We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Kingsgate Hotel Te Anau

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Professional photos
Kingsgate Hotel Te Anau
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

377 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 332: English reviews
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Lovely location over looking lake, Comfortable clean rooms, Delicious Meals. All staff fantastic and welcoming. Perfect for relaxing time in the most beautiful place. As apart of Crew, we spend a number of overnights during our Tour Season with our International Guests in this area. I strongly recommend a visit with Nick and Staff at Kingsgate .

Helpful?
Thank Kelly S
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
104 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 weeks ago via mobile

We stopped for one night on the way back from Milford Sound. The lovely young lady on reception gave us a free update to a larger room. Considering the hotel was so busy we were very grateful. Super room, massive bed and shower that almost took my skin off! We didn't make use of the restaurant for breakfast, but we... More 

Helpful?
Thank Nick_Stewart_12
Nick L, Manager at Kingsgate Hotel Te Anau, responded to this review

Dear Nick_Stewart_12 Thank you for taking the time to post your feedback regarding your stay. I have shared your comments with the staff member who you dealt with on arrival. Kind regards Nick L Hotel Manager More 

Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
31 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 October 2016

Although the property isn't very new, the place has been very well looked after. The staff were lovely to say the least. Buffet brekky was awesome. Room was cozy with comfortable beds.Absolute value for money with brekky included, especially when you want to save up time and money for activities like milford sound and glow worms etc.. Book the rooms... More 

Helpful?
Thank AlokThapar
Nick L, Manager at Kingsgate Hotel Te Anau, responded to this review

Dear alokthapar Thank you for taking the time to post your feedback regarding your stay. Kind regards Nick L Hotel Manager More 

Jakarta, Indonesia
Level Contributor
452 reviews
112 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 191 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 September 2016

We found it quite convenient staying 3 nights in the little town of Te Anau (instead of Queenstown) when exploring Milford & Doubtful Sounds. Kingsgate hotel although dated was nicely located across the beautiful lake. Enjoyed strolling along the promenade leading to the nearby downtown. The hotel seemed to be popular with tour groups but it didn't deter the service.... More 

Helpful?
Thank GabyVM
Nick L, Manager at Kingsgate Hotel Te Anau, responded to this review

Dear GabyVM Thank you for choosing to stay with us while in Te Anau. We trust you enjoyed the rest of your holiday in New Zealand. Kind regards Nick L Hotel Manager More 

Level Contributor
25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2016

We stayed overnight here to break up our journey to Milford Sound. While my initial impression of the property was that it was quite dated in it's decor - do not be put off! Our room was neat and clean, it had all the basics that we required for our short stay. The bed was comfortable, the room was a... More 

Helpful?
Thank Kate B
Nick L, Manager at Kingsgate Hotel Te Anau, responded to this review

Dear Kate B Thank you for taking the time to post your feedback regarding your stay. Kind regards Nick L Hotel Manager More 

Mackay, Australia
Level Contributor
115 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2016

Found this accommodation very comfortable with a pillow top mattress to sleep on. Heating worked well. We took advantage of room service for our evening meal as the restaurant was not open the night we were there. The food was beautiful - we both had the stuffed chicken breast with pistachios. We also had the in room breakfast the next... More 

Helpful?
Thank DebbieB2010
Nick L, Manager at Kingsgate Hotel Te Anau, responded to this review

Dear DebbieB2010 Thank you for taking the time to post your feedback regarding your stay. Kind regards Nick L Hotel Manager More 

Southland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
24 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2016 via mobile

I stayed at the Kingsgate for work this month. I received a friendly welcome when I checked in. The wifi was free. The rooms were clean, a really generous size and well equipped. The heating seemed small but the room wasn't cold. I enjoyed the buffet breakfast the next morning.

Helpful?
Thank jessiesfamily
Nick L, Manager at Kingsgate Hotel Te Anau, responded to this review

Dear jessiesfamily I appreciate you taking the time to post your feedback regarding your stay. Kind regards Nick L Hotel Manager More 

Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 August 2016 via mobile

We booked this hotel after reading the reviews thinking it would be a nice comfortable budget motel. We kindly got upgraded when we checked in (to a superior room), as soon as we went upstairs the cracks began to show... Straight away we smelt fresh paint which failed to cover the smell of stale smoke. We walked past a room... More 

Helpful?
Thank GALeeder
Nick L, Manager at Kingsgate Hotel Te Anau, responded to this review

Dear GALeeder Thank you for taking the time to post your feedback. I apologise you found your stay unsatisfactory and that we were unable to meet personally to rectify the situation. I have instructed our customer care team to refund the remaining 2 nights of your pre paid reservation. I hope this experience did not spoil the rest of your... More 

Travellers are raving about these Te Anau hotels

seoul
Level Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2016

Super comfortable bed and friendly enough staff make this place a good place to set off for Milford. The cleaning was good and there is plenty of parking. In the high season it might be quite noisy (but this was not our experience).

Helpful?
Thank markinseoul
Nick L, Manager at Kingsgate Hotel Te Anau, responded to this review

Dear markinseoul Thank you for taking the time to post your feedback regarding your stay. Kind regards More 

Bangalore
Level Contributor
84 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2016

Only spent the night here on our trip to Te Anau...well maintained property...a short walk from the visitors centre...rooms are decently sized...have most modern amenities...the buffet breakfast spread is ok...

Helpful?
Thank amukho
Nick L, Manager at Kingsgate Hotel Te Anau, responded to this review

Dear amukho Thank you for choosing to stay with us while in Te Anau. Kind regards More 

112 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (82)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (18)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (17)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Other (37)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (30)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (8)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Te Anau hotels
0.4 km away
Te Anau Lakeview Holiday Park
0.5 km away
Bella Vista Motel
Bella Vista Motel
#4 of 24 in Te Anau
444 reviews
0.5 km away
Distinction Te Anau Hotel and Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 km away
Distinction Luxmore Hotel Lake Te Anau
0.4 km away
Lakefront Lodge
Lakefront Lodge
#2 of 24 in Te Anau
330 reviews
0.4 km away
Radfords on the Lake
Radfords on the Lake
#1 of 24 in Te Anau
544 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Room Service
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Internet
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Contemporary Hotel Complex located on the shore of Te Anau Lake, within walking distance of shops. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Kingsgate Hotel Te Anau

Address: 20 Lakefront Drive, Te Anau, Fiordland National Park, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Southland Region > Fiordland National Park > Te Anau
Price Range: RM423 - RM752 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Kingsgate Hotel Te Anau 3.5*
Number of rooms: 105
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with World Independent Hotel Promotion, Booking.com, Orbitz, Odigeo, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline and HotelTravel.com so you can book your Kingsgate Hotel Te Anau reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kingsgate Te Anau
Te Anau Kingsgate Hotel
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Kingsgate Hotel Te Anau staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Upper level has some mountain view rooms. Include brekky with your room booking.”
 of 5 bubbles AlokThapar, 24 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Maybe stay away from rooms directly over the entrance - it's quite busy with coaches arriving and leaving.”
 of 5 bubbles kateb999, 2 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Ask for a room with a view if possible.”
 of 5 bubbles DebbieB2010, 26 Aug 2016 | Read review
“We had an upstairs room. We found it very comfortable. It was very sunny.”
 of 5 bubbles daffydolly, 15 Jun 2016 | Read review
“Try somewhere else first”
 of 5 bubbles robh982, 26 Mar 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay