We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Dorset House Backpackers

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Professional photos
Dorset House Backpackers
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel_streamline","template":"ibex_photo_carousel_streamline__widget","dust":{},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel_streamline","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

213 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 187: English reviews
Reviewed 3 days ago NEWvia mobile

I stayed there for 2 nights. Kitchen was really well equipped! Staff was ver friendly. Dorms were relatively spacious. Showers were really clean and quite many available (enough for when I was there). It's a cute comfortable atmosphere. Not very far from Center so easy to have a 20min walk there. I'd go again anytime. Thank you also for the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Anja S
Dusseldorf, Germany
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Really liked the atmosphere. Rooms clean, showers warm, good mixed crowd hangs out there (not the young party backpackers), staff was always super friendly and helpful. Free parking. Most people hang out in the kitchen despite there is a larger room downstairs. If that room was designed a bit more social, I'm sure people would also hang out there. Rooms...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank whiteorbit1
DorsetHouseChch, Front Office Manager at Dorset House Backpackers, responded to this review

Hi whiteorbit1, Thank you very much for taking the time to leave us some feedback following your stay. We are happy to hear you enjoyed the facilities and atmosphere of the hostel, we've had a great bunch of guests staying with us this season- we totally agree that the mixed crowd helps the relaxed vibe, we certainly don't tend to...

Jakarta, Indonesia
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

What I really like is the hotel has a nice building and architecture, clean rooms and bathrooms, staff is nice, kitchen facilities are complete, location is also good, walking distance to interesting places

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Niantiaulia
DorsetHouseChch, Manager at Dorset House Backpackers, responded to this review

Hi Niantiaulia, Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. We are thrilled to hear you found our staff to be nice, the hostel to be comfortable and clean and our location to be good as well :) Thank you for choosing to stay with us while in Christchurch and we hope you enjoy the rest of...

Reviewed 4 December 2016 via mobile

With hostels like this around I can't understand how others get away with being so poor. Dorset house has single beds (not bunk beds) which is a nice treat for a traveller! The rooms aren't that spacious but it could be a lot worse if they'd have opted for bunk beds. The beds themselves are comfy and I was sufficiently...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Macolo3
DorsetHouseChch, Manager at Dorset House Backpackers, responded to this review

Hi Macolo3, Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review and for your lovely words! We are glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. We could indeed put three sets of bunks in (and sleep 6 people) which would give you more floor space, but we always think guests would rather have one person less...

Reviewed 15 November 2016

I recently stayed in Christchurch due to a course i was attending so last minute i found a we place in dorset street, dorset house backpackers, service was great, nothing was an issue, they changed rooms quickly when i wanted a room with an outside window, sure rooms relatively small, but clean. 1 shower up stairs was the boom! Best...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Danielle A
DorsetHouseChch, Manager at Dorset House Backpackers, responded to this review

Hi Danielle, Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. We are glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us! We are always happy to help whenever possible to ensure our guests enjoy their stay to the fullest :) One of our Single Rooms is indeed an internal room, but has a window opening into the hallway...

Paris, France
Reviewed 9 November 2016

Alter 13 days in a campervan, we enjoyed our stay there. This is a charming old house. The girls at the reception are nice. We stayed in a double room. The size was just correct for the price. I can't imagine staying in "small" one... The free wifi cannot be received correctly in all the rooms... Bathrooms are clean (despite...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jade_Or14
DorsetHouseChch, Front Office Manager at Dorset House Backpackers, responded to this review

Hello Jade_Or14, Thank you for your feedback; we are really pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us after being in a camper for a couple of weeks. We feel lucky to have a charming old home with friendly staff to run it– we are always happy to help :) We are glad you found the size of...

San Mateo, California, United States
Reviewed 12 October 2016

Dorset house is very considerate. They have notice to notify that there is a day light saving the next day. If not , I will miss the bus. I reserve a single room, but they upgrade me to a double room. The room is comfortable with a heater. Location is good if travel to airport. But is a distance from...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kangmin L
DorsetHouseChch, Front Office Manager at Dorset House Backpackers, responded to this review

Hi Kangmin L, Thank you so much for your lovely recommendation! We are happy to hear that you caught your bus at the correct time - daylight savings can be a confusing concept for travelers so we are glad to know that our sign helped :) That's wonderful that you enjoyed your upgrade from a Single room to the Double;...

Reviewed 19 September 2016

We booked a private double room, and the room was tiny but comfortable and clean. The shower and bathrooms had terrible water pressure, but were very clean and the staff were friendly and helpful. Great kitchen and common room facilities.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jasmin P
DorsetHouseChch, Manager at Dorset House Backpackers, responded to this review

Hi Jasmin, Thank you for taking to time to leave us a review. Our Small Double Rooms (double bed) are indeed smaller than our Double Rooms (queen bed) and have limited space around the bed for luggage or other items. I’m unsure whether all Online Travel Agents show the size of our rooms, but our own website also gives an...

Reviewed 30 August 2016

You never know with backpackers' hostels, do you? Well this is one of the best we've used. Warm, dry, comfortable and friendly. Good guest facilities, including reliable wifi and a large well equipped lounge which is far enough away from the bedrooms that you can make noise at night without disturbing those who want to sleep. Good location, right next...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank BobLackNZ
DorsetHouseChch, Manager at Dorset House Backpackers, responded to this review

Hi Bob, Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review and for your lovely words. We are stoked to hear we have been one of the best hostels you have stayed at. Thank you also for your constructive feedback, we will take this on board. Unfortunately there is nothing we can do about the location of the...

Reviewed 13 August 2016 via mobile

I wandered up to this hostel after hours and without a booking. Lucky for me, the receptionist was around and she got me set up in a lovely little room. There are no bunk beds here, the dorm rooms have 5 single beds. It's pretty nice not to have another person sleeping above (or below) your head. The kitchen is...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Lauren B
DorsetHouseChch, Manager at Dorset House Backpackers, responded to this review

Hi Lauren, Thank you very much for taking the time to leave us a review. We’re so glad to hear you enjoyed sleeping in a single bed, rather than the usual bunk beds hostels usually have. Even though we can’t fit as many people in as we would with bunk beds, we think it adds a little bit of hostel...

64 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (36)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (11)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
4:40
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (16)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (28)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (15)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (5)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Christchurch hotels
1.2 km away
Novotel Christchurch Cathedral Square Hotel
1.5 km away
BreakFree on Cashel
BreakFree on Cashel
#26 of 145 in Christchurch
1,060 reviews
2.5 km away
Jailhouse Accommodation
Jailhouse Accommodation
#2 of 107 in Christchurch
462 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 km away
YHA Christchurch
YHA Christchurch
#5 of 107 in Christchurch
169 reviews
2.5 km away
The Old Countryhouse
The Old Countryhouse
#20 of 107 in Christchurch
202 reviews
1.7 km away
Around the World Backpackers
Around the World Backpackers
#13 of 107 in Christchurch
100 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Laundry Service
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Perfectly located central city, boutique hostel in historic 1871 home, in a lovely quiet garden setting and next to beautiful Hagley Park. You will find everything needed including a guest lounge with pool table, internet, WiFi, DVD's, cable, kitchen, balcony, guest laundry and free off-street parking. A selection of single, double and twin rooms are available, with fully made beds. Enjoy a stroll to Cathedral Square, or indulge in cafes & shopping on Victoria St. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Dorset House Backpackers

Address: 1 Dorset Street | PO Box 25350, Christchurch 8144, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Christchurch
Price Range: RM112 - RM335 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Dorset House Backpackers 2.5*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, HostelWorld, Agoda and Travelocity so you can book your Dorset House Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Dorset House Backpackers staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from Dorset House Backpackers staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“rooms on the park pretty quiet , off street so i didn't notice noise”
 of 5 bubbles , 14 Nov 2016 | Read review
“I was in room 2 - window looks out to Hagley park and right opposite kitchen.”
 of 5 bubbles 799lydiab, 1 Aug 2016 | Read review
“We stayed in a private room w double bed”
 of 5 bubbles EddingtonTravel, 22 Mar 2016 | Read review
“Double storey building with staircase to second floor.”
 of 5 bubbles paulwT4925LM, 17 Dec 2015 | Read review
“Be prepared to haul your luggage up one flight of stairs and choose a room which is away from the kitchen”
 of 5 bubbles ShailajaVora, 20 Jun 2015 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay