We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

The Redwood

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Christchurch
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Management photos
The Redwood
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_baseline_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_baseline_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_baseline_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_baseline_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

43 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 43: English reviews
Auckland, New Zealand
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Stepping back in time when walking in the public bar looking at the Stucko roof and although it looks like it has had some renovations it is not all about what it looks like as the beer was cold and many jugs flowing around me typical Kiwi pub. I needed food and ordered smoked salmon cream cheese with capers thinking...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Cam P
Nelson, New Zealand
Reviewed 22 July 2016

Stayed here this week and thought it was great. Staff were very friendly and incredibly helpful. Room was warm and comfortable and very spacious with all that I needed, including free and reliable wi-fi. Happy to recommend and I will be staying there again.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank simonhamley
Reviewed 28 June 2016 via mobile

The place was unfortunately very run down and needs some TLC. Both the toilet and the taps dripped all night. The bed we slept in was incredibly hard and uncomfortable to the point that I am in pain several hours after getting out of bed. There were some positives though; both the restaurant staff and the hotel staff were very...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 265tessar
SequoiaTheRedwood, Owner at The Redwood, responded to this review

People have a choice in units at The Redwood. You chose one of our cheaper units at a cost of $99 per night. These good value units are affordable, warm, clean and comfortable. This is how we market our units. If you wish to pay another $16 per night you will spend the night in quite a different unit that...

Nelson-Tasman Region, New Zealand
Reviewed 19 March 2016

customer service was topnotch. everyone was friendly and accomodating. the room was big and spacious, the kids had room to play. there were extra pillows and bedding already available in the room. Bonus is that the best buffet Sequoia is also located in the hotel.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank endurocapra
Christchurch, New Zealand
Reviewed 2 March 2016

This is now under new management and there have been some changes. The accommodation is just superb. Value for money is exceptional. We held a small conference there and the food and hospitality was amazing! Would highly recommend. Love the creamed mushrooms for breakfast. What a treat! :) More of a quaint hotel than a 5 star. Staff are very...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank VernaMcF
SequoiaTheRedwood, General Manager at The Redwood, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to comment. Yes, we have made lots of changes in the accommodation and it is very good value, comfortable and clean. We are delighted that our team of staff were helpful and friendly - we think they are great too. The Redwood does provide a lovely function centre and we take care of your...

Nelson, New Zealand
Reviewed 4 June 2015

The staff were very friendly and helpful at check in, the unit was tidy and the beds were comfortable plus plenty of extra bedding available in the cupboard. We were informed on check in that the facility is mid refurbishment and while our unit certainty was dated, the room was comfortable, the bathroom big and the water pressure reasonable. We...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Corny264
SequoiaTheRedwood, Owner at The Redwood, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments. We have been working hard to upgrade our rooms. So pleased you found our team friendly. We think they are great too.

Whangarei
Reviewed 11 March 2015

A large group of us (17) stayed here in the first week of March and this accommodation easily met our needs. The staff were friendly and very helpful. The rooms are basic and dated but you get what you pay for. I understand that the hotel in under new ownership and there were alterations being done in the reception while...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank WhangareiGolfer
SequoiaTheRedwood, Owner at The Redwood, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your comments. We were encouraged by them. Since this time, the rooms have been refurbished and as well as offering a buffet lunch and dinner in the restaurant, we are now offering a buffet breakfast as well. Thanks for coming to The redwood.

Washington DC, District of Columbia
Reviewed 11 February 2015

I arrived in Christchurch to discover that the entire city was booked up thanks to the ICC Cricket World Cup. Literally every single tiny motel in the vicinity of the city was booked. It took me 2-1/2 hours and finally another hotel looked up availability and sent me out to the Redwood. (I needed to be close to Christchurch, so...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Carrie S
SequoiaTheRedwood, Owner at The Redwood, responded to this review

We just took over the ownership and management of The Redwood in February 2015. The Redwood is now under completely new management. We are providing a friendly service. We have done up all the rooms - all repainted, with new beds and joinery. Thank you for posting your comments. We really appreciate this. We think the rooms are very good...

Nelson, New Zealand
Reviewed 22 October 2014

The Unit and services were not as advertised. Unit was dirty and noisy. The service was poor and feedback was met with rude denials. Would rather sleep in car than pay good money to this outfit again. This is the absolute truth!

 Report
Helpful?
6Thank mitchormark
SequoiaTheRedwood, Owner at The Redwood, responded to this review

I am so sorry that your stay was not good. I just want to let you know that The Redwood is now under new ownership and management. I hope that, one day you will come back and stay again.

Porirua, Wellington, New Zealand
Reviewed 21 August 2014

Was disappointed with our stay here. Very cold on arrival with only a small fan heater to heat the unit with. Dining room was also inadequate, very cold and dark at breakfast time. WiFi only worked on one day out of three despite assurances that it was all set up. The unit was shabby although clean. Light bulbs were not...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank Rachel-Mary P
SequoiaTheRedwood, Owner at The Redwood, responded to this review

I am so sorry that your stay was so disappointing. The Redwood is now under new ownership and management. We hope you come back and give The Redwood another chance now.

27 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (14)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (11)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (13)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (8)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Christchurch hotels
6.7 km away
BreakFree on Cashel
BreakFree on Cashel
#29 of 145 in Christchurch
1,212 reviews
5.6 km away
Commodore Airport Hotel, Christchurch
7.6 km away
Jailhouse Accommodation
Jailhouse Accommodation
#2 of 110 in Christchurch
471 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.5 km away
Rendezvous Hotel Christchurch
Rendezvous Hotel Christchurch
#13 of 145 in Christchurch
1,560 reviews
5.2 km away
At The Right Place
At The Right Place
#125 of 145 in Christchurch
67 reviews
4.6 km away
Merivale Manor
Merivale Manor
#5 of 145 in Christchurch
532 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Conference Facilities
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Great value basic, clean, comfortable accommodation. Recently refurbished. New beds. Buffet restaurant on site, with buffet breakfast, lunch and dinner available. Also, the public bar. Wireless internet. Self catering available in small kitchen. Self serve laundry available. Lots of car parking and parking for larger vehicles. Close to airport, beach, Burwood Hospital, golf courses, The Groynes. Bus at gate. Friendly staff with staff available 24/7. Conference/event/function facility available - we will take care of all your individual needs. Good AV equipment. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Redwood

Address: 340 Main North Road, Christchurch, New Zealand (Formerly Redwood Hotel)
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Christchurch
Number of rooms: 27
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from The Redwood staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Ask to stay in one of the newly refurbished rooms”
 of 5 bubbles Corny264, 3 Jun 2015 | Read review
“Pay an extra $10.00 and stay elsewhere”
 of 5 bubbles mitchormark, 21 Oct 2014 | Read review
“All rooms are ice boxes. The rooms on the southern side are even colder”
 of 5 bubbles richardlA7929NN, 4 Jul 2014 | Read review
“Keep driving, keep driving........”
 of 5 bubbles DaveBevin, 8 Jun 2014 | Read review
“I stayed in room 58, it was very nice. It took me a few minutes to find the coffee making facilities, there is a door on the wall next to bathroom, it looks like a meter cupboard, I had a peep in there and lo and behold, I found the sink, jug, coffee etc. I charged my iPad etc in there at night also”
 of 5 bubbles DianneG866, 23 Apr 2014 | Read review
5 of 5