We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Village Inn Hotel

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Village Inn Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

121 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Village Inn Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 94: English reviews
nz
Reviewed 16 January 2015

Enjoyed our stay at the Village Inn - room was quiet, clean and spacious with comfortable bed and easy chairs. The room also had a useful kitchenette and an office desk. Pleasant staff. Location was quiet but only a 4 minute walk to the lake or through the park to the main street. We will definitely return next time we...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank avoca063
VillageInn003, Front Office Manager at Village Inn Hotel, responded to this review

Hi thank you very much for your glowing review of the Village Inn. We are so glad that you enjoyed staying with us, your room was all that you required it to be, and yes, the proximity to the town center and the lake are a definite bonus. We will look forward to meeting you again if you are ever...

Auckland Region, New Zealand
Reviewed 12 January 2015 via mobile

Cute place with themed buildings. Front desk staff helpful and have gone extra mile to help resolve a booking/payment issue with the booking company. Clean and spacious rooms with a comfortable bed and large bathroom. Laundry washer and dryer very old. Also there was a queue to make use of the one machine. When the dryer didn't dry our clothes...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank lise99nz
VillageInn003, Front Office Manager at Village Inn Hotel, responded to this review

Hi thanks so much for the kind comments regarding the Village Inn. I am so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and that your room was comfortable. Sometimes when the hotel is quite full we do get a bit of a line up for the guest laundry, and if you had mentioned to reception that the dryer did...

Auckland Region, New Zealand
Reviewed 6 January 2015

My partner and I stayed here for 2 nights whilst road tripping to and from Milford Sound (which is outstanding). Pros: friendly staff, clean room, reasonably spacious, parking, Walking distance to the lake and amenities. Cons: very dated, no kitchenette which would be beneficial in such a remote little town, no free wifi, staff didn't advise over places to eat,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Izzy S
VillageInn003, Front Office Manager at Village Inn Hotel, responded to this review

hi thank you for your positive comments regarding the Village Inn, and for taking the time to post them. We do have a few units with kitchenettes and if guests request these we do our utmost to make sure they are accommodated with these extra facilities. Usually when guests check in we do offer them a town map and point...

singapore
Reviewed 13 December 2014

Room was spacious but the entire place has a ghost town feeling. Really scary to stay alone but I have a large family so was alright. The toilet was not cleaned when we check in and it still had human bowels in it! By the way, my TV was a pathetic small little CVT! Ancient man! I can't believe it...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank mcleeSingapore
VillageInn003, Front Office Manager at Village Inn Hotel, responded to this review

Hi I am sorry you did not enjoy your stay at the Village Inn, and I am also as aghast as yourself that your bathroom was not cleaned properly. I did talk with the receptionist that was on shift when you arrived and discovered this, and she did say that you were offered another unit, but chose not to change....

Rayleigh, United Kingdom
Reviewed 9 December 2014

Stayed here for one night on our coach trip around New Zealand. As mentioned some of the rooms have a frontage to resemble on old Wild West town although ours was not as it was at the back. Good size with all amenities but somewhat tired and not up to the standard of most other hotels we stayed in. About...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Peter H
VillageInn003, Front Office Manager at Village Inn Hotel, responded to this review

thank you for taking the time to post a review of the Village Inn, as you said the units are of a good size, and that is a positive that alot of our guests do comment on. Some of our standard units, which I presume is what you were accommodated in, will be receiving a much needed face lift during...

Reviewed 29 November 2014 via mobile

We stayed at the village inn before our hike in nov 2014, it is a simple but nice hotel. The rooms are clean and spacious, the breakfast is also nice and they offered to cook our eggs to our liking. Friendly staff. I would recommend and come back anytime.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ingrid S
nyc
Reviewed 25 November 2014

average room with paid wifi as is usual in nz. breakfast was ok toast and cereal. walking distance to town. its an ok choice. the hotel is a theme hotel with old shops as the front. the doo to your room is a unsecure slidig glass door.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank gijadenyc
Burgess Hill, United Kingdom
Reviewed 7 November 2014

This is a rather run down group of buildings designed to resemble an old wild west town. However, it needs to have some money spent on it as it looked very seedy when we we stayed there . Unfortunately we were booked for two nights, in a 'Superior Room' The rooms however were clean and I can't complain about the...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Bazzalarkin
VillageInn003, Front Office Manager at Village Inn Hotel, responded to this review

Hi thanks for your review. I am sorry that you did not enjoy the unique concept that is 'The Village Inn'. Thankfully you did have a couple of comfortable nights inside your unit. kind regards Anita

Wellington, New Zealand
Reviewed 25 September 2014

This is probably one of those places you either like or hate. We loved it. It looks like it was built in the 70's or 80's. The rooms have a verandah frontage which is in the shape of an old town. Our frontage was for a Saddlery. The main complex has a dining facility and bar, although we didn't use...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Stuart W
VillageInn003, Front Office Manager at Village Inn Hotel, responded to this review

thanks for your review, you are so correct in saying that guests reactions do differ when they first see 'the village', but I am glad you did enjoy the fun nature of our concept. thank you for your positive comments on the unit you stayed in and please look us up if you are ever back in Te Anau. kind...

Kalamunda, Australia
Reviewed 12 August 2014

We stayed here as a base to explore the area and it was comfortable without being really good. On the plus side the staff were friendly and helpful, the bed was comfortable, the heating was efficient and the room's lighting was well thought out. On the down side, the kitchenette was supplied with a toaster, electric frypan & crockery that...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank WoylieLover
VillageInn003, Front Office Manager at Village Inn Hotel, responded to this review

thanks for submitting a review on your stay with us. we do appreciate your negative comments as these are the ones we use to help make our place better for our guests, but we love the positives. kind regards Anita

62 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (58)
Viewed
Room/Suite (17)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (17)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (19)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Te Anau hotels
1.0 km away
Te Anau Lakeview Holiday Park
0.5 km away
Distinction Luxmore Hotel Lake Te Anau
0.5 km away
Distinction Te Anau Hotel and Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
Bella Vista Motel
Bella Vista Motel
#5 of 24 in Te Anau
473 reviews
0.3 km away
Explorer Motel & Apartments
0.6 km away
Kingsgate Hotel Te Anau
Kingsgate Hotel Te Anau
#19 of 24 in Te Anau
396 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Kitchenette
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Laundry Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
This modern and unique hotel creates a feeling of 'stepping back in time' with its carefully recreated Pioneer Village facades and is within walking distance of the lake shore and town centre. Options include studio rooms, deluxe rooms, family units with kitchens and inter-connecting rooms, a disabled access unit and luxury penthouse honeymoon suite complete with spa bath and stereo system. There is also a laundry room for guest use, restaurant and bar and ample car parking. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Village Inn Hotel

Address: 9 Mokoroa Street | P.O. Box 195, Te Anau, Fiordland National Park 9600, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Southland Region > Fiordland National Park > Te Anau
Price Range: RM422 - RM543 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Village Inn Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Agoda and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Village Inn Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Village Hotel Te Anau
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Village Inn Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Travelling in September was perfect. I think we were the only guests and the weather was lovely.”
  • Very quiet, clean spacious room, modern bathroom, comfy bed. Kind, welcoming Manager, great pric
 of 5 bubbles CXBell412, 23 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Ask for a room away from the area for the bus tours.”
 of 5 bubbles RandR_12, 11 Apr 2016 | Read review
“Specify bed types before hand as they do not believe in common sense.”
 of 5 bubbles Tasmanfever, 6 Jan 2016 | Read review
“Ask for a NON smoking room. Ours smelled like someone had smoked in it over the years.”
 of 5 bubbles JanA917, 30 Apr 2015 | Read review
“All rooms quiet”
 of 5 bubbles avoca063, 15 Jan 2015 | Read review
5 of 5