We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Old Countryhouse

Certificate of Excellence
14/05/2017 15/05/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Professional photos
The Old Countryhouse
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

211 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for The Old Countryhouse
See the most recent reviews
Showing 193: English reviews
Reviewed 27 September 2016

My husband and I had a great time in Chirstchurch and loved The Old Country House! They were very kind and helpful! We had a private room with a comfortable bed! Free WIFI! Bathrooms were clean and convenient. Deff great place for backpackers!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Danielle V
TheOldCountryhouse, Manager at The Old Countryhouse, responded to this review

Hi Danielle, Thankyou for your feedback of your stay with us. It is great to hear you had a lovely stay with us, made good use of all our facilities! We definately enjoyed having you stay with us and chat with our team. We wish you all the best for the remainder of your travels, and we look forward to...

Reviewed 4 September 2016 via mobile

Having paid a deposit we arrived late after a long journey to be turned away and not refunded. The woman owner was so rude it was unbelievable. I have stayed in many back packers and this was not in line with the others. Having travelled the world and arrived in many places late, no where was a problem except here....

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank 111111james
TheOldCountryhouse, Manager at The Old Countryhouse, responded to this review

Hi James, Unfortunately we have no record of you booking or staying with us over the time period you have suggested, we do not have any emails in regards to this incident either so can not fully identify why this situation took place. As this was almost a year ago, our staff are also unsure why we would have turned...

Auckland, New Zealand
Reviewed 21 July 2016

We spent only one night here but we would definitely go back next time we go to Christchurch. The central heating was beautiful in the middle of winter. They had a spa pool. But most importantly there is a friendly dog there to meet. Plenty of parking all around the place too was important to us (some of which is...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank fuchsiagem
TheOldCountryhouse, Manager at The Old Countryhouse, responded to this review

Hello, Thankyou for taking the time to review our hostel, we are glad you enjoyed your stay with us! Even though your stay with with us was brief, it is great to hear you had a comfortable stay. Max the dog also would have been happy to meet you to, he loves all the attention he can get :) We...

Christchurch, New Zealand
Reviewed 14 July 2016

After arriving to New Zealand(before finding a suitable house) we spent first five days in this beautiful backpacker. Nice,clean rooms..great spa and sauna infront of the backpacker..great staff,specially their duty manager Lucka,who was a big help to us..close to he city centre..

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Evasmrekar11
TheOldCountryhouse, Manager at The Old Countryhouse, responded to this review

Hi there, Thankyou for your review of our hostel. We are glad to here you enjoyed your stay with us and made use of all our great facilities. Yes, Lucka is a wonderful asset and leader in our team. It is great you stopped to chat to our team members and they could help you with some tips around Christchurch....

Cambridge, United Kingdom
Reviewed 13 July 2016 via mobile

Really lovely hostel with a great homely feel. It was a little bit far out of town but I think that's pretty standard for Christchurch. The staff were so helpful and gave us good advice on everything. Only issue was it got a bit cold at night and some of the other guests never did their washing up. But overall...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank rush91
TheOldCountryhouse, Front Office Manager at The Old Countryhouse, responded to this review

Hi there, Thank you so much for reviewing our hostel. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay and that the staff was able to help you out. Because it can get a bit cold in the rooms we have some hot water bottles for rent, to make sure everyone is nice and warm during the cold winter...

Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Reviewed 9 July 2016

We stayed in a double room for two nights (which was cheaper than 2 dorm beds). Warm room with comfy beds and fluffy towels. Kitchen has 8 hobs and a microwave and all the pots and pans you'll need. Really clean and cosy hostel. But only two showers. It wasn't so bad as the place wasn't full... but it could...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank LoubLou21
TheOldCountryhouse, Manager at The Old Countryhouse, responded to this review

Hi, thank you for reviewing our hostel! We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us, it was great to have you here and it is good to hear you enjoyed our facilities and had a good time with our staff members. Thank you for the comment about the number of bathrooms, we will bring that issue up at our...

Austria
Reviewed 31 May 2016

We stayed there three times, in all for two weeks. We really enjoyed our stay, that`s way we always came back. The staff is one off the best and friendliest we had in New Zealand. They really try to make your stay perfect. It is a very clean hostel and there are good beds :)

 Report
Helpful?
Thank monima111
TheOldCountryhouse, Manager at The Old Countryhouse, responded to this review

Hi there, Thankyou for your review of our Hostel, it was great you chose to stay a bit longer with us and we definately enjoyed having you here! We strive to keep our standard of cleanliness high, we are please to hear that this helped to make your stay more comfortable. We are glad you stopped by for some chats...

Napier, New Zealand
Reviewed 10 May 2016

I stayed three times at this hostel for about three weeks in total and it was a great stay. The hostel is is clean, has a very well equipped kitchen and probably the nicest staff in New Zealand. Just a great atmosphere to relax a bit....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank _do_schumacher
TheOldCountryhouse, Manager at The Old Countryhouse, responded to this review

Hi there, Thankyou for your review of our hostel. It was great to have you stay with us for such a good amount of your South Island adventure. It was nice you stopped by to have some good chats to our reception team, we definately enjoyed hearing about your travels. We are glad you liked our facilities, and hope you...

Reviewed 7 April 2016 via mobile

I only stayed for a night but what I've seen and felt from the hostel is very positive.When I arrived, I was really surprised by such a high level of cleanliness...even late in the evening. No mess, do dirts from kitchen to bathroom. I really appreciated it! All in all, I felt good there. Their sauna and hot tub are...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Innerworld
TheOldCountryhouse, Manager at The Old Countryhouse, responded to this review

Hello, Thankyou for your review of our Hostel, we are glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us! We do strive to keep the hostel at a high level of cleanliness, and it is nice to know that this helped to add comfort to your stay with us. The sauna and spa are a great bonus to use during...

Mumbai
Reviewed 28 March 2016

We stayed at this place just to get ourselves of the jetlag, rest befor the onward drive and had planned to do nothing in christchurch. Thus despite its location outside the city center(~3-4 KM) we would not complain. There is a supermarket on the opposite side a few shops down the lane and a subway all withing 5 min walking...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank V2C
TheOldCountryhouse, Manager at The Old Countryhouse, responded to this review

Hi there, Thankyou for your feedback of our hostel. It was great that you chose our hostel to stay while you recovered from your long flights! We are pleased you made the most of all of our facilities, and the neighbourhood. Yes, the hot tub is a bit of fun regardless of the weather! We hope that your stay with...

27 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (5)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
0:48
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (2)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (22)
Viewed
View from Room (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (5)
14/05/2017 15/05/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Christchurch hotels
1.4 km away
BreakFree on Cashel
BreakFree on Cashel
#30 of 144 in Christchurch
1,523 reviews
1.4 km away
Rendezvous Hotel Christchurch
Rendezvous Hotel Christchurch
#15 of 144 in Christchurch
1,672 reviews
3.8 km away
Jailhouse Accommodation
Jailhouse Accommodation
#2 of 102 in Christchurch
484 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 km away
Dorset House Backpackers
Dorset House Backpackers
#10 of 102 in Christchurch
221 reviews
2.2 km away
YHA Christchurch
YHA Christchurch
#6 of 102 in Christchurch
185 reviews
0.9 km away
Around the World Backpackers
Around the World Backpackers
#15 of 102 in Christchurch
106 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Things to do
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Airport Transportation
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Well loved,upmarket and Multi Award Winning Backpackers Hostel in Christchurch. We welcome guests from all over the world since 1998. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Old Countryhouse

Address: 437 Gloucester Street, Christchurch 8062, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Christchurch
Price Range: RM100 - RM313 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — The Old Countryhouse 2*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Priceline, Hotels.com and HostelWorld so you can book your The Old Countryhouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Old Countryhouse Hotel Christchurch
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from The Old Countryhouse staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“House 3 doesn't have a common room but is my favourite!”
alicebw1531, 6 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Great atmosphere and staff - very pleasant, clean, safe and comfortable.”
TravelChapRotorua, 9 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Just ask them, they will give you a corresponding offer”
sannchen2016, 25 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Check booking.com for good deals on the rooms.”
Leeuw605, 28 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Nice place, a little outside town”
  • Kitchen
V2C, 28 Mar 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
No availability for your dates from these sites
Booking.com
* /night
View Deal
Orbitz.com
Expedia.com
Agoda.com
View all 8 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates