We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Black Sheep Backpackers

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
The Black Sheep Backpackers
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

452 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 405: English reviews
Start your review of The Black Sheep Backpackers
 Click to rate
Geneva, Switzerland
Reviewed yesterday NEWvia mobile

The place in itself is ok but to reach the shared toilet you need to go outside and when it's cold it's not pleasant. I did not like the way they treated us, the toilet hairdryers were not working in any of the toilets, I asked a hairdryer and it was not fitting their electric sockets so I had to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank FloryFlory86
Reviewed yesterday NEW

The location is pretty good, just off of the main town centre of Queenstown means it's quiet with stunning scenary. The livingroom is really nice, which is good as I got there before I was allowed to check in at 3pm. The room was pretty nice, a 6 bed dorm with basically small boxes, complete with sockets, lights and a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank BexhillGirl
mj20012015, Public Relations Manager at The Black Sheep Backpackers, responded to this review

Hi there, thank you for the feedback.It is good that you like our dorm. We always want to make sure that we have presentable and clean room and common areas for the guests. Thanks for bringing up the hob issue, it is actually scheduled for checking. We are excited to share with you soon our brand new kitchen. Hoping you...

Reviewed 3 days ago NEWvia mobile

It was one of the worse experiences in hostel, book two nights for two people, the first night we did not get to arrive, our fault, we paid the total accordingly, for the second night call to say we were late, I was told there was not Problem, when we arrived there was no one! There were no keys to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Santiago B
mj20012015, Public Relations Manager at The Black Sheep Backpackers, responded to this review

Dear Guest, we understand that you are upset on what happened. We do have policy same with all the hotels and hostels. I believe your $50 is a payment because you booked a campervan site for your last night as checked. Safe travels.

Reviewed 3 days ago NEWvia mobile

All over one of the better places I have stayed so far. Pros: Showers are hot and powerful It's clean (you see almost every time someone cleaning) Nice social area WiFi is working and has a working heavy user ban Bunk beds have curtains and lights Cons Nevertheless a bit too pricey Kitchen is small and could need a few...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Felix K
mj20012015, Public Relations Manager at The Black Sheep Backpackers, responded to this review

Hi there, thank you for the review and high ratings. You are awesome. It is good that our rooms and facilities made your holidays in Queenstown comfortable and convenient. No need to worry, we will have a brand new kitchen before the season ends. We are really excited to share that to everyone. Hopefully you can back soon. Safe travels!

Auckland Region, New Zealand
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Provided you can find a park (if you need it), this is a great hostel within walking distance of Queenstown's town centre. Good facilities with a bit more bunk privacy (bed curtains) and more security (there are room lockers) than the typical NZ backpackers. There are plenty of roomy social areas, so great if you have a bunch of mates...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank gmcc051
mj20012015, Public Relations Manager at The Black Sheep Backpackers, responded to this review

Hello there, thank you for the feedback. It is good that enjoyed our location and our common areas such as the lounge, the deck , the spa pool and bbq area gave you happy times to socialize with the others. Everyone just love the dorms and we couldn't be more happier. All the efforts of the management to provide comfortable...

Basingstoke, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Great location and facilities at the hostel. Everyone is friendly. Great balance of long termers and travelers making it easy to meet people. I left to stay at another hostel for a few nights due to no spaces at BS and was overly excited to return for another week. All beds now have power outlets and individual lights and curtains....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank sadiewatson
mj20012015, Public Relations Manager at The Black Sheep Backpackers, responded to this review

Hi Sadie, thank you for the review. We are happy that you love everything in The Black Sheep. From the location, the rooms and staffs,we are grateful!Welcome home.

A TripAdvisor Member
1 review
Reviewed 6 days ago NEWvia mobile

Overall, it was good... really good location, i loved the beds, SOME rooms has individual light and eletric outlet and the best is that each bed has curtain in the bed. the bad side is that they dont have car parking as they say, you need to leave your car in the street, some linen has mark of lipstick or...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
mj20012015, Public Relations Manager at The Black Sheep Backpackers, responded to this review

Thank you for taking time to give us a review. We love our new dorms too! Having your own private space in a dorm with curtains, power points and usb port is just awesome. The free on street parking is just in our front, sorry it was busy during the day but have so many vacant space at night. We...

Reviewed 1 week ago

The rooms were nice and clean with solid bunks and under-bed lockers, but the kitchen was pretty dirty and a bit smelly. Good location - close enough to centre that you can walk down the hill in about 5 mins, but far enough away it's not too loud at night.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Emily F
mj20012015, Public Relations Manager at The Black Sheep Backpackers, responded to this review

Hi Emily, thank you for the feedback. We are happy that you like our rooms and location. We apologize if you have found the kitchen not on it's best state. We are hoping that backpackers will be able to follow the rules in our kitchen and not leave it messy as our staff is always cleaning it. We are happy...

kl
Reviewed 1 week ago

Spent several nights in a private double room on the ground floor. What I like: 1. Great location. Easy access from the airport using bus #11. This hostel is not far from restaurants but at night is quiet. A bus stop is nearby, which serves as the pick-up/drop-off point for several bus tours. 2. Clean. 3.Double room equipped with a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank fbaharin
mj20012015, Public Relations Manager at The Black Sheep Backpackers, responded to this review

Hi there, thank you for taking time to give us a feedback. It is good that you really like our prime location. We are happy that we made your stay comfortable. We apologize if you felt cold, we just hope we knew it early so we have addressed it while you are here. Our friendly staff can always assist you...

Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The staff were friendly and very helpful. They gave me a mountain bike at no charge so I could cycle along the lake. It was a good location too. The bed was comfy and the showers were hot. There was a friendly atmosphere in the lounge but I was too shy to speak to anyone.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank 58alexisf
mj20012015, Public Relations Manager at The Black Sheep Backpackers, responded to this review

Hi there, thank you for taking time to give us a good review. Good to know that you enjoyed our free bike hire. We are happy that we made your stay in Queenstown comfortable and convenient with our prime location. We had a good mix of travelers from different parts of the world, next time try not to be shy...

67 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (41)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
View from Room (4)
Viewed
Other (28)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (26)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (9)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (6)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Queenstown hotels
0.5 km away
Haka Lodge Queenstown
Haka Lodge Queenstown
#4 of 90 in Queenstown
429 reviews
0.3 km away
Nomads Queenstown Backpackers
0.6 km away
Sir Cedrics Tahuna Pod Hostel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 km away
Absoloot Value Accommodation
Absoloot Value Accommodation
#6 of 90 in Queenstown
344 reviews
0.6 km away
YHA Queenstown Central
YHA Queenstown Central
#22 of 90 in Queenstown
189 reviews
0.9 km away
Flaming Kiwi Backpackers
Flaming Kiwi Backpackers
#7 of 90 in Queenstown
224 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Looking for a home away from home? The Black Sheep Queenstown Backpackers, located beside the historic Queenstown Gardens, offers guests a convenient place to stay in the heart of the stunning alpine resort. Our central location is one of the sunniest in town and offers 360° view of the stunning local mountain ranges including the famous Remarkables. Located just a short stroll from town, The Black Sheep has a lot to offer guests including: An awesome team of friendly staff, comfortable rooms and exceptional facilities – did we mention we have a spa pool? If you are looking for affordable accommodation in Queenstown and think staying in a relaxing and homely environment after busy days spent exploring the 'Adventure Capital of the World' sounds ideal, look no further, we've got you covered at The Black Sheep. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Black Sheep Backpackers

Address: 13 Frankton Rd, Queenstown 9197, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Queenstown
Price Range: RM102 - RM354 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your The Black Sheep Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Black Sheep Backpackers Hotel Queenstown
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from The Black Sheep Backpackers staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Even the 8-bed upstairs dorm is good. No worries here.”
 of 5 bubbles gmcc051, 26 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Easy access to the city. Walking distance with picturesque view.”
 of 5 bubbles mdazmi14, 16 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Couples cabins out back for extra privacy was great.”
 of 5 bubbles skylit2016, 23 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Ask for a different room if they offer you room no.4 (twin room)”
 of 5 bubbles LimSharon, 20 Feb 2017 | Read review
“my favourites are units 13 and 22...”
 of 5 bubbles , 16 Feb 2017 | Read review
5 of 5