We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Black Sheep Backpackers

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
The Black Sheep Backpackers
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

450 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for The Black Sheep Backpackers
See the most recent reviews
Showing 403: English reviews
Kathmandu, Nepal
Reviewed 10 July 2016

The staff look so miserable all the time and I know why. This hostel is constantly cold the showers might as well be outside the rooms are dirty and so is the kitchen even tho they close it for cleaning(usually at lunch time) I'm not sure what they actually do in there. you have to put down a deposit for...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank TrueCrime
mj20012015, Public Relations Manager at The Black Sheep Backpackers, responded to this review

Hi there TrueCrime, thank you for your feedback. You visited Queenstown at the peak of our winter season, yes it is cold outside but our lounge with real log burner and central heating in all our rooms and within the hostel should make you feel warm. With all the nice stuffs that we've got in here, quiet and prime location,360...

San Francisco, California
Reviewed 7 July 2016 via mobile

Close to the town centre. Basic amenities. Cleanliness could have been a bit better in the rooms, but bathrooms were nice and clean, which is important. WiFi is a bit hit and miss if you are in the front of the building.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank dyl2dyl22
mj20012015, Public Relations Manager at The Black Sheep Backpackers, responded to this review

Hi there, thank you for taking time to give us a review. We appreciate the short and sweet feedback. We would like to let you know that your suggestions were being valued by the management so we have spring cleaned all our rooms. As per WIFI there is an ongoing update from high speed to ultra high speed internet connection....

Reviewed 7 July 2016 via mobile

The only good thing I can say about this hostel is there is good shower pressure. You have to pay for everything, the key was a $20 deposit, towels $15 deposit, cutlery set $10 deposit. It's ridiculous, the price you pay hardly involves any services a hostel should provide. The atmosphere of this hostel wasn't great either with an unreasonable...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Georgia V
mj20012015, Public Relations Manager at The Black Sheep Backpackers, responded to this review

Hi Georgia, thank you for your feedback. We are saddened to know you were not able to enjoy your stay with us here in The Black Sheep though we provide various perks for you and all the guests to enjoy such as free spa pool, free bike hire, free high speed wifi connection, free herbs in the garden, free use...

Wellington, New Zealand
Reviewed 6 July 2016

the basic premise of hostels in QST seems to be that guests can't be trusted, are willing to pay for everything, and come to get drunk. If you're in this category, you probably won't mind this one. If, however, you expect minimum services, like, say, having cups and plates in the kitchen, then you're probably better off trying another one...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Baptiste A
mj20012015, Public Relations Manager at The Black Sheep Backpackers, responded to this review

Hi Baptiste, thank you for giving us a review. We wanted to clarify that all you paid for was REFUNDABLE except for your room accommodation. We have fully equipped kitchen that you can use. We have policies in the hostel not because we do not trust our guests but mainly because we want an organized, secured and comfortable hostel for...

Reviewed 5 July 2016 via mobile

In Queenstown you do get a bit spoiled with the location of hostels. A lot of places are in the very heart of the town and I do feel a bit bad saying this place is a bit off as it really isn't, it's just a bit further out than a lot of the other hostels. I was missing more...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank David K
mj20012015, Public Relations Manager at The Black Sheep Backpackers, responded to this review

Hi David, thank you for the review. Our prime location offers 360 view of Queenstown, quiet place which is just a few minutes walk passing by a garden to town. Thank you for appreciating how comfortable are beds and how nice our staffs are. We wanted to let you know we close our lounge by midnight. Your comments and suggestions...

Reviewed 3 July 2016 via mobile

From the moment you walk in to the ice box they call a common area you don't feel at home the staff aren't friendly and looks like they don't even want to be there. There is no vibe and unreasonably strict on the drinking policy it is either to hot or to cold in the rooms they shut the heat...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank timwalsh87
mj20012015, Public Relations Manager at The Black Sheep Backpackers, responded to this review

Hi there timwalsh, thank you for the time you have given to give this kind of review. We are obviously not happy on what we have read. We have nice stuffs to offer that you must have tried to appreciate us. We respect your opinion but we had so many guests who have enjoyed our hostel. Our drinking policy may...

Reviewed 1 July 2016

The hostel itself has quality but we went there because we saw a good price online. We pay the room and even before checking in we realized that we were charged more than the online price and they refused to give the difference back. Be aware

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Maria R
mj20012015, Public Relations Manager at The Black Sheep Backpackers, responded to this review

Hi Maria, thank you for giving us a review. We just wanted to clarify things on the pricing. We run a standard rates in the reception and yes, we do published hot deal rates online same with all the hostels and hotels. If you see rates on a good deal, book it where you see it. We apologize if the...

Singapore, Singapore
Reviewed 28 June 2016 via mobile

Everything was fine but the kitchen gets crowded during dinner time and it is very small considering the capacity of the hostel. The shower for ladies is only available at ground floor and quite inconvenient if you stay on the second floor. You have to hire the cutleries at $10 but is refundable upon returning. Do book your room online...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ray X
mj20012015, Public Relations Manager at The Black Sheep Backpackers, responded to this review

Hi Ray, thank you for giving us the review. We apologize for the undergoing renovation of our kitchen. The management decided to improve the kitchen so guests can enjoy it more. We would like to let you know that we have toilets and showers for men and women in all the levels of the hostel, so each floor has an...

Reviewed 10 June 2016 via mobile

The place itself is not so bad, with nice hot tub and lounge room. But the good things stop there, with an extremely small kitchen, where you don't have any plates or coups (you need to pay a deposit), packed and with unconfortable and small beds. The staff is friendly thou but a little strict, so if you check out...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Riccardo Z
mj20012015, Public Relations Manager at The Black Sheep Backpackers, responded to this review

Hi Riccardo, thank you for the review. It is good to know you liked our free spa pool and cozy lounge. Our kitchen is under renovation at the moment because comments from our guests are being valued by the hostel. It is important for us that our guests will enjoy all the facilities we have so we constantly improving all...

Reviewed 5 June 2016

The first stay was half year ago and was great. The recent turns out a diminishing experience that the washrroms cleaning has to be done at night 9 ish which I dun think is usual. The hostel has an alcohol control policy which prohibits alcohol consumption after 8.30pm

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Chew L
mj20012015, Public Relations Manager at The Black Sheep Backpackers, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback. Your review is important to us, we apologize if you felt uncomfortable on our cleaning hours. The cleanliness of our facilities are really important to us so we have staffs in the morning and night that is in charge to keep the hostel clean. We have toilets in all levels of the hostel that is...

67 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (41)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
View from Room (4)
Viewed
Other (28)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (26)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (9)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (6)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Queenstown hotels
0.5 km away
Haka Lodge Queenstown
Haka Lodge Queenstown
#4 of 90 in Queenstown
426 reviews
0.3 km away
Nomads Queenstown Backpackers
Nomads Queenstown Backpackers
#10 of 90 in Queenstown
731 reviews
0.6 km away
Sir Cedrics Tahuna Pod Hostel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 km away
Absoloot Value Accommodation
Absoloot Value Accommodation
#7 of 90 in Queenstown
343 reviews
0.6 km away
YHA Queenstown Central
YHA Queenstown Central
#22 of 90 in Queenstown
188 reviews
0.9 km away
Flaming Kiwi Backpackers
Flaming Kiwi Backpackers
#6 of 90 in Queenstown
222 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Looking for a home away from home? The Black Sheep Queenstown Backpackers, located beside the historic Queenstown Gardens, offers guests a convenient place to stay in the heart of the stunning alpine resort. Our central location is one of the sunniest in town and offers 360° view of the stunning local mountain ranges including the famous Remarkables. Located just a short stroll from town, The Black Sheep has a lot to offer guests including: An awesome team of friendly staff, comfortable rooms and exceptional facilities – did we mention we have a spa pool? If you are looking for affordable accommodation in Queenstown and think staying in a relaxing and homely environment after busy days spent exploring the 'Adventure Capital of the World' sounds ideal, look no further, we've got you covered at The Black Sheep. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Black Sheep Backpackers

Address: 13 Frankton Rd, Queenstown 9197, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Queenstown
Price Range: RM106 - RM355 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your The Black Sheep Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Black Sheep Backpackers Hotel Queenstown
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from The Black Sheep Backpackers staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Even the 8-bed upstairs dorm is good. No worries here.”
 of 5 bubbles gmcc051, 26 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Easy access to the city. Walking distance with picturesque view.”
 of 5 bubbles mdazmi14, 16 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Couples cabins out back for extra privacy was great.”
 of 5 bubbles skylit2016, 23 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Ask for a different room if they offer you room no.4 (twin room)”
 of 5 bubbles LimSharon, 20 Feb 2017 | Read review
“my favourites are units 13 and 22...”
 of 5 bubbles , 16 Feb 2017 | Read review
5 of 5