We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Nomads Capital Hostel Wellington

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Professional photos
Nomads Capital Hostel Wellington
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel_streamline","template":"ibex_photo_carousel_streamline__widget","dust":{},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel_streamline","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

284 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 246: English reviews
Frankfurt, Germany
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

+ the next door Bar + was rather quiet + the double/ensuite was very clean + the staff was helpful and friendly + free pancake dough for breakfast - staff needs practise on pancake dough - WiFi speed was not good

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Helge K
Perth, Australia
Reviewed 1 week ago NEWvia mobile

This is quite a well situated hostel, within walking distance of the main hubs of Courtenay street, parliament and the waterfront. A dry hostel but a solid and cheap bar attached. 4 person share dorms w/bathroom are reasonable too. Will always deduct a star for charging extra for internet access to travellers.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank igipopa
Ornskoldsvik, Sweden
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We stayed for one night in a private three bed room. The room and the toilet were clean and big enough. Okay beds. The hostel is situated in the centre of town and the staff will help you to arrange ferry shuttle etc. The negative things: no free internet and a lot of noices during the evening/night that made it...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sandra F
Reviewed 16 December 2016

Overal I enjoyed my stay at this hostel. The location is great, just a short walk to the harbor, Te Papa Museum and Cuba Street. The rooms were nice and clean and the beds were comfy. The free breakfast and (small) dinner were awesome, and the bar next door is a great place to hang out in at night, they...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank iriswieris
NomadsCapital118, General Manager at Nomads Capital Hostel Wellington, responded to this review

Hi there, thank you for taking the time to leave a review. we are stoked to see that you enjoyed your stay. We are indeed very lucky to be so centrally located to all that Wellington has to offer. We pride ourselves on having a clean and comfortable hostel. We are also happy to see that you enjoyed the 2...

Reviewed 10 December 2016 via mobile

Do not go here. Typical city chain hostel, they offer you a dorm for overprize with no free wifi, and if you have any complaints they will not care. I accidently booked 2 nights with Stray and I wanted to change it to 1 night because my friends went to another place. There was absolutely no chance for refund 30...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Erik L
NomadsCapital118, General Manager at Nomads Capital Hostel Wellington, responded to this review

Hi there, thank you for taking the time to leave a review. The price which you paid for your dorm was heavily discounted due to the fact that you were traveling with a tour bus company. We do indeed care about our guests and their complaints. We take these matters very seriously. However we are a business and you had...

Reviewed 29 November 2016 via mobile

Nomads is a nice hostel in a really good location in the city. The dorms are really clean and secure. Only negatives were the wifi (have to pay and still not good quality) and the kitchen is tiny. You do get a free dinner in the bar next door which is decent and has good drinks promos.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Tiernan D
NomadsCapital118, General Manager at Nomads Capital Hostel Wellington, responded to this review

Hi there, thank you for taking the time to leave a review. We are stoked to see that you enjoyed you enjoyed your stay. We are indeed very lucky to be so centrally located to all that Wellington has to offer. We do pride ourselves on our cleanliness and its awesome to it appreciated. Our kitchen is a tad small...

Ottawa, Canada
Reviewed 29 November 2016

From the outset, this hostel was not worth the money or the hassle of staying there. There is no free wifi (unlike Wellington YHA that has amazing wifi), the kitchen is incredibly small (I mean tiny), and even after asking the front desk I couldn't get the sink and shower cleaned in my room (the girls who were in the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MMurdoch13
NomadsCapital118, General Manager at Nomads Capital Hostel Wellington, responded to this review

Hi there, thank you for the feedback. It is disappointing to see that you did not enjoy your stay. We would the opportunity to discuss this with you further if you would like to email us at info@nomadscapital.com. Saoirse, General Manager

Meaux, Ile-de-France, France
Reviewed 28 November 2016

The staff was really unhelpful the room was not cleaned for at least one week, piles of garbage were in the floor the smell made it impossible to rest. The window had to be open and the fan on so it made the air breathable, making the room crazy cold. The beds where crazy uncomfortable with broken springs in the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank JoanaFVAlves
NomadsCapital118, General Manager at Nomads Capital Hostel Wellington, responded to this review

Hi Joana, cheers for the review, we are very glad to be given the opportunity to respond. I am very confused as you stayed with us for 2 nights but state that the room had not been cleaned in 1 week. After your complaint to reception that the 10 bed dorm was too full , we spoke to the other...

Jackson, Tennessee
Reviewed 24 November 2016 via mobile

The good: location The bad: I booked in to a dorm and barely slept the 2 nights I was there. There is a bar next door or underneath the rooms that thumps music until 4 am. It was obnoxiously disruptive. The staff at checkin seemed very impatient and appeared visibly annoyed with every question. The kitchen is far to small...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ryanoetting
NomadsCapital118, General Manager at Nomads Capital Hostel Wellington, responded to this review

Hi there, thank you for taking the time to leave a review. We are indeed very lucky to be so centrally located to all that Wellington has to offer. We ares sorry to hear that the bar kept you awake. We do have free ear plugs available at reception, and the bar will lower the volume if requested to do...

Birmingham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 15 November 2016 via mobile

Stayed in a 10 bed room for one night (should've been 2 but my plans changed). The room itself was really spacious and clean and the shared facilities were also really well looked after. Cleanliness and the ability to sleep is all I look for when I'm staying somewhere and Nomads definitely had both of those! It was a very...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Slt1234
NomadsCapital118, General Manager at Nomads Capital Hostel Wellington, responded to this review

Hi there, thank you for taking the time to leave a review. We are super stoked to see that you enjoyed your stay. we hope to see you back in the near future. Saoirse, General Manager.

31 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (20)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Other (9)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (11)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wellington hotels
0.8 km away
The Cambridge Hotel
The Cambridge Hotel
#15 of 46 in Wellington
607 reviews
0.5 km away
InterContinental Wellington
0.5 km away
Museum Art Hotel Wellington
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 km away
ibis Wellington
ibis Wellington
#17 of 46 in Wellington
1,989 reviews
0.4 km away
At Home Wellington
At Home Wellington
#1 of 46 in Wellington
665 reviews
0.0 km away
West Plaza Hotel
West Plaza Hotel
#21 of 46 in Wellington
401 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Kitchenette
Internet
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
Services
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Nomads Capital is a 5 star flashpacker hostel right in the heart of Wellington. Five minutes walk from the vibrant Cuba Street, bustling Courtenay Place, beautiful waterfront and award winning Te Papa Museum. With a range of rooms to suit every traveller and budget, and our own on-site bar and Travel Desk, we can take care of your every need while you are in town. This really is the perfect place to stay! ... more   less 

Additional Information about Nomads Capital Hostel Wellington

Address: 118-120 Wakefield Street | PO Box 11-247, Wellington 6011, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Greater Wellington > Wellington
Price Range: RM97 - RM531 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Nomads Capital Hostel Wellington 5*
Number of rooms: 48
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, HostelWorld, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your Nomads Capital Hostel Wellington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nomads Capital Hostel Wellington Hotel Wellington
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Nomads Capital Hostel Wellington staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Nomads Capital Hostel Wellington staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“double/ensuite”
 of 5 bubbles , 17 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Opt for the smaller female dorms over the stinky 10-bed mixed ones”
 of 5 bubbles MMurdoch13, 28 Nov 2016 | Read review
“We got a private room (double or twin) and it worked out to be about 50 a night with own bathroom, really great value!”
 of 5 bubbles , 1 Oct 2016 | Read review
“We were on third floor which was probably good”
 of 5 bubbles , 3 Sep 2016 | Read review
“The rooms in the lowest floors are too close to the bar and are noisy.”
 of 5 bubbles s0cium, 9 Jun 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay