We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Blenheim Backpackers & Motorcamp

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Blenheim
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Management photos
Blenheim Backpackers & Motorcamp
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

43 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 39: English reviews
Reviewed 23 October 2016 via mobile

We came to Blenheim because we wanted to work here. My friend and I found a job offer on backbackerboard from the hostel every week, so we expected to start working as soon as we arrived. They gave us a list with contacts. No one of them mentioned, that there are no jobs because it is no season. So we...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Theresa R
BlenheimBackpackers, Manager at Blenheim Backpackers & Motorcamp, responded to this review

Hi Theresa, yes we usually do allow visitors to our guests, but not visitors who lie and deceive the managers/reception, as you both did. We never once promised you anything, and did clearly remind you of the work situation before you checked in. Correct me if I'm wrong but did you not find work while staying here? You both said...

Reviewed 26 July 2016 via mobile

The campground basically is a car park. There's no privacy or free space at all. No grass, just gravel. The sites are literally 2 meters aside the railroad which runs multiple times a night and definitely will wake you up. Facilities are old and not very clean. The Top10 holiday park just 100m down the road is way better and...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank rise33
BlenheimBackpackers, Owner at Blenheim Backpackers & Motorcamp, responded to this review

Hi Daniel, We are sorry to hear you had a bad experience while staying with us for you to say there is no free space or grass only gravel is not very accurate, you must not have seen the 30 sites at the rear of the backpackers which is a large grassy paddock with lots of shade from the large...

Whakapapa, New Zealand
Reviewed 1 March 2016 via mobile

I stayed here for about 5 weeks in October and November. I had a 4 bed dorm room with a kitchenette. It wasn't full at first but filled up after about a week of me being there. The room wasn't super large, but it worked well enough with the 4 of us, and we all happened to really get along...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Rae1331
BlenheimBackpackers, Owner at Blenheim Backpackers & Motorcamp, responded to this review

Hi Rae sorry you had a bad experience while staying with us, I am glad to say that now we are under new management.

Vancouver, Canada
Reviewed 16 February 2016 via mobile

There are only about 8 tent sites, however they are sandwiched between the railway line and the main road of the site. Paid for our site before properly checking it out (biggest mistake ever) and once we realised what it was like we asked for a refund and they said no. The wifi didn't work, and there were no kitchen...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank cubcubtonton
BlenheimBackpackers, Owner at Blenheim Backpackers & Motorcamp, responded to this review

Hi there, sorry you had a bad experience here. When you checked in you would of received a copy of the rules and you would of been asked to read and sign them if you agree and in the rules it clearly states there are no refunds. Yes I agree our wifi does play up but we are working to...

Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Reviewed 15 December 2015

We only stayed here for one night in September and we ended up bumping in to friends. We sat out in the spacious garden and had a few beers. They said there are good parties on the weekend as it is a working hostel and there is a good vibe to the place. The rooms were spacious, beds comfortable and...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Davebrannen8
BlenheimBackpackers, Owner at Blenheim Backpackers & Motorcamp, responded to this review

Thankyou very much for your positive feedback

Mount Maunganui, New Zealand
Reviewed 31 August 2015

Pretty chill place with a nice social atmosphere. Was a great place to stay for a week, while working in the vineyards, to meet fellow backpackers from all over the world. Staff was kind and helpful. I enjoyed making art in the evenings in the outdoor library. A couple downsides are the Wifi was rather inconsistent and the interior walls...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank alaskatramper1990
Seoul, South Korea
Reviewed 16 August 2015 via mobile

I stayed 3months for summer of last year and anothet 3 months for this winter season. First, thank you for remember me and my partner when we were back again Blenheim. We expected peaceful and clean place like ever but it was not. Wifi doesn't work everytime but I was back again because Blenheim Backpacker was very cosy place. I...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 860ashleek
Singapore, Singapore
Reviewed 1 May 2015

We stayed for almost a month. The facilities are good, hot showers and pool available. We got the room so we had our own cosy patch with a kitchen. Couldn't ask for more. Its a great place to hang out and meet up with other people - the common areas are great for parties. Managers are friendly and really helpful....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank JillKwan
James D, General Manager at Blenheim Backpackers & Motorcamp, responded to this review

Thank you for the feedback. It was a pleasure having you at our facilities. All the best Seda and Martin

Timaru, New Zealand
Reviewed 11 March 2015

My partner and I enjoy camping and like places like this that are not flashy but provide the basic facilities you need when tenting. We have stayed twice and found it good value for what you pay but a tip is make sure you have warm sleeping bahs and clothing because as well as beautiful days Blenheim has frosty nights....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank heyrider
Sweetwater, Texas
Reviewed 10 February 2015

If I was staying in Blenheim for a week or more, I would stay here. We had a great time, Martin and Seda are the best. Rent a cabin or hut, otherwise it is pretty rough with the train right outside the place.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Tyler F
James D, Manager at Blenheim Backpackers & Motorcamp, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. You were one of the delightful guests to have around and we would love to see you back. Martin and Seda

22 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (7)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Other (3)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (15)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (12)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Blenheim
0.2 km away
Blenheim Top 10 Holiday Park
5.1 km away
Spring Creek Holiday Park
Spring Creek Holiday Park
#1 of 2 in Spring Creek
52 reviews
1.2 km away
Two Tree Lodge
Two Tree Lodge
#2 of 24 in Blenheim
252 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 km away
Chateau Marlborough
Chateau Marlborough
#7 of 32 in Blenheim
521 reviews
10.4 km away
Marlborough Vintners Hotel Heritage Boutique Collection
1.4 km away
171 on High Motel
171 on High Motel
#1 of 32 in Blenheim
403 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
Things to do
  • Pool
In your room
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Concierge
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Free Parking
  • Airport Transportation
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
A great selection of clean & comfortable accommodations with free unlimited wifi to suit all budgets. All rooms have a TV, jug, toaster, fridge and some with own kitchen and also rooms with bathroom and kitchen. Recently refurbished amenities, free showers, local phone, washing machines and BBQs. Rooms available short or long term for backpackers plus contacts available for seasonal work. We have also recently underwent a huge expansion adding another 30 sites! weather you want to park up in your van or pitch your tent you can do it under our large trees and wide open areas right beside the river, in the summer time we have a large pool and sun loungers to chill out after a long week at work, or you can park up in a hammock and meet people in our bbq area, We are a friendly family owned and operated Backpackers in a great location. We are well traveled and incorporate our years of experience to provide backpackers the best service while staying in the Blenheim and Marlborough area. Next door to a 24 hour service station, corner store, pub, Subway and KFC. 5 Minute walk to the town centre and Blenheim train & bus terminal. There is also a courtesy van which if you are licensed you are able to use to get out to the supermarkets instead of walking. If you arrive at the airport and would like to stay with us we will be happy to pop out and pick you up. Thank you for checking us out and we look forward to seeing you. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Blenheim Backpackers & Motorcamp

Address: 27 Budge Street, Blenheim 7201, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Marlborough Region > Blenheim
Price Range: RM47 - RM617 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 28
Also Known As:
Blenheim Backpackers & Motorcamp New Zealand - Marlborough
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Blenheim Backpackers & Motorcamp staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Hang out at the library for good wifi!”
 of 5 bubbles JillKwan, 1 May 2015 | Read review
“Ideally, go in Summer”
 of 5 bubbles heyrider, 11 Mar 2015 | Read review
“The beds are very comfy and good value!”
 of 5 bubbles ShortyMc86, 26 Sep 2014 | Read review
“private double rooms are the same weekly price as dorms so great for couples wanting privacy.”
 of 5 bubbles sniccionna, 23 May 2014 | Read review
“Go for the cabins, cheap and private!”
 of 5 bubbles neeta31, 16 Jan 2014 | Read review
5 of 5