We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Professional photos
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel
Panoramas (2)
View Map
{"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}}}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,041 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 1,003: English reviews
Fremont, CA
Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

We stayed here recently and were terrible disappointed with the bad design in the bathroom ... the bathroom is a slight step down and a terrible trip hazard - we stubbed our ties several times. Also at time of telephone booking despite giving my name and phone number they couldn't pull up my Hilton Honors Number and we did not...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sen
Nelson
Reviewed 3 days ago NEWvia mobile

Visited as a family group and difficult to find as Google maps directed us 2-3km further down street. Even in the room it told me the hotel was 5 mins drive away! When we found the right building we were given a card and told that we go to 2nd floor. Spent 5 mins looking around for rooms. Lifts only...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank krisnz
Texas
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

located across the water from downtown Queenstown, peaceful walking paths, breakfast buffet at the adjacent Hilton is wonderful. A rental car is very useful to have (GoRentals is excellent). Nearby construction site might cause noise problems.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank R B
ChrisEh, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel, responded to this review

Glad you loved it and hope to see you back soon!

Reviewed 6 days ago NEWvia mobile

This is a very nice hotel in a beautiful location. The staff was really nice and we didn't have any issues throughout our stay. This hotel is conveniently located on the lake with breathtaking views and easy accessibility to water taxi to go to town.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Amir1122
ChrisEh, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you!

Reviewed 1 week ago

A quick review to compliment Lea (at the front desk) on her amazingly efficient, friendly and effective. Very helpful. We look forward to our stay in December. Currently staying in the sister hotel on the same site. Lovely position, views and rooms.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 657craigp
ChrisEh, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for recognising Lea! Fantastic to be recognised! We look forward to welcome you back.

New York City, New York
Reviewed 1 week ago

We had an overall positive experience staying here. The staff was very friendly, welcoming and helpful. The rooms, while on the small side, were modern, clean and well-equipped, including a kitchenette in the entryway. Parking is complimentary in the convenient underground lot. The one issue we did encounter was the Wifi. It was extremely slow, almost to the point of...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Anthony H
ChrisEh, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you. I am glad you enjoyed the tranquility of the resort. Hope to see you again soon!

saginaw, tx
Reviewed 1 week ago

I almost feel bad to give a so-so review because the fantastic staff, especially fron desk worker Saratta made the stay so enjoyable. The rooms were tiny, the king size bed was comfortable but took up the entire bedroom. The closet had one shelf about six feet high with 2 robes on it so it was hard to reach and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank dickd99
ChrisEh, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you so much for completing a review. I am so pleased that Sadia had such a great impact on your stay. We are lucky to have such a hospitable team that make such a difference. I appreciate your feedback on the room and will certainly see what is possible to rectify in the short term. We hope to see...

Washington DC, District of Columbia
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Was wholly unimpressed with the stay here - quite honestly the worst part of a two week vacation in NZ. The hotel is very much out of the way with access complicated by long term road construction. They don't tell you this!!! It takes forever to get there on a one lane bridge. Also shuttle service to Queenstown is very...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jonathangI7120BN
ChrisEh, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. I am sorry you did not enjoy your stay with us. The scaffolding is actually not construction but instead we are restraining the exterior of the hotel. This is a moving program and we ensure rooms impacted are closed for sale. The entire building will be completed over the next 2-3 weeks. We are always...

Hassel, Luxembourg
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

the location of the hotel is just beautiful. If you have the chance to get on lake view then it's just magical. Breakfast is great! Huge choice of international food. Although it's a bit far from Queenstown I would stay here again because of the peace and quiet around the lake. There is a shuttle going from the hotel to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kalahanna
ChrisEh, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel, responded to this review

Glad you had a great time with us!

Singapore, Singapore
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

A lot of Asian tour groups which make it unfriendly for non tour group travellers. We had three options to go to Queenstown central either by car, hotel shuttle (free), water taxi(10 dollars per pax) and we choose water taxi. The experience was horrible as tour groups seem to have piority on the water taxi. We waited for our water...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ESG01
ChrisEh, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. As a valued gold member thee a a number of benifits such as preferred room allocation, free upgrade upon availability, preferred room rates to name a few. I apologise regarding space in the water taxi and shuttle. It is recommended to book in advance to ensure they hold a spot for you. I appreciate your...

471 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (349)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
View from Room (31)
Viewed
Room/Suite (101)
Viewed
Bathroom (23)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (48)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Other (140)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (79)
Viewed
Amenities (14)
Viewed
King Deluxe Lakeview (49)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
The Hotel (12)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (43)
Viewed
Room/Suite (16)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (11)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Other (9)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Queenstown hotels
0.1 km away
Hilton Queenstown Resort & Spa
5.4 km away
Novotel Queenstown Lakeside
Novotel Queenstown Lakeside
#23 of 57 in Queenstown
2,868 reviews
4.5 km away
Pounamu Apartments
Pounamu Apartments
#10 of 57 in Queenstown
1,246 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.3 km away
Mercure Resort Queenstown
Mercure Resort Queenstown
#27 of 57 in Queenstown
1,219 reviews
6.1 km away
Hotel St Moritz Queenstown - MGallery Collection
5.8 km away
Crowne Plaza Queenstown
Crowne Plaza Queenstown
#16 of 57 in Queenstown
1,318 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Enjoy a warm welcome at DoubleTree by Hilton Queenstown. Savor our delicious DoubleTree chocolate chip cookie upon arrival and settle into one of our comfortable and inviting guest rooms. Ideally located in the heart of Kawarau Village, this modern Queenstown hotel boasts breath-taking views of the shores of Lake Wakatipu and is situated just five minutes' drive from Queenstown International Airport. Central Queenstown is also just minutes away via water taxi or by our complimentary shuttle service upon availability. Surrounded by magnificent mountain scenery, this Queenstown hotel presents the closest hotel accommodation to The Remarkables Ski Field. Go skiing or snowboarding in the winter months or try exciting outdoor activities. Hire a hotel bicycle and explore the local sites or simply relax in the hotel's 10-seated executive cinema. The hotel also offers an ideal setting for business meetings and special events, with over 2,000 sq. ft. of flexible function space for events with up to 190 guests. Feel at home in a stylish guest room at DoubleTree by Hilton Queenstown. Each room boasts breath-taking views and modern amenities including WiFi access and an LCD TV. Prepare a home cooked meal in the fully equipped kitchenette, complete with oven, microwave and fridge/freezer, or visit our onsite eateries such as Me&Mee Chinese Restaurant, Wakatipu Grill, Stacks Pub, and The Lake Counter Café. ... more   less 

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel

Address: 79 Peninsula Road | Kawarau Village, Queenstown 9300, New Zealand (Formerly Kawarau Hotel)
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Queenstown
Price Range: RM639 - RM1,568 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 98
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hilton EMEA, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Odigeo, Priceline and Cheap Tickets so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kawarau Hotel, Managed By Hilton Hotel Queenstown
Hotel Style:
#9 Business Hotel in Queenstown
#19 Romantic Hotel in Queenstown
#23 Luxury Hotel in Queenstown
#26 Family Hotel in Queenstown
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel staff and other travellers.
13 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (13)

Questions? Get answers from DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Be careful of nearby construction site”
 of 5 bubbles American500, 3 Dec 2016 | Read review
“make sure you arrange reservations for hotel shuttle from Queesntown to hotel”
 of 5 bubbles dickd99, 27 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Room with a view of the lake is ideal.”
  • Loved this view! You even get a view from the bathroom.
  • Luxury bed!
 of 5 bubbles Munro442, 3 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Request a room with a view of the lake”
 of 5 bubbles LaurenGMattD, 9 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Choose the Lake View rooms !!”
 of 5 bubbles Puhup_Verma, 4 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay