We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Rendezvous Hotel Christchurch

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Rendezvous Hotel Christchurch
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,659 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 1,599: English reviews
Start your review of Rendezvous Hotel Christchurch
 Click to rate
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Lovely room on 14th floor overlooking Cathedral Place, very well appointed and roomy. Staff were extremely helpful, and the lounge at front of hotel, with bar, and gorgeous fireplace was most welcoming and handy.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lyndel W
Queenstown, New Zealand
Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

The room was roomy, cozy and modern. The front desk staff are next level. Not only did they accommodate an early check in, but they went above and beyond for my 1 night stay. I just had knee surgery the day before and was still very sore and mostly immobile on crutches. They gave us a bigger room, and even...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank meg m
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

One can't miss this hotel as the building is one of the tallest if not the tallest in the city. The greatest advantage is its location in the center of Christchurch. There are many restaurants, and bars in the area not to mention that the major tourist sites and museums are all within walking distance. The room we were allotted...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Agil N
Auckland, New Zealand
Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

A brief overnight stay - booked through booking.com at a very good rate. Small room (we got an upgrade as well), but lovely view and the room is wonderfully clean, tidy and has all the expected mod cons (including gowns - yay!)

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank TravelingGirl69x
Sid B, Manager at Rendezvous Hotel Christchurch, responded to this review

Dear TravelingGirl69x, Thank you for choosing to stay with us recently and for taking the time to post your excellent 5 star feedback. The comments you made regarding your stay with us are most appreciated. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback from guests who have enjoyed their stay here at the Rendezvous Hotel. We look forward to...

Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

The motel was very clean, the staff very very helpful especially since we arrived late at night. The rooms were spacious clean and we had great views from our window. The only problem was finding it due to the earthquake repairs don't trust your gps...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Helen R
Sid B, Manager at Rendezvous Hotel Christchurch, responded to this review

Dear Helen R, Thank you for choosing Rendezvous Hotel Christchurch for your trip and sharing wonderful 5 star feedback that I am highly pleased to read. I am delighted to know that you had a great stay with us and were well looked after by our friendly team. Our Hotel's culture is to go over and beyond for our guest...

Wellington, New Zealand
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Had a fabulous time staying at the Rendezvous over Easter. Staff were very friendly and helpful, room was excellent, as was the food. The location was excellent for my daughter and I, as it was close to the Margaret Mahy playground. I hope to return soon.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jane O
Sid B, Manager at Rendezvous Hotel Christchurch, responded to this review

Dear Jane O, Your kind comments of your time with us at Rendezvous Hotel is most appreciated - thank you for your 5 star review on TripAdvisor. I am delighted that overall you found your stay to be an excellent one and you found the service provided by our super friendly team of colleagues to be exceptional. I will be...

Reviewed 5 days ago NEWvia mobile

Am giving this hotel a 3-star. Pleasant and accommodating personnel. Not much queuing up. Pleasant to talk to. Arrived a little past 8:30 on a Saturday evening (Black Saturday). Few restaurants nearby were still open to serve dinner for family. No convenience store too. The beds and room size for double occupancy and triple occupancy are the same. That's a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank FairPrincess
Sid B, Manager at Rendezvous Hotel Christchurch, responded to this review

Dear FairPrincess, Thank you for choosing to stay with us recently and for taking the time to post your feedback. The comments you made regarding your stay with us are most appreciated. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback from guests who have enjoyed their stay here at the Rendezvous Hotel. We look forward to welcoming you back...

North Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Very centrally located this is a very convenient hotel, although somewhat challenging for the uninitiated to get to as post earthquake road changes, closures and construction are continually changing due to restoration activity, confusing for satnavs! Reception is efficient although can be understaffed at times so some patience is needed. however, all are welcoming and helpful. Rooms are OK and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank SimonE1506
Sid B, Manager at Rendezvous Hotel Christchurch, responded to this review

Dear SimonE1506, Thank you for choosing to stay with us recently and for taking the time to post your excellent feedback. The comments you made regarding your stay with us are most appreciated. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback from guests who have enjoyed their stay here at the Rendezvous Hotel. We look forward to welcoming you...

Durban, South Africa
Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

Our room was smaller than anticipated and the biggest disappointment was the lack of fresh air. All windows are sealed and can't be opened. There is a gym but it is sparse, really only very basics. If you enjoy toning or circuit training you will be frustrated. The restaurant is average and the staff wasn't very pleasant. There is parking...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Philipvg
Sid B, Manager at Rendezvous Hotel Christchurch, responded to this review

Thank you for leaving a review on TripAdvisor regarding your experience at the Rendezvous Hotel, Christchurch. It is through such feedback that we can isolate issues and areas in need of attention. Your feedback is particularly important in helping us to achieve our goal of 100% guest satisfaction. Please accept my sincere apologize that we did not deliver on your...

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Good but I'm sure there are better rooms. Very quiet as we stayed on top floor; it does have a gym and restaurant (neither of which we tried). Good location for City Centre, and too see the earthquake memorial wall.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank sandier1965
Sid B, Manager at Rendezvous Hotel Christchurch, responded to this review

Dear sandier1965, Thank you for choosing to stay with us recently and for taking the time to post your feedback. The comments you made regarding your stay with us are most appreciated. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback from guests who have enjoyed their stay here at the Rendezvous Hotel. We look forward to welcoming you back...

215 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (173)
Viewed
Bathroom (12)
Viewed
Room/Suite (23)
Viewed
View from Room (13)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (23)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Other (99)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (42)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (33)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Christchurch hotels
0.1 km away
Novotel Christchurch Cathedral Square Hotel
0.1 km away
Heritage Christchurch
Heritage Christchurch
#7 of 144 in Christchurch
611 reviews
0.4 km away
Rydges Latimer Christchurch Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 km away
The George Christchurch
The George Christchurch
#6 of 144 in Christchurch
1,265 reviews
0.1 km away
Quest Christchurch
Quest Christchurch
#16 of 144 in Christchurch
383 reviews
0.3 km away
BreakFree on Cashel
BreakFree on Cashel
#29 of 144 in Christchurch
1,490 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Room Service
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Paid Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Banquet Room
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Rendezvous Hotel Christchurch, located in the heart of the city, provides modern and stylish accommodation for the savvy business traveller and leisure guest, at an affordable price. Offering clean, contemporary design, Rendezvous Hotel Christchurch is a place where you can work at your peak. Use the latest hassle-free in room technology or relax in comfort and quiet. When your work is complete reward yourself with a satisfying meal in our restaurant and enjoy great service from people who care. Straits Cafe our 55-seat, fully-licensed restaurant, is located next to our ground floor lobby. Here you'll find an exiting range of contemporary-style dishes showcasing local and seasonal produce. Junction, our lobby bar, serves 60 peopleWe know that you want a hotel with style. Our guest rooms and suites are designed for your comfort, with individually controlled air conditioning, double glazing, amazing views and everything you need to make working a breeze. There's a choice of four room and suite designs. Because your phone and laptop still can't do everything, our efficient business centre is there when you need it and our gym and sauna, help you stay in shape when your are on the road. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Rendezvous Hotel Christchurch

Address: 166 Gloucester Street | Levels 1 to 15 of Pacific Tower, Christchurch 8011, New Zealand (Formerly Marque Hotel)
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Christchurch
Price Range: RM443 - RM758 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Rendezvous Hotel Christchurch 4.5*
Number of rooms: 171
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Cancelon, Toga Hotels, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Rendezvous Hotel Christchurch reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Hotel Style:
#12 Luxury Hotel in Christchurch
#13 Business Hotel in Christchurch
#27 Romantic Hotel in Christchurch
#30 Family Hotel in Christchurch
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Rendezvous Hotel Christchurch staff and other travellers.
22 questions
Ask a question
Adelaide, South Australia, Australia
Miami, Florida
Melbourne
1 month ago

See all questions (22)

Questions? Get answers from Rendezvous Hotel Christchurch staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“All rooms are similar and don't offer openable windows”
Philipvg, 16 Apr 2017 | Read review
“All rooms are good but for total quietness, ask for a room at the back of the hotel.”
Trudy-uk, 3 Apr 2017 | Read review
“The higher up the better.”
490PeterB490, 21 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Great view of city from higher floors , rooms with balcony are lovely , budget permitting..”
flatworm, 17 Mar 2017 | Read review
“If you phone in advance even if pre booked you can get an upgrade at great price.”
jenvic1, 7 Mar 2017 | Read review
5 of 5