We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
See all Speciality Lodging in Wellington

Base Wellington Backpackers

388 reviews
Save
Traveller (44)
Room & Suite (19)
Dining (4)
Overview
  • Excellent19%
  • Very good22%
  • Average26%
  • Poor15%
  • Terrible18%
Travellers talk about
“basement bar”(19 reviews)
“huge kitchen”(5 reviews)
Wifi
Non-Smoking Hotel
Bar/Lounge
Self-Serve Laundry
Breakfast included
Air Conditioning
2.0 Star Hotel
All hotel details
{"containerClass":null,"containerAttributes":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null}
Reviews (388)Write a Review
There are newer reviews for Base Wellington Backpackers
See the most recent reviews
Filter reviews
349 results
Traveller rating
69
73
87
54
66
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
69
73
87
54
66
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbasement barcleaned regularlyhuge kitchenmount victoriacourtney placecommon areascourtenay placesouth islandtop floorbars and restaurantsdouble roomte papa museumlocation is greatwould stay againcity centrenightlifeensuite
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
91 - 95 of 349 reviews
Reviewed 3 March 2017 via mobile

Nice place to stay, very friendly staff, good atmosphere, clean bathrooms and kitchen. location near to everything like shopping, new world, restaurants, te papa museum, Mount Victoria. not far from cubastreet.

Thank Nina B
Response from Timo H, General Manager at Base Wellington BackpackersResponded 23 March 2017

Kia Ora,Thank you for choosing to stay at Base Backpackers Wellington. We really appreciate you taking the time to complete the on line survey. Thanks for the great feedback. Timo Hummel

Reviewed 1 March 2017 via mobile

I had a valid booking for here and after a terrible incident happened while getting cash out for my stay my wallet was stolen so I went to reception for the hostel after speaking to the company who owned the hostel and explained my situation...More

Thank Nathan R
Response from Timo H, General Manager at Base Wellington BackpackersResponded 23 March 2017

Kia Ora,Thank you for choosing to stay at Base Backpackers Wellington. We really appreciate you taking the time to complete the on line survey. Thanks for your feedback , Sorry to hear you had your wallet stolen although I believe most of your feedback seems...More

Reviewed 28 February 2017

Very good location, great bar, great room options. However the private room I had was a big letdown. Eaten alive, I counted 3 different species of bugs in the bed! Not cool! Need to do much better then that.More

Thank Stewart A
Response from Timo H, General Manager at Base Wellington BackpackersResponded 23 March 2017

Kia Ora,Thank you for choosing to stay at Base Backpackers Wellington. We really appreciate you taking the time to complete the on line survey. I am really sorry to hear about this. We have very strict procedures in place and all our beds & rooms...More

Reviewed 27 February 2017

I stayed here with the Kiwi Experience tour, and it was my final place in New Zealand. Wellington is a great city and this hostel is really well located in the heart, with a supermarket just down the road, and bars and restaurants all within...More

Thank Maisie A
Response from Timo H, General Manager at Base Wellington BackpackersResponded 23 March 2017

Kia Ora,Thank you for choosing to stay at Base Backpackers Wellington. We really appreciate you taking the time to complete the on line survey. Thank you very much for your great feedback. Timo Hummel

Reviewed 26 February 2017 via mobile

It was pretty pricey for what it was worth showers were cold, only free wifi from 7am-7pm so if your gonna all day you have to pay to have wifi at the other hours. The staff was really nice though and since they do the...More

Thank kristacat123
Response from Timo H, General Manager at Base Wellington BackpackersResponded 23 March 2017

Kia Ora,Thank you for choosing to stay at Base Backpackers Wellington. We really appreciate you taking the time to complete the on line survey. Sorry to hear about the cold showers, we had a few problems with our water pump which sometimes didnt pump enough...More

View more reviews
PreviousNext
1171819202170
About
Amenities
Top amenities
Bar/Lounge
Hotel Amenities
Self-Serve Laundry
Things to do
Bar/Lounge
Details
Price range
US$43 - US$100 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms
Details
Price range
US$43 - US$100 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms
Add Photo Photos
Traveller (44)
Room & Suite (19)
Dining (4)
Hotel & Grounds (25)
Bathroom (7)
Business Centre & Event Rooms (2)
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
Ebef Q
23 August 2016|
Answer
Response from Reception_BW | Property representative |
Hiya, We have unlimited data internet at Base Wellington. low speed for tablet etc $4 per day / $12 per week High speed for laptop/live streaming etc $6 per day/$18 per week there are a few free internet hot spots around... More
0
Votes
208christine
29 May 2016|
Answer
Response from Lucca Q | Reviewed this property |
You should call the hostel or check in its site stayatbase . com
0
Votes
Room Tips
"Bring ear plugs!"
Read review
"Less noise on higher floors. Check in after 3pm or 4pm for less people at reception. Groups checking in at..."
Read review
"Higher rooms are usually less noisy."
Read review
"The santuary rooms can get full fast, book early."
Read review
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing
Map
Satellite