We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Ibis Christchurch

Show Prices
GreenLeadersBronze level
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Ibis Christchurch
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

877 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Ibis Christchurch
See the most recent reviews
Showing 798: English reviews
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Reviewed 1 April 2015 via mobile

Came back to chch after few years, the last time in chch was with my friends and stayed at the ibis as well, this I came back with my mum n husband. Was excited about this trip as everything is kinda different from the earthquake. The hotel definitely was renovated better and brighten but the service definitely gone down the...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Barbara Z
Tim D, General Manager at Ibis Christchurch, responded to this review

Dear Barbara Z, Thank you for posting your review and I apologise that we didn't get it right during your stay. We most certainly should have cleaned the room properly and once you found it hadn't been done our Duty Manager should have come up to the room and completed the job that was only partially done. Our rooms are...

Dublin, Ireland
Reviewed 27 March 2015

This was the sixth of eleven hotels in which we stayed as part of a 17 day package tour of New Zealand. Stay duration: 2 non-consecutive nights (Night of day 9 and final night). 30 minutes complimentary WiFi available in lobby. Also four PCs for use free of charge for 30 minutes. Chargeable high-speed plug-in internet access in bedroom. Accommodation...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank DonalGD15
Tim D, General Manager at Ibis Christchurch, responded to this review

Dear Donal, Thank you for posting such an extensive review. It was great to read that you enjoyed your 2 different stays at Ibis and that you rated us so highly. We trust that you enjoyed your tour of New Zealand and that you have taken home some great memories. Thanks and best regards

Wellington, New Zealand
Reviewed 26 March 2015

We arrived late (after 10pm) and were given a room on the 7th floor, right next to the howling air conditioning unit which you could hear from your room. They never bothered to ask what bed layout and so we ended up with two queens and you couldn't even push them together as the unit in between is bolted to...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank HypnoWarrior
Tim D, General Manager at Ibis Christchurch, responded to this review

Dear Hypno Warrior, Thank you for posting your comments. I am sorry that you didn't get the room type that you wanted. The room you did stay in has 2 double beds and is classed as a twin. It is a shame that you didn't book a King room which by the sound of it would have suited you better....

Novi, Michigan
Reviewed 26 March 2015

I realize that Ibis is not a Park Hyatt or JW Marriott but I could have stayed at one of those for the cost I paid for the Ibis. The room was dirty, the shower drain fell off, the view was nonexistent, the shower water went from cold to dangerously hot without even touching the knob, I had to beg...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Chris R
Tim D, General Manager at Ibis Christchurch, responded to this review

Dear Chris R, Thank you for your review and I apologise that we didn't meet your expectations. Our prices vary according to the time of year and are always comparable to similar propertires in the city. I am sorry that there were issues with your room and to enable us to ensure that these do not happen again I would...

Quebec
Reviewed 18 March 2015 via mobile

This hotel is smack in the heart of the earthquake devastation, so views from rooms are a bit depressing. But very quiet, comfortable hotel with decent buffet breakfast. My elderly parents did not appreciate the "loud music" playing in the restaurant at dinner. My biggest pet peeve in 2015 is paying for WiFi in your hotel room. And it was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank fionaqc
Tim D, General Manager at Ibis Christchurch, responded to this review

Dear fionaqc, Thank you for posting your review and your nice comments. It was a shame you didn't ask us to turn down the volume of the music in the restaurant as we would have been happy to do so. We hope that you take some good memories of your visit to Christchurch back home with you to Canada. You...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 18 March 2015

I stayed 2 nights at the Ibis Christchurch, one night on my own then the 2nd night 2 friends joined me. Reservations were very helpful with making 2 separate bookings which meant I only paid single occupancy for the first night and we could stay in the same room for the 2nd night. I booked a shuttle from the airport...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank littleconners
Tim D, General Manager at Ibis Christchurch, responded to this review

Dear littleconnors, Thank you for posting such an awesome review. It sounds like you really enjoyed your visit to Christchurch and it was great to see your comments about the friendliness and helpfulness of the staff. We hope to see you again in the future. Kind regards

Brisbane
Reviewed 14 March 2015

We had a fantastic stay at this Ibis - the staff were really good and had a great attitude towards the guests. While staying there were several groups in the hotel and everything still flowed really nicely; we were well looked after! The room was great, clean and had a view towards the Port Hills across the devastated city -...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank IanW-QLD
Tim D, General Manager at Ibis Christchurch, responded to this review

Dear IanW-QLD, Thank you for posting such a fantastic review. It was great to read that even though we were really busy that we still managed to really look after you so well. Our staff do try really hard and so it is really nice to see comments like yours that reinforce that their efforts are appreciated. Your words about...

Holywell, United Kingdom
Reviewed 7 March 2015

The hotel is centrally located, being only a couple of minutes from the cathedral square, and well maintained. The rooms are clean and the hotel staff are friendly. The down side is the meals are overpriced, $NZ86 for two 2 course meals and a couple of bottles of beer, and the charge for wifi connection. wifi in the hotel lobby...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Ron P
Tim D, General Manager at Ibis Christchurch, responded to this review

Dear Ron P, Thank you for your review and for your nice comments about our friendly staff and location. You mention that our meals are expensive but the price that you paid for dinner works out to be $35 per person for a two course meal which compares favourably with other restaurants in the city. We are looking at alternatives...

Greymouth, New Zealand
Reviewed 6 March 2015

Booked in here by work. Have stayed in this chain elsewhere in NZ so knew what to expect. Reception staff very pleasant and welcoming. Room was clean and tidy and had all the essentials:bathroom was similar. Like having a stand alone shower.Some little extras missing like a pen and a notepad.I do not like eating on my own in the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Christine R
Tim D, General Manager at Ibis Christchurch, responded to this review

Dear Christine R, Thank you for your review and it was pleasing to see that you enjoyed your stay. We can arrange to have meals delivered to the rooms so please remember that if you do come back again. Thanks once again and we do hope to see you again in the future. Kind regards

Newport Beach, California
Reviewed 5 March 2015

This is a centrally located, new hotel with an industrial/minimalist style. Very utilitarian. However, considering the utter devastation in Christchurch four years ago from the earthquake, this is an excellent addition to the city. I believe that there are many long term residents who are working to rebuild the city. The rooms are small, but very clean and functional. The...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jkloc
Tim D, General Manager at Ibis Christchurch, responded to this review

Dear jkloc, Thank you for posting such a great review and especially for rating our service so highly. I am very proud of the team and the hard work that they do to provide excellent service. We love having positive people like you staying as we definitely get a good feeling back when our service is appreciated. We hope that...

224 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (187)
Viewed
Room/Suite (41)
Viewed
Bathroom (20)
Viewed
View from Room (19)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (31)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Other (71)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (37)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (8)
Viewed
Room/Suite (15)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (12)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Christchurch hotels
0.2 km away
Novotel Christchurch Cathedral Square Hotel
0.3 km away
BreakFree on Cashel
BreakFree on Cashel
#28 of 146 in Christchurch
1,246 reviews
0.3 km away
Rendezvous Hotel Christchurch
Rendezvous Hotel Christchurch
#13 of 146 in Christchurch
1,575 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
Quest Christchurch
Quest Christchurch
#16 of 146 in Christchurch
355 reviews
0.3 km away
Hotel 115 Christchurch
Hotel 115 Christchurch
#44 of 146 in Christchurch
322 reviews
0.7 km away
Rydges Latimer Christchurch Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
GreenLeadersBronze level
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Banquet Room
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Conference Facilities
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Ibis Christchurch is ready to welcome you. Adjacent to the new shopping heart of Christchurch, Cashell Mall. The "pop up" shopping precinct is the new vibrant heart of the city, featuring many new designer shops and modern cafes. Ibis Hotel Christchurch is very close to the famous Cathedral Square, the historic heart of the city providing easy access to the outer lying attractions and the airport. The Ibis features 155 contemporary rooms, restaurant OOPEN, a bar and meeting room. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Ibis Christchurch

Address: 107 Hereford Street, Christchurch 8140, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Christchurch
Price Range: RM369 - RM924 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Ibis Christchurch 3.5*
Number of rooms: 155
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Travelocity and ACCOR so you can book your Ibis Christchurch reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ibis Christchurch Hotel Christchurch
Accor Christchurch
Hotel Style:
#6 Green Hotel in Christchurch
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Ibis Christchurch staff and other travellers.
14 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (14)

Questions? Get answers from Ibis Christchurch staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Upgrade & pre pay online for breakfast if it isn't part of your package. Cheaper.”
 of 5 bubbles ChrisB529, 11 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Make sure to ask about directions to hotel due to the construction”
 of 5 bubbles MrBrovold, 7 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Higher room facing the Cathedral”
 of 5 bubbles nirvikary, 23 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Higher up is best from my point-of-view!”
 of 5 bubbles PerryB137, 27 Dec 2016 | Read review
“ask for room with no view of the concrete wall”
 of 5 bubbles Jussiluukkonen, 20 Dec 2016 | Read review
5 of 5