We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Chalet Queenstown

Certificate of Excellence
14/05/2017 15/05/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Professional photos
Chalet Queenstown
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

282 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Chalet Queenstown
See the most recent reviews
Showing 241: English reviews
Merrimac, Australia
Reviewed 2 July 2016 via mobile

This has to be the best b&b I have ever stayed in! The hosts are amazingly friendly and always willing to help with anything. The rooms are fresh and modern with very good beds and are always cleaned everyday. The short walk into town is not hard at all and their morning breakfasts are worth getting up for. I would...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank stickfilms
AlexMcMillan, Manager at Chalet Queenstown, responded to this review

Thanks so much for your review and we are so glad you enjoyed staying with us so much. It was our pleasure to have you here and we are glad you enjoyed the location as well as the services we offer. It will be fantastic to see you again in the future. All the best,

Reviewed 1 July 2016 via mobile

Family stay for four nights. Warm and welcoming greeting from our hosts, Jude (as in "Hey"!) and Alex who were ably assisted by Lee. Breakfasts were superb; very good selection of cereals and fresh fruit with the choice of delicious á la carte hot meals as well. Fresh squeezed orange juice and plunger coffee were on offer as well. We...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Michael C
AlexMcMillan, Manager at Chalet Queenstown, responded to this review

It was an absolute delight to host you and your family during your recent stay. We loved how you embraced all the activities on offer in Queenstown even over the winter. It was great to have your company and I hope the memories you have created will be around for a long time, especially for your son. Hope you enjoyed...

Miami, Florida
Reviewed 28 June 2016

I had the opportunity to stay here for 3 days in June. Alex was an absolutely charming and wonderful host. The breakfast is absolutely not to be missed. The rooms do have great views of the lake and mountains. The bathrooms are on the small side but still quite adequate and everything is immaculate and clean. There is a large...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Joseph A
AlexMcMillan, Manager at Chalet Queenstown, responded to this review

Thanks so much for your review. It was an absolute delight to have you and your family to stay. We are delighted you enjoyed the breakfasts and the views. You picked a great time of year to discover Queenstown and would be delighted to see you again if you return. All the best to everyone,

Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 27 June 2016 via mobile

Everything was just like the photos. I felt like I was in my own bed at home. Super close to downtown. Absolutely fantastic. Jude was super welcoming on arrival and gave great tips for seeing Queenstown. Beds in the triple are King size and a king single very fluffy--not crappy hotel kind. Accommodation is very well priced and great value.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank beginusa
AlexMcMillan, Manager at Chalet Queenstown, responded to this review

Thanks so much for taking time to review Chalet Queenstown. It is great having you and your family here for a spot of wonderful winter weather. You have researched all the things on offer in Queenstown well and I know your son will have great memories of this trip just like his dad. We are so glad you are enjoying...

Reviewed 16 June 2016 via mobile

Had a fantastic four nights here over the long weekend. Greeted by host Alex who was incredibly friendly and charming. Room was beautiful with a great view of the snow topped mountains in the distance. Bed was so comfortable i didn't want to get out of it. Chalet itself beautifully decorated with a lovely calming feel. Always candles burning and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Melissa H
AlexMcMillan, Manager at Chalet Queenstown, responded to this review

It was wonderful to have you both stay. We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay here and that you rate us highly. It was a pleasure to have you stay and we hope you are able to stay again in the future and refer us to others who might be passing through Queenstown. All the best and kind regards

Washington
Reviewed 11 May 2016

Cozy rooms with beautiful views, convenient location. Wonderful continental and choice of made-to-order hot breakfast. Received breakfast tray night previous when we had early tour the next day. Stellar service overall, no request too much to ask. Additional TV channels would be a bonus; walls could be a bit more soundproof. But really nitpicking at this point -- truly wonderful...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank dlynndao
AlexMcMillan, Manager at Chalet Queenstown, responded to this review

Thanks so much for reviewing Chalet Queenstown. It was a pleasure to have you stay and we are glad we were able to help you on your journeys. We are looking into more TV channels from a suggestion another guest made. Thank you so much for recommending us. All the best.

Tauranga
Reviewed 4 May 2016

Fantastic, traditional B&B accommodation with a warm welcome and superb breakfasts offering something for everybody. We even had a view of the lake. Good location just a 5-10 minute stroll to the City Centre. Thank you Alex...we will definitely back!

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank 501neil
ChaletQueenstown, Manager at Chalet Queenstown, responded to this review

Wonderful to have you both stay and we are so glad you enjoyed it. We look forward to having you back to stay. Thanks so much for taking time to review us and for your wonderful rating. It was our pleasure to have you here. All the best to your both. Kind regards

Auckland Region, New Zealand
Reviewed 1 May 2016 via mobile

The place is very clean and welcoming. Breakfast wonderful. But its not a no smoking property as people can smoke on balconies and also outside room 7 downstairs. Also no sky tv and tv reception in our room terrible. Some plunger coffee in rooms would be nice and complimentary biscuits. It just comes across as being a bit cheap without...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Cheryl B
AlexMcMillan, Manager at Chalet Queenstown, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We have a no smoking policy in the rooms, but still must provide for smokers should they stay. As you mentioned all smoking spaces are outside and adjacent to each room. We have never advertised Sky TV but thanks for the suggestion we will explore this option and see if it fits our strategy of...

Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 25 April 2016

We had a fantastic stay at the Chalet Queenstown! The Chalet is simply immaculate and our room was perfectly appointed and provided us with spectacular views! The breakfasts were delicious and Alex and his team were engaging and informative, assisting us to find our way around Queenstown and surrounds. The Chalet is just a short five minute stroll to the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Glyn D
AlexMcMillan, Manager at Chalet Queenstown, responded to this review

Thanks so much for your review of Chalet Queenstown. We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay - it was a pleasure to have you both stay. We are delighted you enjoyed Queenstown and all it has to offer and we will be thrilled to see you again in the future. All the best

Nelson-Tasman Region, New Zealand
Reviewed 23 April 2016

Alex & John have hit it all at Chalet Queenstown. Quiet, warm, inviting, friendly, comfortable, modern, tastefully decorated, premium furnishings and bedding, responsive personal service. If you are after an upper end experience at a mid range price then try out the Chalet - you will not be disappointed. Also, kiss the cook after breakfast, he will deserve it.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Esteb Steve
AlexMcMillan, Manager at Chalet Queenstown, responded to this review

We are thrilled you took the time to review Chalet Queenstown. Thanks so much for picking out all the things we work hard on to make your experience one you like. It was wonderful to have you stay and to meet you. The cook appreciates your recommendation. Hope to see you again. All the best,

124 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (102)
Viewed
Room/Suite (22)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (13)
Viewed
Dining (10)
Viewed
View from Room (25)
Viewed
Other (29)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (22)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (10)
14/05/2017 15/05/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Queenstown hotels
1.2 km away
Hotel St Moritz Queenstown - MGallery Collection
0.5 km away
Novotel Queenstown Lakeside
Novotel Queenstown Lakeside
#21 of 57 in Queenstown
3,033 reviews
1.6 km away
The Rees Hotel & Luxury Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 km away
Mercure Resort Queenstown
Mercure Resort Queenstown
#27 of 57 in Queenstown
1,334 reviews
1.0 km away
Queenstown Park Boutique Hotel
4.7 km away
Hilton Queenstown Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Laundry Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Only 5 minutes walk to central Queenstown, Chalet Queenstown is a boutique Bed and Breakfast/Inn accommodation. Renowned worldwide for its perfectly appointed rooms and fabulous breakfasts Chalet Queenstown is the perfect place to enjoy all Queenstown, the adventure capital of New Zealand, has to offer. All seven guest rooms have private shower ensuites and balconies with the centrepiece of each room being King or Twin beds, covered in luxurious feather duvets, crisp white linens and capped off with a choice of pillows and a charcoal comforter. A sumptuous continental style buffet and freshly prepared a la carte breakfast is offered each day. With an emphasis on locally supplied goods, diversity and flavour are our focus. Cafe quality presentation has guests reaching for their cameras before they take their first bite. Chalet Queenstown also offers guests free onsite parking, along with WiFi access. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Chalet Queenstown

Address: 1 Dublin Street, Queenstown 9300, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Queenstown
Price Range: RM700 - RM991 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Chalet Queenstown 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Agoda, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Chalet Queenstown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chalet Queenstown Hotel Queenstown
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Chalet Queenstown staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question
Redcliffe, Australia
over a year ago

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Chalet Queenstown staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Choose a room with a Lake view.”
E2882PPmichaeld, 30 Mar 2017 | Read review
“The front room has easy access and was really comfortable”
Minigirl24, 25 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Top floor rooms have access to the shared balcony”
Trekker629, 24 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Lake views are lovely”
gettygirl, 3 Aug 2016 | Read review
“We traveled in June before the winter break and things get busy. It was very nice and quiet.”
  • View of the front of as seen from the veranda.
  • Veranda shared by the 3 upper level rooms.
  • Daytime view from the veranda of the lake and the Remarkables.
  • Daytime view from the veranda of the lake and the Remarkables.
  • Daytime view from the veranda of the lake and the Remarkables.
  • View out from our room with the lake and mountains in the background.
  • Night view of highway 6A from the veranda.
  • Night view of highway 6A from the veranda.
Airai-Palau, 28 Jun 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Check these sites for availability
Booking.com
Hotels.com
Expedia.com
View all 8 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates