellington
1,945 reviews
0.5 km away
CityLife Wellington
CityLife Wellington
#10 of 46 in Wellington
787 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Food & drink at the hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
Services
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Conference Facilities
  • Room Service
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Banquet Room
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
In the heart of Wellington city opposite the Town Hall and Convention Centre; West Plaza Hotel offers a welcoming friendly atmosphere with 102 spacious and comfortable rooms. A short drive from the airport and ferry terminals and just a short walk to the national Museum Te Papa, the waterfront and the best shops, restaurants and entertainment the capital has to offer. Providing everything required to make your stay a comfortable and relaxed experience. Facilities include on-site car parking, 24 hour room service, flat rate wireless broadband access, tea/coffee making facilities, Sky TV and much more. Choose from 102 rooms - a combination of twins and doubles, including 6 suites.With large windows looking out to the hustle and bustle of the city. City Dining & Bar offers fresh New Zealand cuisine and a selection of boutique New Zealand wines.Choose from four versatile conference rooms; full catering, audio- visual equipment and presentation facilities are available. ... more   less 

Additional Information about West Plaza Hotel

Address: 110 Wakefield St, Wellington 6011, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Greater Wellington > Wellington
Price Range: RM410 - RM1,054 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — West Plaza Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 102
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda, Booking.com, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your West Plaza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
West Plaza Wellington
Hotel Style:
#17 Luxury Hotel in Wellington
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from West Plaza Hotel staff and other travellers.
6 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (6)

Questions? Get answers from West Plaza Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“I would contact West Plaza direct to book”
 of 5 bubbles Rachelann08, 13 Feb 2017 | Read review
“North facing rooms are quieter”
 of 5 bubbles , 29 Jan 2017 | Read review
“No, all seemed bog standard”
 of 5 bubbles AnonymousMalaga, 23 Jan 2017 | Read review
“We were on the 3rd floor and heard no sounds at all.”
 of 5 bubbles coling6, 7 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Room 301 is at the front of the building and has a balcony”
 of 5 bubbles nigela133, 2 Jan 2017 | Read review
5 of 5