We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Pavilions Hotel

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Pavilions Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

564 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 551: English reviews
Start your review of Pavilions Hotel
 Click to rate
Dunedin nz
Reviewed yesterday NEW

We stayed in one of their superior studio untis which has a kitchenette . It was very clean and tidy and spacious. Unfortunately we had a unit that received no sun during the day so would ask for a different one next time. There is a problem with the showers as lack pressure but also when the next door unit...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank FamilyDunedinnz
Melbourne
Reviewed 1 week ago

They went out of their way to make out trip as easy and stress free as possible. The staff are wonderful, and no request was met with negativity. The service and food at the restaurant was also top quality

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank 526anon
Invercargill, New Zealand
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

A well equiped and tidy room that was spotlessly clean. The hotel had friendly knowledgeable staff. A short walk away from the CBD. Very good food. Great breakfast that set me up for the day. I ate at the hotel restaurant every evening during my weeks stay.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank 340gary
Timaru, New Zealand
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The hotel is convenient, room well appointed, great bed and shower. A bit noisy, sounded like neighbour's shower was in our room. However it is close to town and the Casino is within walking distance.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank parris64
Christchurch, New Zealand
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Good Central Place to Stay, friendly staff and nice bar, room was okay and comfortable but the bathroom could do with being upgraded. Walking distance to city center and plenty of good restaurants nearby.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Chris M
Dunedin, New Zealand
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

My room was to a very high standard, I felt extremely comfortable, safe & well cared for. The staff were extremely helpful & friendly, as well as professional. Housekeeping did themselves proud & provided such excellent work it was so lovely coming home to my room each night after work. Breakfast in the morning was everything I could ask for,...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank heathersG1126IH
Horncastle, General Manager at Pavilions Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to post feedback on your stay. I am glad you enjoyed the comfort of our rooms and our customer service. Our housekeeping team are fantastic and have strict procedures in place including spot checking by management daily to ensure we achieve excellence in cleanliness. Our restaurant is fantastic for both breakfast and dinner and...

Cary, North Carolina, Usa
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Very nice, quiet hotel with a very friendly staff who are willing to please. Hotel has a small pool and outdoor Jacuzzi. Free parking is a plus for this hotel just on the north side of the CBD. Convenient to downtown and a beautiful central park is close by within easy walking distance. Very nice restaurant and bar on premises.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Joe S
Horncastle, General Manager at Pavilions Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your feedback on your stay. I am glad you enjoyed our staff who do aim for excellence in customer service. Free parking is definitely a plus in this day and age. Our location is excellent for both business and pleasure. Our onsite restaurant is great and we have many return customers both local and guests.

Auckland
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Nice easy walk into the city and pretty gardens but the rooms are pretty average I have stayed in much better. Could have better sky channels and the reception on the TV is not great at all. Staff are very friendly.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank tenillehrscrft8
Horncastle, General Manager at Pavilions Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to post a review. We are glad you enjoyed our friendly staff. Our location is perfect with just a short walk to town, local bars and restaurants, Hagley Park and the casino. Ideal position for business and pleasure. We are upgrading our whole TV system to have all SKY and Netflix within the 6...

Kaikoura, New Zealand
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Always nice to stay at The Pavillions Hotel. Comfortable rooms with friendly reception staff. First time we've stayed in the hotel rooms and they were great. Surprisingly quiet. We look forward to staying again.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank BacardiBoo
Horncastle, General Manager at Pavilions Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you so much for taking the time to post feedback on your stay. I am glad you enjoyed our friendly staff and the comfort of our rooms. We look forward to seeing you next time.

Whalley, United Kingdom
Reviewed 17 March 2017

Lovely large room & could cater for yourself if needed. Comfy bed. The negatives were very poor wifi (in room) no problems in bar area - only managed to receive for 30 mins over a 48 hr stay, not good as we were travelling and needed to check out so much, whether this was same in all rooms, unsure. 2nd...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank barbstarkey
Horncastle, General Manager at Pavilions Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you so much for taking the time to post feedback on your stay. I am sorry you had trouble with the WIFI, we have Fibre and it is normally superfast. I wonder if you reported this to reception at the time of stay as we do not generally have any problems. Regarding parking we are fixing this situation in...

118 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (63)
Viewed
Room/Suite (16)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (15)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Other (20)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (55)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (9)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (17)
Viewed
Other (26)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Christchurch hotels
1.6 km away
Rendezvous Hotel Christchurch
Rendezvous Hotel Christchurch
#15 of 144 in Christchurch
1,667 reviews
0.5 km away
Merivale Manor
Merivale Manor
#4 of 144 in Christchurch
591 reviews
1.6 km away
Heritage Christchurch
Heritage Christchurch
#7 of 144 in Christchurch
614 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 km away
Novotel Christchurch Cathedral Square Hotel
1.9 km away
Rydges Latimer Christchurch Hotel
0.8 km away
The George Christchurch
The George Christchurch
#6 of 144 in Christchurch
1,266 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Suites
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Paid Wifi
Services
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Conference Facilities
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Pavilions Hotel is conveniently located near the central city. We have 86 beautifully designed and appointed guest rooms and we can provide rooms with full kitchen, spa bath and disabled facilities. Just 7 km from the airport and 2 minutes from Hagley Park, it makes golfing and our famous Botanical Gardens just outside our doorstep. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Pavilions Hotel

Address: 42 Papanui Road, Christchurch 8014, New Zealand (Formerly Quality Inn)
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Christchurch
Price Range: RM423 - RM757 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Pavilions Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 86
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Pavilions Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Inn Christchurch
Christchurch Quality Inn
Pavilions Hotel Christchurch
Hotel Style:
#10 Luxury Hotel in Christchurch
#19 Romantic Hotel in Christchurch
#22 Family Hotel in Christchurch
#25 Business Hotel in Christchurch
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Pavilions Hotel staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question
Bengaluru, India
over a year ago

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Pavilions Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Away from main road.”
chrismI9331YX, 3 Apr 2017 | Read review
“1 bedroom suite is very nice.”
811joes, 27 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Top floor to protect privacy”
barbstarkey, 16 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Possibly think of preferred room location when booking ”
morepoke, 12 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Be nice to have plunger coffee free rather than having to pay for it,only place I have had to pay for it so didn't have it.”
margotg388, 12 Mar 2017 | Read review
5 of 5