We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

The Cambridge Hotel

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Professional photos
The Cambridge Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

598 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 558: English reviews
Whanganui, New Zealand
Reviewed yesterday NEW

my room was good you had shared toilets and shower. some rooms have there own. i was only wanting some where to sleep. you had hotel bar down stairs and restaurant. plus other places close by. if you don't mind walking you can take a good 20 - 30 min walk to the water front te papa isn't that far...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Tony M
Reviewed 2 days ago NEWvia mobile

we stayed in November .The room was very good. Cleaned every day and we could choose when the sheets were changed during our stay .The staff were very friendly and help full .The Cambridge is very close to bus stops Courtney place a really fantastic 8 day adventure thank you. Jane Watson

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jane w
Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 1 week ago

Location, outside view of hotel & staff all good. My room for the night was minging, stained dirty,looking towel & bed linen, so bad that that I turned the pillow cases inside out. The window had a broken pane of glass, the sink only had 1 tap working (the cold one). The shared bathroom had lots of water on the...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank 123nyfb
MightyCambridge, Manager at The Cambridge Hotel, responded to this review

Hello, Thank you for taking the time to review Cambridge Hotel on Trip Advisor. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed the central location, and staff during your recent stay with us. It's very disappointing to read the cleanliness and maintenance issues you experienced during your recent stay with us. This is certainly not up to our usual standard,...

Taupo, New Zealand
Reviewed 1 week ago

I expected a degree of noise in the hotel from the street or the wind in Welly but the noise I experiened was far worse than expected and from neither of these sources. My room (402) in the backpacker wing of the hotel was extremely noisy due to what I believe was an extractor fan from the kitchen or laundry....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank an0nyn0n
MightyCambridge, Manager at The Cambridge Hotel, responded to this review

Hello, Thank you for taking the time to review Cambridge Hotel on Trip Advisor. It's great to read that you found the staff to be friendly and helpful during your recent stay with us. I am very sorry to read that you shortened your stay with us, due to noise, and wish we had the opportunity to offer a solution...

Mount Maunganui, New Zealand
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

The Cambridge was great clean, tidy, reasonable prices the staff that I dealt with were friendly & helpful. I had 2 granddaughters with me & the only thing that we could on the tv were a couple of sport channels not good.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Raewyn1960
MightyCambridge, Manager at The Cambridge Hotel, responded to this review

Hi Raewyn, First of all we’d like to extend a warm thank you for taking the time to review Cambridge Hotel on TripAdvisor. We’re glad to read that you and your granddaughters enjoyed your recent stay with us, and found the team to be friendly and helpful. I am sorry that we were experiencing issues with our TV channels during...

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

To start off, the place wouldn't let us check in to our room until 2pm, even though the room was ready (I know this is common for most places but for a hostel it seems ridiculous). Once we were granted access to our room we were appalled. Stained, dirty carpet, one single sheet on the bed despite the room having...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank HTSchuyler
MightyCambridge, Manager at The Cambridge Hotel, responded to this review

Hello, Thank you for taking the time to leave your feedback on Trip Advisor. I am very sorry to read that you did not enjoy your recent stay with us. I wish we had been given the chance to discuss this in more detail during your stay, and been given the chance to resolve some of these issues. Our guaranteed...

Umea, Sweden
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We had a fine stay apart from a very shaky earthquake. The staff were calm and collected. And helpful. We had a good stay despite the many after quakes which we slowly got used to. The hotel is very central.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank swedishsatish
MightyCambridge, Manager at The Cambridge Hotel, responded to this review

Hello, First of all we’d like to extend a warm thank you for taking the time to review Cambridge Hotel on TripAdvisor. We’re glad to read that you found the staff to be helpful and calm during the recent earthquakes in Wellington. We take both guest and the team's safety very seriously, so it is great to hear that you...

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Very nice living place, a bit noisy on the week end but i met a lot of people in there which is quit good for me as i just arrived in New Zealand. The siutation in Wellington is just perfect (less than 15 min walk from almost everything the city have to offer), perfect place for someone who want to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sébastien T
MightyCambridge, Manager at The Cambridge Hotel, responded to this review

Hello Sebastien, First of all we’d like to extend a warm thank you for taking the time to review Cambridge Hotel on TripAdvisor. We’re glad to read that the Cambridge Hotel was a great base for you to discover all that Wellington has to offer, upon your recent arrival. Thank you for posting your reassuring comments after the recent earthquake....

Golden Bay, New Zealand
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

A group of 10 of us stayed at the Cambridge for the weekend and loved it. The staff looked after us so well and we had everything we needed in one spot. Will definetly be staying again next time we go to Wellington.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jeanbruning
MightyCambridge, Manager at The Cambridge Hotel, responded to this review

Hi Jean, First of all we’d like to extend a warm thank you for taking the time to review Cambridge Hotel on TripAdvisor. We’re delighted to hear that you had such a wonderful stay, and our team were able look after you. I will definitely pass on your lovely comments. We hope if you return to Wellington you choose again...

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I stayed two nights (Friday & Saturday) in room 124 and right outside my window was the roof of a bar or nightclub. Music and noisy people singing and partying well into the night. It was after 2am before I fell sleep, exhausted, on the Saturday night. They were still partying. I recommend ear plugs if you want to stay...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Joy H
MightyCambridge, Manager at The Cambridge Hotel, responded to this review

Hi Joy, Thank you for taking the time leave feedback for the Cambridge Hotel on Trip Advisor. We’re glad to read that you found the staff to be friendly and helpful, and enjoyed the central location during your recent stay with us. It’s unfortunate that the carry over noise from the bar affected your stay with us. We are aware...

70 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (52)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (18)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (3)
Viewed
Other (20)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (18)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (5)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wellington hotels
1.2 km away
Travelodge Hotel Wellington
Travelodge Hotel Wellington
#13 of 46 in Wellington
2,288 reviews
1.3 km away
ibis Wellington
ibis Wellington
#17 of 46 in Wellington
1,945 reviews
0.5 km away
At Home Wellington
At Home Wellington
#1 of 46 in Wellington
647 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 km away
Bolton Hotel Wellington
Bolton Hotel Wellington
#3 of 46 in Wellington
1,255 reviews
0.6 km away
Amora Hotel Wellington
Amora Hotel Wellington
#9 of 46 in Wellington
1,100 reviews
0.9 km away
Trinity Hotel
Trinity Hotel
#27 of 46 in Wellington
445 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Laundry Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Beautiful heritage building.Immensely popular for our value accommodation and our central location in the heart of the city. From traditional rooms upstairs, to state of the art backpacker facilities.Come, join us in the bar for a free kiwi BBQ every Wednesday,or our fab menus with breaky starting from only $3 for eggs on toast! ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Cambridge Hotel

Address: 28 Cambridge Terrace, Wellington 6011, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Greater Wellington > Wellington
Price Range: RM169 - RM351 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — The Cambridge Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HotelTravel.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your The Cambridge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cambridge Hotel Wellington
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Wellington
#15 Business Hotel in Wellington
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Cambridge Hotel staff and other travellers.
4 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (4)

Questions? Get answers from The Cambridge Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“check out its rooms on its website then decide from there”
 of 5 bubbles TonyM431, 7 Dec 2016 | Read review
“My room was away from the street, but very noisy with partying past 2am in the morning on nights I was there.”
 of 5 bubbles joyh671, 7 Nov 2016 | Read review
“They are all noisy sorry. I did ask but they did not have an ensuite rooms away from the road.”
 of 5 bubbles , 1 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Rooms are both ensuite or shared bathroom”
 of 5 bubbles t0nyb36, 25 Oct 2016 | Read review
“We were a Mother with two adult daughters in Wellington for WOW. We asked for a room with 3 single beds and an ensuite, and it was perfect for us. Needed somewhere with a tables and power points for the elctric jug etc. Beds comfortable.”
 of 5 bubbles kathrynmW6061TA, 3 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay