We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Base Wellington Backpackers

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Base Wellington Backpackers
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel"},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

288 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Base Wellington Backpackers
See the most recent reviews
Showing 254: English reviews
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 May 2015

This review goes for Base in general as well as Base Wellington, but my overall experience was dreadful. I can't think of a single redeeming feature of this hostel, apart from maybe the location is fine and if you book on nakedsleep website it is relatively cheap. Otherwise, you are ripped off around every corner. The duvets were covered in...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank tammy45_12
Timo H, General Manager at Base Wellington Backpackers, responded to this review

Kia Ora, Thank you for choosing to stay at Base Backpackers Wellington. We really appreciate you taking the time to complete the on line survey. Thank you for your feedback. I am very surprised to hear you had such a bad experience as all are staff have been backpacking many years and we are proud to be able to provide...

Carlisle, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 May 2015 via mobile

Visited in late summer and the rooms were far too warm with no fan and windows sealed shut. Free meal was good. Bar deals and social atmosphere. Bathrooms clean enough. Large clean kitchen. Good location just a short walk to other bars and supermarket

 Report
Helpful?
Thank peachiepagan
Timo H, General Manager at Base Wellington Backpackers, responded to this review

Kia Ora, Thank you for choosing to stay at Base Backpackers Wellington. We really appreciate you taking the time to complete the on line survey. Thank you for your feedback. We always aim to improve our facilities, due to the extreme weather patterns recently we try to improve and adjust our facilities and we certainly appreciate your feedback. Thanks again,...

Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Reviewed 22 April 2015

I've stayed at other Bases in NZ and Australia and I know what to expect even though I'm not the typical Base guest. I can get along with clueless kids but there has to be a limit. If you stay in a dorm the chances of you having a dirty and obnoxious room mate are high. My tactic when staying...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank dilemmachine
Timo H, General Manager at Base Wellington Backpackers, responded to this review

Hiya, Thank you for choosing to stay at Base Backpackers Wellington. We really appreciate you taking the time to complete the on line survey. Thank you for your great feedback. Please next time report those drunken fools to us right away as we love to get more tough but we cannot check everyone's room as you can imagine. Timo Hummel

Reviewed 22 April 2015 via mobile

I stayed in a 4 bed dorm for one night in April 2015, as part of the Kiwi Experience. My only complaints were that the wifi wouldn't work properly in our room, despite having paid for it. Another negative was that, despite being on the sixth floor, we could hear all of the noise throughout the hostel through the night....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank kaylazul
Timo H, General Manager at Base Wellington Backpackers, responded to this review

Hiya, Thank you for choosing to stay at Base Backpackers Wellington. We really appreciate you taking the time to complete the on line survey. Thank you for your feedback. Our apologies for the lack on internet although we have 2 x modem installed on each floor to guarantee best connectivity. We will investigate this incident with our internet provider to...

Wollongong, Australia
Reviewed 31 March 2015 via mobile

Fortunately I only had to stay here for 1 night. Building felt run down, terrible room mates who drank through the night in the corridor and tried to in the room. People there who were not staying in the hostel. And in my room you were not allowed to open the window, it was so hot and smelly and there...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jadie8888
Timo H, General Manager at Base Wellington Backpackers, responded to this review

Hiya, Thank you for choosing to stay at Base Backpackers Wellington. We really appreciate you taking the time to complete the on line survey. Thank you for your feedback. My apology if you have experienced such a bad stay with us, unfortunately we do attract sometimes people which do not know how to behave in shared facilities but generally our...

Reviewed 22 March 2015

This place was okay... but it is very worn down... bathrooms was dirty... one toilet was blocked for 2 days... someone took a massive dump... so I really blame the guest here and not the backpackers so much... its the kinda pigs you attract if the place is not up to shape. Also need to pay for a lot of...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Derick7Z
Timo H, General Manager at Base Wellington Backpackers, responded to this review

Hiya, Thank you for choosing to stay at Base Backpackers Wellington. We really appreciate you taking the time to complete the on line survey. Thank you for your feedback. I am glad you enjoyed your stay , unfortunately we cannot offer everything for free and services are offered for small additional fees which are equal or cheaper with other Hostels...

Reviewed 22 March 2015 via mobile

The electronics in our room blew at 10pm when we were just about to sleep. We were told there's nothing they can do about it. After requesting a wake up call in the morning as we had a flight early and nowhere to charge our phone to use our alarm, they said 'Nah we don't do that, we can leave...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank T-Dawggg
Timo H, General Manager at Base Wellington Backpackers, responded to this review

Hiya, Thank you for choosing to stay at Base Backpackers Wellington. We really appreciate you taking the time to complete the on line survey. Thank you for your feedback. We apologies for the inconvenience but something which got plugged in to the sockets blew the fuse. Due to safety regulations we have to investigate what might have blown the fuse...

new zealand
Reviewed 18 March 2015 via mobile

Paid for single ensuite room. Wonderful view from a huge balcony over the harbour. No hot water at all in the bathroom. The duff duff music reverberated from the basement bar to the 6th floor on a Sunday night until 3 am Monday.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank notagain9
Timo H, General Manager at Base Wellington Backpackers, responded to this review

Hiya, Thank you for choosing to stay at Base Backpackers Wellington. We really appreciate you taking the time to complete the on line survey. Thank you for your feedback. I am glad to enjoyed the room with the amazing Balcony and the unbeatable view, this room is facing Courtney place which is unfortunately the main hub for nightlife although you...

Oxford, United Kingdom
Reviewed 7 March 2015

We stayed here twice,both times purely because of the kiwi experience dropping us off here. The only two positives were the central location and the free meal on your first night (you only get that if you are on Kiwi Experience however). We stayed in a female only dorm and in the summer heat it was sweltering. The bathrooms were...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Henrietta16
Timo H, General Manager at Base Wellington Backpackers, responded to this review

Hiya, Thank you for choosing to stay at Base Backpackers Wellington. We really appreciate you taking the time to complete the on line survey. Thank you for your feedback, unfortunately we always battle against the nature of messy people, our bathrooms getting cleaned up to 6 times per day yet sometimes we lose the battle. Our apology if we have...

Christchurch, New Zealand
Reviewed 3 March 2015

much encouragement to drink at the bar here, aimed at young party people I think. Kitchen wasn't that clean but I think this is a byproduct of many young party people in the same place, I'm sure the staff try to keep up with the messy inhabitants. The free dinner was not vegetarian so instead I was given a voucher...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Claire_porteous1989
Timo H, General Manager at Base Wellington Backpackers, responded to this review

Hiya, Thank you for choosing to stay at Base Backpackers Wellington. We really appreciate you taking the time to complete the on line survey. Thanks for the great Feedback, we always aim to improve our facilities and take your feedback seriously. regards Timo Hummel

40 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (27)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (10)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (13)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (10)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wellington hotels
0.1 km away
The Cambridge Hotel
The Cambridge Hotel
#16 of 46 in Wellington
624 reviews
0.4 km away
At Home Wellington
At Home Wellington
#1 of 46 in Wellington
677 reviews
0.3 km away
QT Museum Wellington
QT Museum Wellington
#8 of 46 in Wellington
1,486 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 km away
Copthorne Hotel Wellington Oriental Bay
1.2 km away
InterContinental Wellington
0.2 km away
YHA Wellington
YHA Wellington
#3 of 46 in Wellington
541 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Self-Serve Laundry

Additional Information about Base Wellington Backpackers

Address: 21-23 Cambridge Terrace, Wellington, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Greater Wellington > Wellington
Price Range: RM103 - RM718 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Base Wellington Backpackers 2*
Number of rooms: 285
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Agoda, HostelWorld, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Base Wellington Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Base Wellington Backpackers Hotel Wellington
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Base Wellington Backpackers staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question
6 months ago
New Plymouth, New Zealand

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Base Wellington Backpackers staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“The higher the room, the better the sleep”
 of 5 bubbles 974jaccip, 21 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Ask for harbor view.”
 of 5 bubbles avram22, 29 Jan 2017 | Read review
“It's noisy on every floor, especially near the kitchen, and the top floor.”
 of 5 bubbles G4933PPmeganw, 22 Oct 2016 | Read review
“I would say though, go the private rooms. The view of the city was spectacular from the eighth floor!”
 of 5 bubbles Barbary_Skipper, 14 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Good staff”
 of 5 bubbles , 9 Sep 2016 | Read review
5 of 5