We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

CentrePoint on Colombo Motel

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
CentrePoint on Colombo Motel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

938 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for CentrePoint on Colombo Motel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 894: English reviews
New Plymouth, New Zealand
Reviewed 26 September 2013

Tripadvisor Reviews were 10/10!!! My family and I just spent one night at this motel.. and I have to say.. Tripadvisor reviews were spot on! In Summary, the place is very close to town, reasonable priced, clean and owners are very very very helpful… almost too much!!! Rooms are clean, comfortable, big size, with SKY and DVD player. You can...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank SouCross
Centrepoint1, Owner at CentrePoint on Colombo Motel, responded to this review

Hi there SouCross and thanks for the review! Great to see you were able to rely on the TripAdvisor reviews and you got what you were expecting! It's a great compliment to get such a comment from someone who has been using TA for such a long time! Yup, we are close to town, not a bad price, clean and...

Scottsdale, Arizona
Reviewed 9 September 2013

I stayed at the Centrepoint on Colombo during a recent visit to Christchurch. The room was fairly basic, but did have several amenities. It is located close to downtown, thus making it convenient. The reception staff was very friendly and informative. Excellent WiFi service. My only complaint would be that the room was quite cold when I entered and took...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Samuel A
Centrepoint1, Owner at CentrePoint on Colombo Motel, responded to this review

Thanks for the review Samuel A - possibly about the first Kiwi motel you've stayed in? We know that while you did not choose to stay with us ~ you were booked in by a corporate client ~ your eyes lit up when you saw our TA awards in the Reception area. Usually corporate guests like yourself would be accommodated...

Reviewed 8 September 2013

The jovial owner was welcoming as was the wife-both informative and extremely helpful in assisting with directions throughout the city to the airport. Room was nice, loved the spa bath which you barely see in hotel rooms let alone motels. We only stayed one night stopover before heading home to Australia. Dinner was within walking dis training distance. They deserve...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Angusthehighlandcow
Centrepoint1, Owner at CentrePoint on Colombo Motel, responded to this review

Thanks for the review DonisaurMK7. I have been called many things but "Jovial" is one of the more pleasurable ones! Following that "informative" and "extremely helpful" are noice too! Great that you loved the spa bath and the room in general! Next time be sure to stay longer - now you know of a great place to stay in Christchurch!

New Plymouth, Taranaki, New Zealand
Reviewed 27 August 2013

I found Centrepoint on Colombo on Trip Advisor and from the initial phone call to book I was impressed. Geoff was friendly and helpful and sent an e-mail to confirm the booking. When we arrived we were early but that wasn't a problem - we were shown to our rooms which were clean, spacious and very well appointed. Throughout our...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Benita33
Centrepoint1, Owner at CentrePoint on Colombo Motel, responded to this review

Hello Benita33 and thanks for the review. Great to see you found Jeff to to be helpful and friendly from the first phone call. Early check ins are sometimes possible and they sometimes do happen but not all the time. Great to see you enjoyed our style of hospitality over the 3 days your stayed with us and found the...

Reviewed 11 August 2013

Finding good accommodation in Christchurch was a hard task, but we got there with Centrepoint. Room for 5 was great, 2 spacious bedrooms and a comfy lounge - all very nicely done, tasteful and comfortable. Location is fine, the centre of Christchurch is a little confusing because of all the earthquake damage meaning many open spaces in the CBD. The...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank SteveP1874
Centrepoint1, Owner at CentrePoint on Colombo Motel, responded to this review

Hello SteveP1874 and thanks for the review! It's always cool to get a review from a senior contributor. Yes! You travelled with family but you were a grown up family, as opposed to a young family. This room's facilities mean that a grown up family like yourselves can have a comfortable stay as you have attested. Great to see you...

Singapore
Reviewed 2 August 2013

I was pleasantly surprised by CentrePoint on Colombo. It was initially my plan to stay at a B&B throughout my various stops in the South Island, including Christchurch. However, there were none that was suitable (be it being imposed a min. number of nights, availability, etc), which led me to find CentrePoint. I’m extremely pleased to have made the decision...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lipppy
Centrepoint1, Owner at CentrePoint on Colombo Motel, responded to this review

Hello Lipppy and thanks for the review after making the change from a B&B option to a MOTEL for you Christchurch stay! Great to see that you loved all aspects of your stay with us and you were comfortable writing a review like this! We hope you'll be comfortable choosing other motel options in NZ when you visit again! You...

Brisbane, Australia
Reviewed 24 July 2013

This was my second stay at Centrepoint on Colombo and is now my only choice for accommodation in Christchurch. What a fantastic motel, Naomi & Jeff are true host's and make you feel at home, in fact even better than home. The rooms are spacious and immaculate. Just seeing other guests with smiles on their faces told me that it...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank superrugbynev
Centrepoint1, Owner at CentrePoint on Colombo Motel, responded to this review

Hi there superrugbynev and thanks for the reviewn after staying with us again! Great to see you were more than happy coming to see us again! We do try to have lots of fun while we are welcoming guests to Christchurch and its always fun to get guests chatting etc. Great to see you had a good nights sleep -...

Whangarei, New Zealand
Reviewed 23 July 2013

Just spent the past 2 nights at CentrePoint on Colombo and can't rate it high enough... I do a lot of travelling in NZ, Australia and overseas and compare CentrePoint to a very high standard hotel where you pay way much more for all the "special " touches... Also , as a coffee lover, great to have a plunger and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Susan B
Centrepoint1, Owner at CentrePoint on Colombo Motel, responded to this review

Thank you for choosing to stay with us Susan B and thanks for the review! Very pleasing to see that you were able to appreciate the special touches in our rooms. It is pleasing to see these services recieve accolades from someone who has travelled widely. You won't get 24hr room service here but we do think that our guest...

Reviewed 22 July 2013 via mobile

Very pleasantly surprised when accidentally put on the other side of town from the next mornings meeting. Clean and spacious with sky in full so you could pick and choose. Just like being at home and the service from the friendly owners superb. Stay here if you get a chance it's pretty good.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Keith A
Centrepoint1, Owner at CentrePoint on Colombo Motel, responded to this review

Thanks for the review Northcross. I recall your first impression in reception when you mentioned that you are on the wrong side of town so we are more than pleased to see that you were able to enjoy your stay to the extent you have recommended that others stay here! We are in the centre of Chrtistchurch and so not...

Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 19 July 2013

The CentrePoint on Colombo Motel was a comfortable and welcoming motel that I wouldn't hesitate to recommend to anyone intending on travelling to Christchurch. In particular, Jeff provided us with great service and recommended some fantastic eateries - he really made us feel right at home. The rooms are modern, spotlessly clean, incredibly cosy, and include an array of amenities....

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Camryn C
Centrepoint1, Owner at CentrePoint on Colombo Motel, responded to this review

Hello there Camryn C and thank you for the review. Great to see you throughly enjoyed and made full use of our style of hospitality as well as fiding the room to be cosy in the winter and clean!! Thanks for staying.

84 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (74)
Viewed
Room/Suite (25)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (11)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
View from Room (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (25)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (10)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (8)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Christchurch hotels
1.3 km away
Merivale Manor
Merivale Manor
#4 of 148 in Christchurch
553 reviews
0.9 km away
Heritage Christchurch
Heritage Christchurch
#7 of 148 in Christchurch
601 reviews
0.8 km away
Rendezvous Hotel Christchurch
Rendezvous Hotel Christchurch
#14 of 148 in Christchurch
1,623 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 km away
The George Christchurch
The George Christchurch
#6 of 148 in Christchurch
1,227 reviews
7.1 km away
Commodore Airport Hotel, Christchurch
1.0 km away
BreakFree on Cashel
BreakFree on Cashel
#30 of 148 in Christchurch
1,376 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
  • Suites
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Laundry Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
CentrePoint on Colombo Motel is Qualmark 4-Star Plus accommodation with modern facilities, a wide range of services, relaxed quiet atmosphere and free car parking, all in the heart of Christchurch. You will be only 5 mins. (450m) walk to Southern Cross Hospital and the Casino and 15 minutes walk to the "Re:Start" Container Mall - the new centre of Christchurch, and 20 minutes walk to the Botannical Gardens. ... more   less 

Additional Information about CentrePoint on Colombo Motel

Address: 859 Colombo Street, Christchurch 8013, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Christchurch
Price Range: RM478 - RM695 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — CentrePoint on Colombo Motel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your CentrePoint on Colombo Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Centrepoint On Colombo Hotel Christchurch
Centrepoint On Colombo Christchurch
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Christchurch
#4 Business Hotel in Christchurch
#5 Luxury Hotel in Christchurch
#5 Romantic Hotel in Christchurch
#7 Best Value Hotel in Christchurch
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from CentrePoint on Colombo Motel staff and other travellers.
9 questions
Ask a question
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Kihei, Hawaii, United States
over a year ago
Seoul, South Korea
Massachusetts
over a year ago

See all questions (9)

Questions? Get answers from CentrePoint on Colombo Motel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Rooms are quiet at night. Earthquake restoration work is all over the city during the day so no side is immune to noise.”
 of 5 bubbles tinaebloor, 26 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Our room was at the end of the building away from the Street.”
 of 5 bubbles BrianC374, 25 Feb 2017 | Read review
“all rooms appear to be ok”
 of 5 bubbles SA5045, 9 Feb 2017 | Read review
“All looked good to us.”
 of 5 bubbles billsellicks, 28 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Close to city center and restaurants”
 of 5 bubbles michelef983, 20 Dec 2016 | Read review
5 of 5