We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Rydges Wellington

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Rydges Wellington
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,716 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Rydges Wellington
See the most recent reviews
Showing 1,679: English reviews
Brisbane, Australia
Reviewed 16 May 2016

Fantastic service from the minute we arrived and the bed was super comfy. We had dinner in the restaurant, which was sensational also. Definitely recommend Rydges Wellington based on service, room quality, food and location.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank carlywieland
Catherine H, Public Relations Manager at Rydges Wellington, responded to this review

Hi Carly, Thank you very much for the 5/5 star review! We're pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay and found the bed super comfy! We're also glad you were able to sample our award winning restaurant Portlander while you were here. If you have a moment, please leave a review over on Portlander's separate TripAdvisor page - we'd really...

Whangarei, New Zealand
Reviewed 16 May 2016

Outstanding service and a really great place to stay. Excellent staff, really friendly and helpful. The inhouse restaurant Portlander serves amazing food and is so easy to access. Great place to stay highly recommend it.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank carinadg
Catherine H, Public Relations Manager at Rydges Wellington, responded to this review

Hi Carina, Thank you very much for the 5/5 star review! We're pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay, and also that you were able to sample our award winning restaurant Portlander while you were here. If you have a moment, please leave a review over on Portlander's separate TripAdvisor page - we'd really appreciate it! Thanks again, Catherine H

Dunedin, New Zealand
Reviewed 14 May 2016

I had an unplanned stop in Wellington due to the weather. Desperate for a bed late at night and Rydges had a few rooms. The only room available was on the 15th floor and had a harbour view (but...... pitch black so a bit wasted on me). The room had everything - iron, cooking element (basic), a good range of...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank AndyTheChef2014
Catherine H, Public Relations Manager at Rydges Wellington, responded to this review

Hi Andy, Ah yes - that typical Wellington weather! We're sorry it interrupted your plans, but happy that you chose to stay here at Rydges. Thank you for taking the time to share your review too, we're glad that you found your room comfortable and that you enjoyed the drink coupon. We hope to see you again should you have...

Newcastle, Australia
Reviewed 12 May 2016

We loved our stay at Rydges Wellington. The room was big and comfortable and as always, the bed was super comfortable. Great views over the harbour provided a nice place to sit for the afternoon. The room was also equipped with a decent sized sink, microwave and cooktop. The highlight of the stay was definitely the buffet breakfast. It's been...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Catherine M
Catherine H, Public Relations Manager at Rydges Wellington, responded to this review

Hi Catherine, (great name, by the way!) Thank you very much for your lovely review of Rydges, and the 5/5 score! We really do love hearing from happy guests. It's great to hear you enjoyed our breakfast buffet - we often find ourselves wishing we could have it everyday as well. Toast doesn't quite cut it in comparison! We hope...

Wellington Nz
Reviewed 11 May 2016

Quiet, reasonably spacious room with nice shower etc. great service from restaurant who bent over backwards to fit us in on a busy night. Nice food and good service and not too expensive. Overall a pleasant stay - will return.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Chris D
Catherine H, Public Relations Manager at Rydges Wellington, responded to this review

Hi Chris, Thank you for the lovely review! We're happy to hear our restaurant, Portlander, were able to fit you in! Should you have a spare moment, please consider leaving a review over on Portlander's separate TripAdvisor page - it would be much appreciated! Thanks again, Catherine H

Nelson, Nelson, New Zealand
Reviewed 11 May 2016

We got away for a weekend to Wellington and booked the hotel online. It was a great deal. Overall the hotel was great. We stayed in the room facing the Beehive, and when we arrived it was unbearably hot due to the sun. It would have been good to have the aircon turned on earlier by the staff as they...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jamie H
Catherine H, Public Relations Manager at Rydges Wellington, responded to this review

Hi Jamie, Thank you for your feedback - we really do appreciate our guests thoughts! We're glad that, overall, you enjoyed your stay with us, though we do apologise for your room being a bit of an oven when you arrived! We'll be more careful in future to switch the air con on sooner. Also, you'll be happy to hear...

Pukalani, Hawaii
Reviewed 8 May 2016 via mobile

The location is walking distance to all the CBD, shopping and the wharf. The rooms are nice size, kitchen sink and silverware. They are just a block back from the main road which helps with any street noise. The restaurant is great for meals and happy hour. Many options to choose from. Being on the ground floor and on the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank John W
Catherine H, Public Relations Manager at Rydges Wellington, responded to this review

Hi John, Thank you for your lovely comments! We're so pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us, and enjoyed our award winning restaurant, Portlander. If you had a spare moment, we'd love if you could leave us a review over on Portlander's separate TripAdvisor page. Thanks again and we hope to see you on your next visit to...

Waikato
Reviewed 8 May 2016

We stayed in Rydges for three nights on business. It is in a good location, just a 4 minute walk to Lambton Quay and Parliament building. It is worth getting a room overlooking the harbour for the view. Our room wasn't as clean as it should be, so we were moved promptly to a higher floor, which was better and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Eco2
Catherine H, Public Relations Manager at Rydges Wellington, responded to this review

Hi there, Thank you for your review, it's great that our convenient location was handy for your business needs. However please do accept our apologies regarding your initial room not being quite up to scratch, though we are glad to hear you were promptly moved to better room. We are sorry for any inconvenience this may have caused. We hope...

Reviewed 7 May 2016 via mobile

Whilst my room was spacious, it was tired and a bit shabby. The worst aspect was the bathroom, which smelled mouldy, and looked out of date. In addition, the heater remote didn't work. The good things were the very efficient lifts, the friendly staff, and the excellent food in the dining room. The breakfast food, whilst dear, was fresh and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank David A
Catherine H, Public Relations Manager at Rydges Wellington, responded to this review

Hi David, We have good news for you! We are currently undergoing a property-wide refurbishment, so everything will be up to date and sparkling in a few short months! We hope you'll come back and try it out for yourself. Until then, thank you for taking the time to leave us your thoughts. Kind regards, Catherine.

Airlie Beach, QLD
Reviewed 6 May 2016

We booked with Wotif and on arrival they could not find the reservation. Forced to load the computer to find the res, A really miserable poorly groomed male attendant who clearly wished I would go away finally conceded we did have a reservation then proceeded to give us a really crap room with no view when we had paid for...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank glamourboi
Catherine H, Public Relations Manager at Rydges Wellington, responded to this review

Hi there, Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts. While we are of course disappointed to receive a 2/5 star score, we do appreciate all feedback so we can strive to continually improve our services and facilities. Regarding the issues you experienced checking in, please do accept our apologies. Unfortunately as I'm sure you understand, sometimes things...

291 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (261)
Viewed
Room/Suite (69)
Viewed
View from Room (45)
Viewed
Dining (29)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (25)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (28)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (60)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (30)
Viewed
Room/Suite (11)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (7)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wellington hotels
0.5 km away
InterContinental Wellington
0.4 km away
Bolton Hotel Wellington
Bolton Hotel Wellington
#3 of 46 in Wellington
1,312 reviews
1.4 km away
Copthorne Hotel Wellington Oriental Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 km away
At Home Wellington
At Home Wellington
#1 of 46 in Wellington
675 reviews
0.4 km away
ibis Wellington
ibis Wellington
#17 of 46 in Wellington
2,025 reviews
1.3 km away
QT Museum Wellington
QT Museum Wellington
#8 of 46 in Wellington
1,485 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Room Service
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Rydges Wellington is located on downtown Featherston Street with a unique combination of harbour views and city outlooks. Ideally situated in New Zealand's capital city, Rydges Wellington is within close distance to the Westpac Stadium, Queens Wharf, Wellington Railway Station, both the Interislander and Bluebridge Ferry terminals and Lambton Quay for shopping.This 4+ Star hotel offers 280 accommodation rooms for business and leisure guests with the benefits of modern facilities including wireless internet throughout, iPads for guests and fantastic leisure facilities. All rooms feature flat screen televisions, free unlimited Wi-Fi, iPod docking stations and kitchenettes. There are 19 apartment style suites, perfect for your long stay requirements with washer and drier facilities available. Rydges Wellington is your landmark hotel in the Capital. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Rydges Wellington

Address: 75 Featherston Street, Wellington 6011, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Greater Wellington > Wellington
Price Range: RM565 - RM1,054 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Rydges Wellington 4.5*
Number of rooms: 280
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Agoda and Travelocity so you can book your Rydges Wellington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rydges Wellington Hotel Wellington
Holiday Inn Wellington
Wellington Holiday Inn
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Wellington
#6 Luxury Hotel in Wellington
#7 Family Hotel in Wellington
#12 Romantic Hotel in Wellington
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Rydges Wellington staff and other travellers.
15 questions
Ask a question
Brevard, North Carolina
over a year ago
London, United Kingdom
Auckland Region, New Zealand

See all questions (15)

Questions? Get answers from Rydges Wellington staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“I would ask for a harbour view room”
 of 5 bubbles DeniseA399, 21 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Don't choose this hotel if you want a bit of Luxury for a fair price - find somewhere else.”
 of 5 bubbles sheryn83, 19 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Room 512 is a fun city sort of view.”
 of 5 bubbles windsorsmom, 17 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Try and get a room away from the street noise”
 of 5 bubbles Tony4649, 16 Feb 2017 | Read review
“The higher, the better”
 of 5 bubbles J_Cage, 16 Feb 2017 | Read review
5 of 5