We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Sir Cedrics Southern Laughter Backpackers

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Sir Cedrics Southern Laughter Backpackers
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

250 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Sir Cedrics Southern Laughter Backpackers
See the most recent reviews
Showing 228: English reviews
Christchurch, New Zealand
Reviewed 4 July 2016 via mobile

14 came to QT for a birthday and could not have been happier with the accom - the staff were super friendly, the hot tub was great , the dorms (8 bed & 6 bed) were clean, the heater was a bonus and hot showers - winning - me and my partner stayed on extra days and booked a double...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lynsey M
JIMatSL, Manager at Sir Cedrics Southern Laughter Backpackers, responded to this review

Thanks for review Lynsey! All of us down at Southern Laughter are glad you had a great time! Hopefully see you again soon!

Reviewed 1 June 2016 via mobile

Not worth 75$!!!!!! Kitchen was dirty and overly packed, very noisy all throughout the night people were talking at early hours in the morning in the hallway for hours music was way too loud and bassy people shouting in the hallway, builders in the common room drilling and banging on walls at 8am in the morning wifi was super slow...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sarah W
JIMatSL, Manager at Sir Cedrics Southern Laughter Backpackers, responded to this review

Hi Sarah, I'm sorry to read that you didn't enjoy your stay with us here at Southern Laughter. The hostel has two kitchens, however during your stay one was closed due to painting and renovation. This would also explain the building noise, however we did close off the rooms directly affected by the works. We pride ourselves on our balance...

Eindhoven, The Netherlands
Reviewed 22 May 2016 via mobile

Definitely the worst hostel we have been to so far.. It is really noisy and packed with shouting teenagers. The kitchen is incomplete as they do not even have glasses ("they get broken all the time"), and finally it is really dirty! Not worth the money at all.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Hanneke B
JIMatSL, Manager at Sir Cedrics Southern Laughter Backpackers, responded to this review

Hi there, Sorry did not enjoy your stay with us. Our aim is to provide cozy affordable accommodation to people- I would like to point out that we have lots of cups for drinking from (maybe not specific wine glasses) but we have found that being a backpackers most people are not too fussed about what they drink from as...

Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Reviewed 17 May 2016

The staff were very helpful in helping me to organise trips, and my airport shuttle. Unlike some hostels, there always seemed to be staff around, and they all seemed to be very approachable and happy to help. This place was a nice mix of locals and backpackers, and one of the few places on my tour that I spent a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank EvonneMarie545
JIMatSL, Manager at Sir Cedrics Southern Laughter Backpackers, responded to this review

Hi there Thanks for your positive review of our Hostel. We appreciate hearing that our guests enjoy staying with us! thanks again

Shreveport, Louisiana
Reviewed 5 May 2016

We stayed in a private twin room with shared bathroom on the main hall, behind the reception desk, and our room literally could not have been a tighter squeeze. There was no room for anything other than the two beds, and only enough space between them to allow the door to open! Knowing this, the hostel did not even place...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Caroline G
Reviewed 27 March 2016

Nice, friendly service with quotes painted along the side of the buildings. I can see why people would like comming here since it had a really nice atmosphere. We had a group of 5 so it was hard to find a place which could fit us all in one room. We stayed in the 8 person room. The room was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Acineto
Leeds, United Kingdom
Reviewed 16 March 2016 via mobile

This is a fantastic friendly hostel with a lot of great things going for it. The 8 bed dorm was great and it's own kitchen and bathroom and small living area. The staff were all friendly and helped us out with any questions we had. There is free soup every night and free use of hot tub, great for a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Rhys L
JIMatSL, Manager at Sir Cedrics Southern Laughter Backpackers, responded to this review

Thank you for your positive review of our little hostel! Glad to hear you enjoyed your time here! hopefully see you again in the future. Kind regards

Essex, United Kingdom
Reviewed 7 March 2016

This is a hostel, so I know expectations are not that high, however, this hostel left us definitely not wanting to go back. The main reason was the attitude and initial contact with the receptionist (a British girl/woman). We had booked a double private room, and were asked if we would consider a dormitory on arrival as something had happened...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kirsty B
JIMatSL, Front Office Manager at Sir Cedrics Southern Laughter Backpackers, responded to this review

Kia Ora Kirsty, I was gobsmaked to read your recent review of us, we always pride ourselves on delivering the best in Customer service to our guests. On the day you arrived, due to rare unforeseen circumstances one of our double rooms was out of action. We were trying our best to resolve the situation (at peak season) by offering...

Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 4 March 2016

My review is solely based on staying in private room 5 with my partner. I had my reservations about staying in a hostel, I'm more a five star traveller and the thought of sharing a bathroom scared me... now after staying here, I can't believe i haven't travelled like this sooner! It's not a brand new immaculate place or anything...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Anne E
Reviewed 4 March 2016 via mobile

Hands down one of the best hostels I've ever stayed in, from the awesome lodge feeling, the location and the views to the helpful and friendly staff. Thoroughly enjoyed my time at southern laughter and couldn't be happier. Wish they did long stay this time of year. Would definitely stay if I could.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jambo1986

27 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (26)
Viewed
Room/Suite (9)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (6)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Queenstown hotels
0.3 km away
Sir Cedrics Tahuna Pod Hostel
0.3 km away
Absoloot Value Accommodation
Absoloot Value Accommodation
#7 of 89 in Queenstown
334 reviews
0.7 km away
Sir Cedrics Bungi Backpackers
Sir Cedrics Bungi Backpackers
#37 of 89 in Queenstown
174 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Base Queenstown
Base Queenstown
#81 of 89 in Queenstown
440 reviews
0.3 km away
Haka Lodge Queenstown
Haka Lodge Queenstown
#4 of 89 in Queenstown
419 reviews
0.2 km away
YHA Queenstown Central
YHA Queenstown Central
#23 of 89 in Queenstown
182 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Things to do
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
A friendly toasty warm – backpackers located in central Queenstown within quiet surroundings. We have plenty of off street parking and just a 2 minute walk to bars, supermarkets and shops.Our rooms are configurations of cozy 3, 4, 6 or 8 beds as well as 5, 6 and 8 person self contained units with kitchens. We also provide comfortable private double and twin rooms. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Sir Cedrics Southern Laughter Backpackers

Address: 4 Isle Street, Queenstown 9300, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Queenstown
Price Range: RM93 - RM244 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Sir Cedrics Southern Laughter Backpackers 2.5*
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com and HostelWorld so you can book your Sir Cedrics Southern Laughter Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Southern Laughter Hotel Queenstown
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Sir Cedrics Southern Laughter Backpackers staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from Sir Cedrics Southern Laughter Backpackers staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“cheap comfortable and clean”
 of 5 bubbles lochlanna, 18 Feb 2017 | Read review
“If your travelling with a small group ask for the four bed dorm you get a balcony with a view and a little kitchen it was lovely”
 of 5 bubbles JMadventures96, 18 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Go to a different hotel”
 of 5 bubbles lucih721, 7 Jul 2016 | Read review
“Recommend Private Room, Number 5, in one of the main buildings, you have to walk outside for some other rooms.”
 of 5 bubbles 298annee, 3 Mar 2016 | Read review
“Definitely get an ensuite - and nowhere near the washing machine.”
 of 5 bubbles katt_252014, 26 Aug 2015 | Read review
5 of 5