We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Kelvin Hotel

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Kelvin Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

159 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 149: English reviews
Start your review of Kelvin Hotel
 Click to rate
singapore
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Stayed here a night unplanned. Fantastic location in the heart of invercargill, near the mall and walking distance from the supermarket and others. Older hotel (I first came by in 2003!) ... but in good upkeep. Clean, warm and nothing to complain about. Service was helpful. There are newer hotels in Invercargill ... but from driving around town, I think...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank keltzar
Aaron M, General Manager at Kelvin Hotel, responded to this review

Hello Keltzar, Thank you very much for staying with us again. The team enjoy their interactions with guests from all around the globe. We look forward to seeing you again soon. Aaron

Perth, Australia
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We ended up here following a booking mix up elsewhere. Great location, rooms super clean. Older style building with parking available. Staff were very pleasant and helpful. Bathroom is retrofitted, and seems new.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jane B
Aaron M, General Manager at Kelvin Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback and staying with us at the Kelvin. Aaron

New Zealand
Reviewed 17 January 2017 via mobile

Not the fanciest hotel I have ever stayed at, but our rooms were spacious and clean. It's a dated hotel but not shabby and the staff were so delightful and fun, they made our stay one to be remembered.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank VivNewZealand
Aaron M, General Manager at Kelvin Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback. Aaron

Wanaka, New Zealand
Reviewed 15 January 2017 via mobile

We arrived in Invercargill without having pre booked any accommodation. We found Kelvin Hotel via trip advisor and just walked into reception to see if they were any available rooms. Stephanie at reception was very friendly and very helpful and found us a great room. Our room was clean and comfortable and the bathroom nicely updated. There was underground car...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Hannahloulou
Aaron M, General Manager at Kelvin Hotel, responded to this review

Hello, We are glad you enjoyed your stay. I will be sure to pass your comments on To Stephanie. Hope to see you again. Aaron

Invercargill, New Zealand
Reviewed 5 January 2017

This hotel is extremely well situated within the CBD - everything that you want is within walking distance. Functional hotel rooms - everything required of a city hotle. Good food and friendly, helpful staff

 Report
Helpful?
Thank dippy_sal
Aaron M, General Manager at Kelvin Hotel, responded to this review

Hello, We are glad you liked us. Aaron.

Temuka, New Zealand
Reviewed 2 January 2017 via mobile

The walls are thin you can hear the TV in the next room and the voices of the occupants. The room smelled awful and the bed was really small and not comfortable. This was not a pleasant experience for us.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank cherylcoombs
Aaron M, General Manager at Kelvin Hotel, responded to this review

Hello, We are sorry to hear that your stay was not enjoyable. Which room did you stay in as we would love to make sure everything is standard? Aaron

Sint Maarten, St. Maarten-St. Martin
Reviewed 30 December 2016

nice welcome, we were there to catch an expedition cruise, which cruise ( heritage expeditions cruise) was a near disaster good rooms, clean , bath room ok , independant WC , well heated , good breakfast , service ok that hotel provide on ground floor betting for race , horse , dogs , etc with drinks also 1st floor bar...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Patrick c
Aaron M, General Manager at Kelvin Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for staying. Aaron

Ashburton, New Zealand
Reviewed 29 December 2016

Stayed here for graduation and was a perfect location, lovely bar area downstairs that opened up to road and staff super friendly. For the price room was good although whole hotel is very dated. If got the same deal would stay again

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Trina M
Aaron M, General Manager at Kelvin Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you we are starting the 2nd floor room upgrades within the next few months and that will make the rooms even more comfortable. Aaron

Christchurch, New Zealand
Reviewed 7 December 2016 via mobile

We stayed just the one night thankfully. The bar and restaurant are fine but the hotel room was too hot. Both windows were open as far as they could go. The air con appeared off and said don't touch but still had heat. It was the worst sleep I've had once I eventually got to sleep. Would choose to stay...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Shane M
Aaron M, General Manager at Kelvin Hotel, responded to this review

Hello Shane, I am sorry to hear you didn't sleep well due to the room being to hot. With the changeable weather of late finding the right balance from a radiator system can be a challenge. Did you inform reception so we could send someone up to adjust the heating system and also bring up a fan? We thank you...

Queenstown, New Zealand
Reviewed 28 November 2016

The hotel has a good restaurant. Some residents in Invercargill think Kelvin hotel is the best hotel in the city. so, I booked a room but the room was ok. The bed was terrible, too old. I would never try this hotel again.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jeong H
Aaron M, General Manager at Kelvin Hotel, responded to this review

Hello Jeong, I am disappointed that you didn't like the bed. what was wrong? which room did you stay in? without information it is very hard to do anything. Changing rooms or beds can be a very simple fix. Aaron

60 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (52)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (11)
Viewed
Room/Suite (18)
Viewed
Bathroom (7)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Other (11)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (8)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Invercargill hotels
1.0 km away
Tower Lodge Motel
Tower Lodge Motel
#1 of 33 in Invercargill
284 reviews
3.6 km away
Ascot Park Hotel
Ascot Park Hotel
#2 of 33 in Invercargill
329 reviews
0.4 km away
Victoria Railway Hotel
Victoria Railway Hotel
#1 of 15 in Invercargill
186 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 km away
Bella Vista Motel
Bella Vista Motel
#9 of 33 in Invercargill
91 reviews
0.7 km away
Birchwood Manor Motel
Birchwood Manor Motel
#13 of 33 in Invercargill
134 reviews
0.7 km away
ASURE Townsman Motor Lodge
ASURE Townsman Motor Lodge
#8 of 33 in Invercargill
95 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
In your room
  • Minibar
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Paid Internet
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Conference Facilities

Additional Information about Kelvin Hotel

Address: Corner Kelvin & Esk Streets, | P.O. Box 1064, Invercargill, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Southland Region > Invercargill
Price Range: RM428 - RM664 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Kelvin Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Kelvin Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kelvin Hotel Invercargill, South Island
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Kelvin Hotel staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from Kelvin Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“higher floors have less street noise”
 of 5 bubbles dippy_sal, 4 Jan 2017 | Read review
“I was on level 6 - top level.”
 of 5 bubbles TheBismarck, 26 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Rooms on higher levers are quieter and have great views”
 of 5 bubbles Hugh418, 25 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Avoid room 201”
 of 5 bubbles 933priscillap, 31 Oct 2016 | Read review
“dont get a room on the Esk St side on 5th floor. noisy”
 of 5 bubbles bustedblonde, 2 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5