We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

The Marlborough Lodge

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Professional photos
The Marlborough Lodge
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

76 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for The Marlborough Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Showing 73: English reviews
Perth, Australia
Reviewed 26 October 2013

Beautiful is the only way to describe the drive down the tree lined driveway to a gorgeous homestead. Maria was there to greet us. What a gem this lady is - she can't do enough to make your stay perfect and her breakfasts were excellent. We had complete access to the wine in the bar area and were joined by...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Superfect
Oldstmary, Director of Sales at The Marlborough Lodge, responded to this review

It was a pleasure to have you staying with us, and Denham and Maria I know enjoyed your company as well. Lucy sheep is doing well and is now busy keeping the grass up at Denham's cottage nice and short! We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Edinburgh, Scotland, United Kingdom
Reviewed 12 June 2013

We got married at Old Saint Mary's on 16th February 2013 and, without doubt, couldn't have asked for anything more! First of all, the venue: the photos on the website honestly don't do it justice! It is simply beautiful (try and hunt down our wedding photos on their facebook site for an idea!). The grounds are lovely, surrounded by vineyards....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Richard C
Oldstmary, Director of Sales at The Marlborough Lodge, responded to this review

It was an absolute pleasure to be part of your wedding and to ensure that the day was special for you. We wish you all the best for the future, and hopefully you will come and visit us again when you are over this side of the world. All the best.

Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 June 2013

We stayed here in February 2013 at the end of our tour of south island, unfortunately only for one night. What an amazing place. Rooms were comfortable and very clean. The convent has been beautifully preserved and is set in lovely gardens. We were amazed to find a pool and sun beds. We were well looked after by Keith, Hannah...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Yvonne C
Oldstmary, Director of Sales at The Marlborough Lodge, responded to this review

It was a pleasure to have you staying with us and we look forward to welcoming you back if you ever cross the world again to visit New Zealand.

West Chester, PA
Reviewed 25 May 2013

What a gem! We were welcomed by Hannah to this beautiful Inn which was in fact a convent in its previous life. Her father Denham is more than happy to share a glass of port-or anything else you may want from the bar! -and engage in lively conversation by the fireplace in the evening. The rooms are very comfortably furnished...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank sdybry
Oldstmary, Director of Sales at The Marlborough Lodge, responded to this review

It was a pleasure having you to stay with us, and we look forward to welcoming you in the future.

Wellington
Reviewed 11 May 2013

When I stayed the first time in this beautiful place I said to myself, I need to bring my wife here for a romantic escape. I can say it's one of the best accommodation I ever been in New Zealand. The accommodation is nested in the middle of a beautiful park. It is beautifully decorated and service is perfect. I...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Netopyr
Oldstmary, Director of Sales at The Marlborough Lodge, responded to this review

It was a pleasure to welcome you back with your wife, and we are pleased that you had an enjoyable stay with us. We look forward to seeing you again next season.

Blenheim, New Zealand
Reviewed 9 May 2013

Our experience staying at the Old St Marys Convent Retreat was faultless! Hannah and Maria where both welcoming and efficient but still had time for a good informed conversation just when we seemed to be ready for it. Out stroling around the expansive grounds on days or enjoying happy hour with friends by the fire at night,we could not have...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank gordonwilson47
Oldstmary, Director of Sales at The Marlborough Lodge, responded to this review

It was a pleasure to have you staying with us to celebrate your wife's birthday. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Guildford
Reviewed 29 April 2013

We recently stayed at this wonderful old convent, located in beautifully landscaped grounds with the last of the lavender and roses competing with the changing colours of the autumnal trees. Nothing is too much trouble and Denham the owner, is warm and generous in his hospitality. Maria looked after us wonderfully - the breakfasts were absolutely delicious and generous. We...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank sandymGuildford
Oldstmary, Director of Sales at The Marlborough Lodge, responded to this review

It was a pleasure to have you staying with us, and we hope to welcome you back again with friends and family.

Petersfield, United Kingdom
Reviewed 20 April 2013

Wooden structure transported en bloc from town where it was a working convent. We stayed in the Sister Ancilla room with lovely views over the gardens, croquet lawn and pool. Charming hostess who could no have been more helpful, great breakfasts. No evening restaurants but plenty of choice in town. Take a cycle tour of the vineyards, but avoid getting...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sm0ky
Oldstmary, Director of Sales at The Marlborough Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments about your stay with us. We hope you enjoyed the rest of your travels around New Zealand and hope to welcome you back in the future.

Adelaide
Reviewed 18 March 2013

The Marlborough is a lovely and picturesque region to visit, and without question Old Saint Mary's Convent is a wonderful place to stop over. I can attest to all preceding positive comments describing just how delightful the Convent really is. You will begin to feel relaxed even before setting foot in the place, as you enter the substantial grounds passing...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank OvationGX2
Oldstmary, Director of Sales at The Marlborough Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for your lovely comments about your stay with us, We hope to welcome you back in the future.

Fairfield County
Reviewed 11 March 2013

We stayed here 3 years ago and returned because of the great B&B, wonderful setting in the heart of Marlborough Sauvignon Blanc region. The building has been restored beautifully and each room is carefully furnished with fabulous antiques. The open areas of the inn create a comfortable setting of relaxing,conversing and having a glass of wine. Owner, Denham, provides a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank SharonConnecticut
Oldstmary, Director of Sales at The Marlborough Lodge, responded to this review

It was a real pleasure to have you to stay with us again, and for such a long time. It feels like you are part of the Convent family now! Hope to see you again in the future.

79 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (39)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
View from Room (4)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (16)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (40)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (21)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (7)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Blenheim
5.9 km away
Marlborough Vintners Hotel Heritage Boutique Collection
5.9 km away
Chateau Marlborough
Chateau Marlborough
#7 of 32 in Blenheim
521 reviews
4.6 km away
Brydan Accommodation
Brydan Accommodation
#8 of 32 in Blenheim
244 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 km away
St Leonards Vineyard Cottages
6.2 km away
Hotel d'Urville
Hotel d'Urville
#13 of 32 in Blenheim
185 reviews
37.0 km away
Bay of Many Coves
Bay of Many Coves
#1 of 1 in Arthurs Bay
264 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Tennis Court
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Free Parking
  • Airport Transportation
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Conference Facilities
  • Babysitting
  • Breakfast Available
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Marlborough Lodge, a luxury boutique hotel (formerly Old St Mary's Convent), has been fully renovated and refurbished and is now offers 10 luxury suites over two floors each with private ensuite. Also offered is a full time concierge, inhouse dining and 16 acres of beautiful grounds. The Lodge is a private haven located in the world-famous Marlborough wine region but is conveniently within 10 minutes of Marlborough Airport and Blenheim township. Children 10+ are welcome at the lodge, or children of all ages if the lodge is booked exclusively. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Marlborough Lodge

Address: 776 Rapaura Road, Blenheim 7273, New Zealand (Formerly Old Saint Mary's Convent)
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Marlborough Region > Blenheim
Price Range: RM3,775 - RM5,846 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Marlborough Lodge 5*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Expedia and Agoda so you can book your The Marlborough Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Marlborough Lodge Blenheim, New Zealand
Hotel Style:
#8 Luxury Hotel in Blenheim
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from The Marlborough Lodge staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Ask for the kingfisher room!”
 of 5 bubbles askfegan, 28 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Mother Superior room is gorgeous”
 of 5 bubbles r0bandanne0, 26 Jan 2016 | Read review
“Spend the extra and stay in the chapel room”
 of 5 bubbles VillaMargarita, 25 Jan 2016 | Read review
“All rooms are fantastic, and each are a very different. We prefer the Chapel Suite as it is bigger with a large lounge room, plus stained glass windows as it used to be the Chapel when it was a Convent.”
  • View from Chapel Suite
  • Stained glass windows in the Chapel Suite
 of 5 bubbles Q810ADjennyb, 8 Apr 2015 | Read review
“All of the rooms are desirable!”
 of 5 bubbles Karen4199641996, 13 Mar 2015 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay