We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Grange Guesthouse & Motel

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
The Grange Guesthouse & Motel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

810 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for The Grange Guesthouse & Motel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 740: English reviews
Christchurch, New Zealand
Reviewed 16 August 2016

In town for the night This was a great choice quiet yet right in town The lady running this place was super friendly and helpful as was the rest of the stalf rooms Are well presented and clean Breakfast was a a great way to start the day

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Bruce P
Los Angeles
Reviewed 5 August 2016

The Grange provided a clean, well appointed room in a quiet neighborhood. The staff was wonderful, friendly and very helpful. Breakfast was excellent in a bright and cheery room. The Grange is a pleasant and memorable stay on my 4 week holiday Short walk to shops, sites and restaurants. Highly recommended, it's a great value.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank TVPM
Washington DC
Reviewed 28 July 2016

Perfect location, just 5 minutes' walk from downtown. Very comfortable studio with separate sitting area. Hosts were lovely -even gave us a guidebook when we realized we'd left our book in the rental car on North Island.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank swatson61
Diss, United Kingdom
Reviewed 26 July 2016

Our open plan room was well designed, well equipted and perfect for our trip, the bathroom was great, underfloor heating and a walk in shower. The room had a great American sized bed with the open plan kitchen having a refrigerator, double hob, microwave and all neccesities for preparing a wonderful meal.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Roger C
Reviewed 25 July 2016 via mobile

Perfect location near the Botanic Garden and close to the centre. The team at the Grange couldn't have been more helpful, even lending us crockery for the rest of our trip! Looking forward to going back there in a couple of weeks, although that will mean we're at the end of our trip!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Camulodofan
West Monroe, Louisiana
Reviewed 12 July 2016

We found The Grange B&B to be utterly charming. It's has a cozy home atmosphere, but in a city-centre location. We walked everywhere we wanted to go. The breakfasts are made-to-order and delicious! (I highly recommend the eggs benedict!) If you like the idea of a B&B, you'll love this place!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank sallyforth207
TheGrangeGuesthouse, Manager at The Grange Guesthouse & Motel, responded to this review

Hi sallyforth207, Thank you for taking the time to write a review about us. We are glad you had a good stay with us and that you enjoyed not only our super convenient location but also our breakfast which is cooked fresh every morning. We hope to see you again in the near future! The Grange Team.

Port Lincoln, Australia
Reviewed 12 July 2016

Our room was clean and tidy. Decorated to suit the era of the building. Bed comfy. Heating worked well. The staff were extremely friendly and helpful. Range of choices of cooked breakfast- bacon & eggs and eggs Benedict both good. Fresh espresso coffee excellent. Catered for gluten intolerance. Located around the corner from the Botanic Gardens and Museum. Wifi useless.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank AussieZebu
TheGrangeGuesthouse, Manager at The Grange Guesthouse & Motel, responded to this review

Hi AussieZebu, Thank you very much for taking a couple of minutes to write this lovely review for us. We are pleased to read all your positive comments about your stay, specially about our staff as we work hard to ensure a pleasant stay for our guests. Please accept our apologies for the WIFI service, as we have been experiencing...

Atlanta, Georgia
Reviewed 10 July 2016

The Grange was fabulous. Super clean accomodations in a wonderful old large house. Very well equipped roon. Very attentive staff. Great breakfast and fabulous coffee. The staff were excellent and helpful. The location was excellent and walkable to many restaurants and attractions. We would definitely go back.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank pianodoc30308
TheGrangeGuesthouse, Manager at The Grange Guesthouse & Motel, responded to this review

Hello pianodoc30308, Thank you very much for your lovely review. We are thrilled to read that you made the most of your stay with us and that we offered you a great experience, which we are very prouf of. Hope to see you again for your next visit to Christchurch. The Grange Team.

Reviewed 8 July 2016

Friendly and quick check in, as the room wasn´t yet ready when we arrived early we got a wonderful coffee to shorten the waiting time. Eva was very friendly and helpful, gave us all the information we needed. Our room was lovely, very comfortable bed, unfortunately the heating was rather noisy...but we still had a good night, no noise from...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Susanne G
TheGrangeGuesthouse, Manager at The Grange Guesthouse & Motel, responded to this review

Hi Susanne G, Thanks for such a lovely review. We are glad to know that you had a great stay and that waiting for your room was pleasant. Is great to read your positive comments and we´ll keep working hard to make sure our guests have a wonderful stay. Thanks again, The Grange Team.

Cape Canaveral, Florida
Reviewed 5 July 2016

The check-in was quick. Staff was very helpful. The GPS was weird because the location is on a corner; but that was easy to figure out. Walking distance to a lot of good sites, RE: Start Mall, Hagley Park, Restaurants. Good place

 Report
Helpful?
Thank BSBarnhouse
TheGrangeGuesthouse, Manager at The Grange Guesthouse & Motel, responded to this review

Hello BSBarnhouse, Thanks for writing a great review for us. We are glad you had a lovely stay with us and trust we will host you again in the future! Thanks again, The Grange Team.

162 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (149)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (34)
Viewed
Bathroom (13)
Viewed
Room/Suite (31)
Viewed
View from Room (5)
Viewed
Dining (8)
Viewed
Other (58)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (13)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Christchurch hotels
0.6 km away
Heritage Christchurch
Heritage Christchurch
#7 of 144 in Christchurch
616 reviews
0.4 km away
The George Christchurch
The George Christchurch
#6 of 144 in Christchurch
1,267 reviews
0.6 km away
Rendezvous Hotel Christchurch
Rendezvous Hotel Christchurch
#15 of 144 in Christchurch
1,670 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 km away
Rydges Latimer Christchurch Hotel
1.6 km away
Merivale Manor
Merivale Manor
#4 of 144 in Christchurch
593 reviews
0.6 km away
Quest Christchurch
Quest Christchurch
#16 of 144 in Christchurch
384 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
  • Suites
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Laundry Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Grange Boutique B&B and Motel is situated on the corner of Cramner Square, making us the closest Motel to the re:START Cashel Street mall & the Botanic Gardens. We are the ideal location for guests involved in the rebuild of the City Centre.Classic & contemporary, the newly renovated Grange B&B holds 5 large individually decorated, boutique Suites; all with Queen or Super King beds. The Motel at the rear of the Manor has 4 Studio and 4 1-Bedroom self-contained apartment style units on 2 levels, with modern decor & fittings. Make sure to stop in and grab a complimentary Latte or such from our Barista on your way out for the day!In the vicinity:A leisurely 5-10 minute walk east will find you at Cathedral Square, leading back to The Arts Centre, The Art Gallery & The Canterbury Museum. To our west, is the lovely Botanic Gardens & Hagley Park. We are only a short walk to top class restaurants such as 'Tiffany's' and 'Cook N with Gas' & the newly re-opened 'Coffee House' is 300 metres from Cathedral Grammar & Christ's College. Strolling down the Avon River will lead you to the 're:START' Cashel Street mall. Entertainment can be found at The Christchurch Casino & Victoria Street has many bars & cafes to visit.Free wireless Internet access is available to all guests. Sightseeing tours & onward travel can be arranged. Special requests & group bookings are most welcome.All rooms are Smokefree. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Grange Guesthouse & Motel

Address: 56 Armagh Street | Central City, Christchurch 8011, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Christchurch
Price Range: RM409 - RM750 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Grange Guesthouse & Motel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Agoda, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Grange Guesthouse & Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Grange Guesthouse & Motel staff and other travellers.
5 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (5)

Questions? Get answers from The Grange Guesthouse & Motel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“There is a choice of 'traditional' rooms in the house or 'motel' rooms out the back depending on your preference. All rooms are lovely.”
annew364, 14 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Request an upstairs room for less noise and views.”
L8622YWmichaell, 11 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Rooms at the back are particularly quiet.”
LandC46, 31 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Ground and first floor rooms, all are quiet.”
msr099, 23 Mar 2017 | Read review
“I would recommend our Queen room, which has a nice sitting area and a view of the square.”
73christinej, 10 Mar 2017 | Read review
5 of 5